NEH Summer Programs at VT - Library Resources: Get Started
Library information, services, and resources for NEH Summer Programs at VT
Overview of VT University Libraries Spaces, Services, & Resources
Welcome to all participating in NEH Summer programs at Virginia Tech! Here are some starting points and important links for research and collaboration at VT University Libraries.
Newman Library image by Eric T Gunther, licensed CC BY 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons.
Questions? Let us know!
General Information
- Virginia Tech University Libraries Homepage
- Northern Virginia Center (Falls Church) Resource Center Homepage
- Special Collections Homepage
- Newman Library Hours
- Newman Library Floorplans
- Campus Maps
- Driving Directions and Parking
Research Materials and Services
- Off Campus Sign In - use to access research databases and full text when outside VT campus areas. Uses VT PID and Password. Depending on details of your account, you might be asked for two factor authentication.
- Identify Research Materials
- Use Summon to conduct a Google-like search of most of our library resources - online or physical materials. Don't overlook the advanced search, which might save you time.
- Addison is the traditional catalog of physical items in our library, mostly printed books, DVDs, and microforms.
- Databases - the database search tab on the library search is useful when looking for a specific database, like PubMed, America's Historical Newspapers, or WorldCat.
- Subject Guides are a great starting point for recommended databases of research - and contact information for subject librarians - in particular areas
- The Journals finder is a handy way to determine what periodicals we have access to, in what format, for what period(s).
- Access and Get Physical Materials:
- Check out material (Requires Hokie Passport Card or Virginia resident ID)
- Get items on reserve from the Circulation/Reserve desk
- Request material -- to have an item shipped from offsite storage or to recall an item that is checked out
- Interpret our Library of Congress call number system
- Access Online Materials:
- When trying to access articles and other resources, look for full text links and/or the Get VText box, which will connect you to full text, or to Illiad/Interlibrary Loan to request material from another library:
- When trying to access articles and other resources, look for full text links and/or the Get VText box, which will connect you to full text, or to Illiad/Interlibrary Loan to request material from another library:
- Manage your Research Materials
- Printing, scanning, faxing in our library
- Citation ethics and citation managers
- Subject Guides are a great starting point for recommended databases of research - and contact information for subject librarians - in particular areas
Questions?
Assistance
We have a wonderful Ask a Librarian service! Knowledgeable research assistance staff are available for email, chat, or in-person reference desk hours! - Also, feel free to contact your program liaison librarians:
- Bruce Pencek, bpencek@vt.edu, (540) 231-2140
- Marc Brodsky, marc9@vt.edu, (540) 231-7973
- Ginny Pannabecker, vpannabe@vt.edu, (540) 231-7980