- University Libraries
- Research Guides
- Course Guides
- PSYC 2094
- Psychology Research Methods - Recommended Resources
PSYC 2094: Psychology Research Methods - Recommended Resources
Welcome!
Welcome to the PSYC 2094, Psychology Research Methods course guide from VT University Libraries! This guide is intended to provide you with key resources for Psychology research that will be useful for Psychology research in general and for your course assignments. Please contact me anytime with questions, or to set up a project consultation - for yourself individually, or for groups.
- Overview Resources for Psychology
- Search Strategy Builder - a companion tool for searching in scholarly research databases
- PsycInfo - your home research database for scholarly literature in Psychology
- PsycTests - identify and get information about tests and measures used in Psychology research
- PsycTherapy - videos of therapy sessions
- APA Citation Resources
Use the Psychology Subject Guide for additional Psychology-specific resources.
Ask a Librarian
Overview Resources for Psychology
- Psychology - OpenStax Open TextbookThis open textbook provides a free, frequently updated overview of the Psychology discipline. Check out Chapter 1 for Theories - historical and contemporary. Chapter 2, Psychological Research, covers Approaches and Analysis methods.
PsycTherapy - Videos of Therapy Sessions
- APA PsycTHERAPY from EBSCOhost
This link opens in a new window
PsycTHERAPY provides unscripted videos of therapy sessions, with searchable transcripts and the ability to create playlists.
PsycInfo - Psychology Scholarly Research Database
- APA PsycINFO from EBSCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO indexes citations, abstracts, cited references, and some full text from articles, books, dissertations, and reviews on all aspects of psychology. Full text provided as HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources, age group, classification code, methodology, and population group. 1840-present. - PubMed from NLMIndexes citations, abstracts and full text from journal articles, case studies, conference papers, clinical trial reports, news reports, and reviews in the fields of medicine,nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences. Full text available in HTML and PDF. You can limit to types of clinical queries, age, gender and species of subject, and review articles that summaries research on a topic. 1946-present.
- Web of Science from Clarivate AnalyticsThe three Web of Science databases index citations from journal articles and conference proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. You can perform cited reference searches, analyze trends and patterns, and create visual representations of citation relationships. 1900-present
APA Citation Resources
- APA Tutorial: The Basics of APA StyleOfficial APA tutorial: Skim through for what you need or watch it all! "This tutorial is designed for those who have no previous knowledge of APA Style®. It shows users how to structure and format their work, recommends ways to reduce bias in language, identifies how to avoid charges of plagiarism, shows how to cite references in text, and provides selected reference examples."
- APA Citation Style - VT Libraries pageThis page on the VT Libraries site provides info on APA citation style and links to the library copy of the print manual (scroll to the bottom of the page) and online resources for help in using this style.
Search Strategy Builder
- Search Strategy BuilderThe Search Strategy Builder is a tool designed to teach you how to create a search string using Boolean logic. While it is not a database and is not designed to input a search, you should be able to cut and paste the results into the standard database search boxes.
PsycTests - Tests & Measures for Psychology Research
Tests & Measures are frequently used in Psychology research. PsycTests is a useful research to expore primarily unpublished tests (often including the full text of the test itself). Information regarding validity and reliability of tests is included as well. PsycInfo (above in Scholarly Research Databases) is another great place to look for test information in scholarly works that used them, though the full test is often not available there.
APA: Finding Information About Psychological Tests
*Contact me, Ginny Pannabecker, your liaison librarian, for assistance in searching for tests (contact info on the right side of this page). I'm available via email, in-person consultations, phone, or online meetings.
- APA PsycTESTS from EBSCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
PsycTESTS indexes psychological tests, with the full text of the test available in most cases. Test instruments available in HTML and PDF.