Alumni accessible databases

This list includes licensed, open access, and freely accessible databases that provide scholarly articles, consumer publications, business reports, and government documents that Virginia Tech alumni can access.

This subject category lists recommended databases covering languages, linguistics, and literatures in English, foreign languages (especially languages taught by the Foreign Language department), and classics (Greek and Latin). Many provide full-text sources, otherwise use the citations they provide to request copies via your local library's interlibrary loan service.

Gale's Literary Index
Gale's Literary Index is a master index to entries on authors and works from over 130 reference works published by Gale. You can search an author's name or a work's title to see which reference works contain entries on this item. Basic biographical information is provided for authors, and basic bibliographical information for titles. Search Discovery for the title of the reference work to determine local access: in print or online.
International Children's Digital Library
The International Children's Digital Library provides over 4,000 ebooks written to appeal to 3 to 13 year olds. Each book was originally published in a printed form; the site includes both copyrighted and public domain titles. Scanned images (JPEG) or pages or spreads are presented for each book. Ebooks cannot be downloaded. Late 1800s-present.
The ICDL project has five primary research goals:

to create a collection of more than 10,000 books in at least 100 languages that is freely available to children, teachers, librarians, parents, and scholars throughout the world via the Internet;
to collaborate with children as design partners in the development of computer interface technologies that support children in searching, browsing, reading, and sharing books in electronic form;
to better understand the concepts of rights management and "fair use" in a digital age;
to evaluate the impact that access to digital materials may have on collection development and programming practices in school and public libraries; and,
to develop a greater understanding of the relationship between children's access to a digital collection of multicultural materials and children's attitudes toward books, libraries, reading, technology, and other countries and cultures.

The ICDL collection has two primary audiences. The first audience is children ages 3-13, as well as librarians, teachers, parents, and caregivers who work with children of these ages. The second audience is international scholars and researchers in the area of children's literature.
Middle English Compendium
The Middle English Compendium has been designed to offer easy access to and interconnectivity between three major Middle English electronic resources: an electronic version of the Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, based on the MED bibliographies, a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse, as well as links to an associated network of electronic resources.
Perseus Digital Library
Perseus Digital Library covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world, plus Arabic materials, Germanic materials, 19th-century America, the Renaissance, and Civil War issues of the Richmond Times-Dispatch. It collects texts, images, datasets and other primary materials. The database assembles and structures encyclopedias, maps, grammars, dictionaries and other reference works. 850,000 reference articles provide background on 450,000 people, places, organizations, dictionary definitions, grammatical functions and other topics.
TOCS-IN Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists
TOCS-IN indexes table of contents of journals of interest to classicists: classics, near Eastern studies, and religion. Some entries offer links to full text or abstracts.
https://to-classics.info/tocs/tocs.html