Researching Blacksburg, Virginia, History: Manuscript Collections

This guide contains information on resources for researching Blacksburg, Virginia, history in Newman Library, including Special Collections.

About Special Collections

New Theatre (the Lyric) and Store Building for the Blacksburg Realty Company
New Theatre (the Lyric) and Store Building for the Blacksburg Realty Company

Hours: 
Monday-Friday 8am-5pm & By Appointment

Contact us:
Email: specref@vt.edu
Telephone: 540-231-6308

Twitter: @VT_SCUA
Information for Visitors

Find us online!
Our website
Our digital collections
Our blog
Our LibGuide (Information about us and our collections)

Manuscript Collections

Special Collections includes more than 1800 collections of unpublished primary sources, including letters, diaries, family papers, business records, architectural drawings, oral histories, photographs, maps, and more. Subject areas we collect include Blacksburg and Montgomery County history. You can browse a list of finding aids (guides) for collections relating to Blacksburg and search (names, places, keywords, etc.) within the list online. You can also search more broadly for manuscript materials at Virginia Tech Special Collections by using the main search feature on Virginia Heritage. Enter a search term/search terms in the box and select "Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University" from the list of repositories.

If you have general or specific question, or want to ask Special Collections staff for assistance in locating manuscript materials, you can contact us at specref@vt.edu, 540-231-6308, or visit us on the first floor of Newman Library between 8am -5pm Monday-Friday.