University Libraries


Bullet A to Z indexBullet Library staff

Preston Family Resources: Beyond Virginia Tech

This LibGuide features information about locating Preston Family resources at Virginia Tech Special Collections. We house published materials, as well as original family documents and research about various branches of the Preston Family.

About Special Collections

New Theatre (the Lyric) and Store Building for the Blacksburg Realty Company
New Theatre (the Lyric) and Store Building for the Blacksburg Realty Company

Hours: 
Monday-Friday 8am-5pm & By Appointment

Contact us:
Email: specref@vt.edu
Telephone: 540-231-6308

Twitter: @VT_SCUA
Information for Visitors

Find us online!
Our website
Our digital collections
Our blog
Our LibGuide (Information about us and our collections)

Resources at the University Libraries and Beyond Virginia Tech

This list is a work-in-progress, but it has a couple of items to get you started!

  • Virginia Tech University Libraries current subscribes to Ancesty Library Edition. You will need to be on the VT campus or have off-campus sign-in capabilities to access this database, but will give you access to census, military, birth, death, marriage, and immigration records, as well as other types of information.
  • Virginia Heritage is a statewide consortium that hosts finding aids from 33 institutions in Virginia. The Prestons were an extensive family and as a result, there are papers from family members located at many of them. Searching Virginia Heritage can help you find papers across the state!
  • There are also some resource suggestions from the Historic Smithfield Plantation. While this list includes Special Collections, it also has some ideas for other libraries and bibliographies, too. 
depository library