University Libraries


Bullet A to Z indexBullet Library staff

Preston Family Resources: Published Resources

This LibGuide features information about locating Preston Family resources at Virginia Tech Special Collections. We house published materials, as well as original family documents and research about various branches of the Preston Family.

About Special Collections

New Theatre (the Lyric) and Store Building for the Blacksburg Realty Company
New Theatre (the Lyric) and Store Building for the Blacksburg Realty Company

Hours: 
Monday-Friday 8am-5pm & By Appointment

Contact us:
Email: specref@vt.edu
Telephone: 540-231-6308

Twitter: @VT_SCUA
Information for Visitors

Find us online!
Our website
Our digital collections
Our blog
Our LibGuide (Information about us and our collections)

Books

Special Collections and the University Libraries have lots of books on local history in general and a number of publications on the Prestons specifically. By using the library's catalog, Addison, you can search for relevant titles. If you search "preston family," for example, you'll find books, cataloged microfilm, and records for the manuscript collections listed on the "Manuscript Collection" tab. You may also want to search for specific individuals, related family names, or county/town histories. 

Below is a short list of some Preston-related books in Special Collections:

  • Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities. Smithfield Plantation House, Blacksburg, Virginia. [Christiansburg, Va.]: Montgomery County Branch of the Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities, 1983. CS71.P94 1983 Spec Large/Spec Civil War
  • Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities. The Smithfield Review. Blacksburg, VA: Montgomery County Branch, Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities, 1997. F217.B6 S64 Spec Large
  • Dorman, John Frederick. The Prestons of Smithfield and Greenfield in Virginia: Descendants of John and Elizabeth (Patton) Preston Through Five Generations. Louisville, KY: Filson Club, 1982. CS71.P94 1982 Spec Genealogy
  • Foley, Edward F. The Preston Family of Walnut Grove, Virginia: The Descendants of John and Eleanor Fairman Preston. Westminster, Md: Heritage Books, 2006. CS71.P94 2006 Spec Genealogy
  • Hart, Nathaniel. Memoranda of the Preston Family. [Lexington]: University of Kentucky Library, 1963. CS71 .P94 1963 Spec Large
  • Kenney, Anna Whitehead. The Preston Cemetery at Smithfield Plantation, 1782-1980. Christiansburg, Va: Montgomery County Branch of the Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities, 1984. CS71.P94 1984 Spec Large
  • Lamb, Janie Preston B. 1939. "'Smithfield' Home of the Preston, in Montgomery County, Virginia". Virginia Magazine of History and Biography. 47, no. 2. CS71.P94 1939 Spec Large
  • Worsham, Gibson. Solitude Historic Structure Report. 2000. LD 5655 .A4 2000z Spec VT General
  •  
depository library