English Research Process: UsingSummn_old

Summn_old is a new kind of library database that will search across all of our books and other physical objects AND more than 80% of the journal articles and other resources that are available to you through University Libraries.  We think of it as a sort of "Google" for the library, but it has many advantages over Google, such as giving you full-text access to most articles and allowing you to narrow down your search with sophisticated methods.

(former basic search video how-to)

Academic Search Complete
Notes - general but academic in nature, many different formats
Tutorial
Location - Use the search box on the library home page.  Go to the database tab and type "Academic Search Complete" in the search box.

Opposing Viewpoints
Notes - : good for general overview of a topic, especially good for current or hot topics
Location - Use the search box on the library home page.  Go to the database tab and type "Opposing Viewpoints" in the search box.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Notes: good basic background information
Location - Use the search box on the library home page.  Go to the database tab and type "Opposing Viewpoints" in the search box

Subject Guides
Notes -  Lists of specialized and recommended databases and resources for each subject area.
Location - linked on the library home page under quick links

One of the main benefits that Summn_old offers is the ability to narrow down the results that you've received with your keyword search by using facets.  The video that you watched introduced you to the idea of facets, but now you have the opportunity to use them.  Look in the left-hand area of the results screen in Summn_old, and view the options under "Refine your search."  

You can limit by:

• Type of article (scholarly/peer-reviewed)
• Content type (book, magazine, journal article)
• limit by specific journal
• Subject
• Publication date
• Language

After using some of these facets to narrow down your results, how many results do you have now?  Fewer?

(former using facets video)

Addisn is Virginia Tech's library catalog. It is named after William Addison Caldwell, the first student to enroll at Virginia Agricultural and Mechanical College that eventually became Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University.  Addisn includes records for the physical items in our collections:

• books
• journals
• DVDs, Blu-rays, and laser discs
• CDs (music and software)
• VHS tapes
• vinyl records
• 8mm and 16mm films and 35mm slides
• microforms

Addisn also includes some electronic items:

• names of databases
• government documents and statistics
• data sets
• streaming videos

Addisn DOES NOT contain: ebooks, ejournals, or individual articles.

There are a couple of quick tutorials and tips pages on  Addison available at these links:

• Subject and Keyword Searching Tutorial
• Addisn tips page