Local History and Genealogical Research in the University Libraries: C. Indexes to "Buried Genealogies"
This guide includes resources available in Special Collections, Newman Library, and online that can aid in local genealogy research.
About Special Collections and University Archives
New Theatre (the Lyric) and Store Building for the Blacksburg Realty Company
Hours:
Monday-Friday 8am-5pm & By Appointment
Contact us:
Email: specref@vt.edu
Telephone: 540-231-6308
Twitter: @VT_SCUA
Information for Visitors
Find us online!
Our website
Our digital collections
Our blog
Our LibGuide (Information about us and our collections)
Indexes to "Buried Genealogies," including Periodicals
- Casey, Personal Names in Hening’s Statutes at Large of Virginia and Shepherd’s Continuation Call No.: F225 V8133 1967 Newman 3rd floor
- Greenlaw, Index of the New England Historic Genealogical Society 3 vols., Call No.: CS44 N45 1979 Newman 2nd floor
- Index to American Genealogies Call No.: Z5313 U5 I5 1966 Newman 5th floor
- Smith, The Pennsylvania Germans of the Shenandoah Valley is v. 26 (1962) of Pennsylvania
German Folklore Society Yearbook Call No.: GR110 P4 A35 v. 26 Newman 3rd floor - Swem, Virginia Historical Index 4 v. Call No.: F221 S93 Special Collections
- Virginia Magazine of History and Biography – 1930
- William and Mary Quarterly – 1930
- Tyler Historical Quarterly – 1927
- Lower Norfolk County, Virginia Antiquary – 1906
- Hening’s Statutes at Large – 1792
- Calendar of Virginia State Papers – 1869
- Virginia Genealogist, 1959-2002 Call No.: F221 V79 Newman 3rd floor
- Wardell, Timesaving Aid to Virginia-West Virginia Ancestors: A Genealogical Index of Surnames from Published Sources Call No.: F225 W33 1985 Special Collections and Remote Storage (requires notice for retrieval)
- Wardell, Timesaving Aid to Virginia-West Virginia Ancestors: A Genealogical Index of Surnames from Published Sources Call No.: F225 W33 1991 Special Collections