Local History and Genealogical Research in the University Libraries: D. Virginia Counties & Record Keeping

New Theatre (the Lyric) and Store Building for the Blacksburg Realty Company

Hours: 
Monday-Friday 8am-5pm & By Appointment

Contact us:
Email: specref@vt.edu
Telephone: 540-231-6308
Twitter: @VT_SCUA
Information for Visitors

Find us online!
Our website
Our digital collections
Our blog
Our LibGuide (Information about us and our collections)

This section contains information on the evolution of counties, their dates, changes in boundaries, place-name information and some understanding of the records kept by the counties, is necessary background for genealogical searching.

• Andriot, Township Atlas of the United States Call No.: G1201 F7 A5 1979 Newman 3rd floor
• Bruce, Institutional History of Virginia in the Seventeenth Century 2 vol. Call No.: F229 B9 Newman 3rd floor and Remote Storage (requires notice for retrieval)
• Crumrine, Virginia Court Records in Southwestern Pennsylvania: Records of the District of West Augusta and Ohio and Yohogania Counties, West Virginia, 1775-1780 Call No.: KFV2915 A72 1775 Newman 3rd floor
• Everton, Handy Book for Genealogist Call No.: CS47 E9 1981 Newman 2nd floor
• Filby, A Bibliography of American County Histories Call No.: E180 F54 1985 Newman 3rd floor
• "A Guide to the Counties of Virginia” in issues 1973/74 of Virginia Genealogist (Montgomery Co.-v.18 (1974) pp.298-) Call No.: F221 V79 Newman 3rd floor
• Hiden, How Justice Grew: Virginia Counties, An Abstract of Their Formation Call No.: F226 H5 Special Collections
• Hiden, “Seventeenth Century Virginia Parochial and County Court Records,” pp.125-141 of Virginia
  Magazine of History and Biography v. 56, no. 2 (April, 1948) Call No.: F221 V91 Special Collections and Special Collections Storage (requires notice for retrieval)
• Hiden, “Virginia County Court Records; Their Background and Scope,” pp.1-6 of Virginia Magazine of History and Biography v. 56, no. 1 (Jan. 1946) Call No.: F221 V91 Special Collections and Special Collections Storage (requires notice for retrieval)
• Jackson, Encyclopedia of Local History and Genealogy Ser. 1, v. 1: U.S. Counties Call No.: CS49 J32 1977 Newman 2nd floor
• Jones, Local Government Records Chap. 8 “A Brief Subject Analysis of Local Records” Call No.: CD3024 J66 Newman 2nd floor
• Leary, North Carolina Research, Genealogy, and Local History County Records Call No.: CS49 L4 Newman 2nd floor
• McCombs, Southwest Virginia Counties: A Checklist of Research Materials in the Virginia Tech
  University Libraries Call No.: F226 V58 Special Collection and Newman 3rd floor
• Robinson, “Virginia Counties; Those Resulting from Virginia Legislation,” in Virginia State Library Bulletin, v. 9, 1916. pp. 1-283 Call No.: Z881 V81B Remote Storage (requires notice for retrieval)
• Virginia State Chamber of Commerce. Virginia’s Government: The Structure and Functions of the State and Local Governments of the People of Virginia: State, Municipal, County Call No.: JK3925 1980 J46 Newman 3rd floor
• Virginia State Library, Report of the State Archivist on the Study of Record-Keeping Procedures of
  Courts of Record in Virginia, December 1, 1971 Call No.: CD3566 V5 Remote Storage (requires notice for retrieval)