Local History and Genealogical Research in the University Libraries: H. Military Records

New Theatre (the Lyric) and Store Building for the Blacksburg Realty Company

Hours: 
Monday-Friday 8am-5pm & By Appointment

Contact us:
Email: specref@vt.edu
Telephone: 540-231-6308
Twitter: @VT_SCUA
Information for Visitors

Find us online!
Our website
Our digital collections
Our blog
Our LibGuide (Information about us and our collections)

• Bookstruck, Virginia's Colonial Soldiers Call No.: F225 B63 1988 Newman 3rd floor
• Crozier, Virginia Colonial Militia: 1631-1776 Call No.: F221 V75 v. 2 Newman 3rd floor
• Eckenrode, List of the Colonial Soldiers of Virginia in Virginia State Library Annual report no. 13 (1915-1916) Call No.: F229 V94 1961 Newman 3rd floor

• Burgess, Virginia Soldiers of 1776 3 v. Call No.: E263 V5 B914 Newman 3rd floor
• Clark, American Militia in the Frontier Wars 1790-1796 Call No.: CS68 C48 1990 Newman 2nd floor
• Daughters of the American Revolution, (D.A.R.), Index of the Rolls of Honor in the Lineage Book of the N.S.D.A.R. v. 1-150 Call No.: E202.5 A15 INDEX 2 Newman 3rd floor
• D.A.R. Patriot Index (List names, life span, spouse, service, pension.) Call No.: E255 D36 1967 Special Collections and Newman 3rd floor
• Harding, George Rogers Clark and His Men: Military Records Call No.: E225 H35 Newman 3rd floor
• Daughters of the American Revolution, (D.A.R.), Roster of Soldiers from North Carolina in the American Revolution Call No.: E263 N8 D26 1984 Newman 3rd floor
• Eckenrode, List of Revolutionary Soldiers of Virginia Call No.: E263 V8 E18 1989 Special Collections
• Gwathmey, Historical Register of Virginians in the Revolution, Soldiers, Sailors, Marines: 1775-1783 Call No.: E263 V8 G9 Speial Collections
• McAllister, Virginia Militia in the Revolutionary War Call No.: E263 V8 M13 Newman 3rd floor
• McGhee, Virginia Pension Abstracts of the Revolutionary War, War of 1812, and Indian Wars v. 11 Call No.: F230 M3 Newman 3rd floor
• National Genealogical Society, Index of Revolutionary War Pension Applications in the National Archives Call No.: CS63 N3 1976 Newman 2nd floor
• Neagles, Locating Your Revolutionary War Ancestor: A Guide to the Military Records Call No.: CS63 N4 1983 Newman 2nd floor
• Stewart, “Roster of the Virginia Navy of the Revolution.” in his History of Virginia’s Navy of the Revolution Call No.: F230 S84 Special Collections
• Sweitzer, Revolutionary War Genealogy Call No.: CS63 S3 1982 Newman 2nd floor
• Wilson, Catalogue of Revolutionary Soldier and Sailors of the Commonwealth of Virginia to Whom land Bounties were Granted by Virginia for Military Service in the War of Independence Call No.: E263 V8 W5 1953 Newman 3rd floor

• Butler, Virginia Soldiers in the United States Army: 1800-1815 Call No.: F225 B97 1986 Newman 3rd floor

• Dilts, 1890 Virginia Census Index of Civil War Veterans or Their Widows Call No.: E494 D59 1986 Newman Census
• Ingmire and Ericson, Confederate P.O.W.s soldiers and sailors who died in federal prisons in the North Call No.: E548 I55 1984 Newman 3rd floor
• U.S. War Dept. Compiled Service Records of Confederate Soldiers Who Served in Organizations from the State of Virginia Call No.: E581.4 C65 Newman Microfilm (1075 reels. Last 60 reels are indexes by soldier’s name giving regiment in which he served. For reel number which includes the regiment and the records of soldiers init, see the guide “Pamphet Accompanying Microcopy No. 324” Call No.: E581.4 C65 Guide available in Newman Microform Reference, Newman Reference, and Special Collections) Indexes but not the records, are also available for MD, KY, FL, MS, MO, NC, SC, and TX 
• U.S. War Dept. (Official Records; O.R.) or War of the Rebellion: A Compilation of the Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies Call No.: E464 U6 Special Collections, Newman 3rd floor and Remote Storage (requires notice for retrieval)

Manuscript or photographic copies of documents showing military service of Virginians during the colonial period, the Revolutionary War, the War of 1812, the War with Mexico and the Civil War are available in the Library of Virginia. Military records for Virginians who served after 1856 may be obtained from the Department of Military Affairs, State Adjutant General, Ninth Street Office Building, Richmond, VA 23219 (http://www.dma.virginia.gov/) or from the National Archives and Record Service, 8th Street, and Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20408 (http://www.archives.gov/index.html).