University Libraries


Bullet A to Z indexBullet Library staff

Local History and Genealogical Research in the University Libraries: J. Church Records

This guide includes resources available in Special Collections, Newman Library, and online that can aid in local genealogy research.

About Special Collections

New Theatre (the Lyric) and Store Building for the Blacksburg Realty Company
New Theatre (the Lyric) and Store Building for the Blacksburg Realty Company

Hours: 
Monday-Friday 8am-5pm & By Appointment

Contact us:
Email: specref@vt.edu
Telephone: 540-231-6308

Twitter: @VT_SCUA
Information for Visitors

Find us online!
Our website
Our digital collections
Our blog
Our LibGuide (Information about us and our collections)

Church Records - General

Please note: Some church records are held in the collection at the Virginia State Library.

  • Clark and Long, Guide to Church Records in the Archives Branch of the Virginia State Library Call No.: CD3568.5 V57 1981 Special Collections

1. Baptist

Baptist records at the American Baptist Historical Society, Colgate-Rochester Divinity School, Rochester, New York, and at the Virginia Baptist Historical Society, University of Richmond, Richmond, Virginia

  • Historical records Survey, Virginia, Inventory of church Archives in Virginia: Guide to the Collection of the Virginia Baptist Historical Collection 2 v. in 3 Call No.: F225 H5 Special Collections and Newman 3rd floor (Obituary records & marriage notices in the Religious Herald 1828-1938)
  • Virginia University Library, Annual Report of the Archivist Call No.: CD3560 V5 1936-1937 Remote Storage (requires notice for retrieval)

2. Church of the Latter-Day Saints

Church of Latter-Day Saints, LDS Genealogical Soc., Salt Lake City. Richmond State Branch, 5600 Monument Ave., Richmond, VA

  • Brown, Handy Index to the Holdings of the Genealogical Society of Utah (U.S. County Records) Call No.: Z1220 B7 Newman 5th floor

3. Episcopalian

Episcopalian records retained in parishes. For parish lines, see:

  •  Axelson, A Guide To Episcopal Church Records in Virginia Call No.: F225 A9 1988 Newman 3rd floor
  •  Cocke, Parish Lines: Diocese of Virginia (Virginia State Library publication no. 28) Call No.: BX5918 V8 C6 Newman 2nd floor
  •  Fishwick, History of Montgomery Parish from 1856 to 1956 Call No.: BX5918 M6 F5 Special Collections and Newman folio

4. Moravian

  • Fries, Records of the Moravians in North Carolina 11 v. Call No.: F265 M8 F82 1954 Newman 3rd floor

5. Quaker

  • Berry, Our Quaker Ancestors: Finding them in Quaker Records Call No.: E184 F89 B47 1987 Newman 3rd floor
  • Encyclopedia of American Quaker Genealogy v. 6, Virginia meetings Call No.: E184 F89 H5 Newman 3rd floor
depository library