University Libraries


Bullet A to Z indexBullet Library staff

Local History and Genealogical Research in the University Libraries: P. Pre-American Ancestry

This guide includes resources available in Special Collections, Newman Library, and online that can aid in local genealogy research.

About Special Collections

New Theatre (the Lyric) and Store Building for the Blacksburg Realty Company
New Theatre (the Lyric) and Store Building for the Blacksburg Realty Company

Hours: 
Monday-Friday 8am-5pm & By Appointment

Contact us:
Email: specref@vt.edu
Telephone: 540-231-6308

Twitter: @VT_SCUA
Information for Visitors

Find us online!
Our website
Our digital collections
Our blog
Our LibGuide (Information about us and our collections)

Pre-American Ancestry - General

  • Baxter, In Search of Your European Roots Call No.: CS402 B39 1985 Newman 2nd floor
  • Pine, American Origins (handbook of European genealogical sources) Call No.: CS16 P55 Newman 2nd floor
  • Beard, How to Find Your Family Roots Call No.: CS16 B35 Newman 2nd floor
  • Smith, Ethnic Genealogy: A Research Guide Call No.: CS49 E83 1983 Newman 2nd floor

United Kingdom and Northern Ireland

  • Baxter, In Search of Your British and Irish Roots Call No.: CS414 B38 1986 Newman 2nd floor
  • Burke, A Genealogical and Heraldic Dictionary of the Landed Gentry of Great Britain and Ireland 2 v. Call No.: CS425 B8 Newman 2nd floor
  • Burke’s Genealogical and Heraldic History of the Peerage, Baronetage and Knightage Call No.: CS420 B85 Remote Storage (requires notice for retrieval)
  • Fox-Davies, Amorial Families Call No.: CR1618 F6 1897 Special Collections
  • Hamilton-Edwards, In Search of British Ancestry Call No.: CS9 H27 1974 Newman 2nd floor; CS9 H27 1983 Special Collections
  • Walford, County Families of the United Kingdom Call No.: CS419 W3 1871 Newman 2nd flood

England/Ireland/Scotland

  • Victoria History on the Counties of England. Titles for individual counties can be found by searching this in the library's catalog.
  • MacLysaght, Irish Families Call No.: CS498 M3 1972 & CS2415 M235 1985 Newman 2nd floor
  • Anderson, The Scottish Nation or The Surnames, Families, Literature, Honors and Biographical History of the People of Scotland 3 v. Call No.: CT813 A6 Newman 2nd floor
  • Falley, Irish and Scotch-Irish Ancestral Research 2 v. Call No.: CS483 F32 1981 Newman 2nd floor
  • Grimble, Scottish Clans and Tartans Call No.: DA880 H6 G74 1973b Newman 3rd floor
  • Stuart, Scottish Family History Call No.: Z5313 S4 S9 1978 Newman 5th floor

Germany

  • Baxter, In Search of Your German Roots Call No.: CS614 B39 1994 Newman 2nd floor
  • Cerny, Guide to German Parish Registers v. 1-2 Call No.: CS613 C47 1988 Newman 2nd floor
  • Hall, The Atlantic Bridge to Germany Call No.: CS614 H34 V 1-5 Newman 2nd floor
  • Smelser, Preliminary Survey of the German Collection (Utah) Call No.: CS613 S63 Newman 2nd floor
  • Smith, American Genealogical Resources in German Archives Call No.: CS611 S5 Newman 2nd floor
  • Smith, Encyclopedia of German-American Genealogical Research Call No.: E184 G3 S66 Special Collections and Newman 3rd floor
  • Thode, Address Book for Germanic Genealogy Call No.: CS611 T48 1991 Newman 2nd floor

Africa

  • Rose, Black Genesis Call No.: CS21 R57 2003 Newman 2nd floor
depository library