Grants

These databases provide information about finding grant funding.

These databases provide information about finding grant funding opportunities.

Foundation Directory Online
Search for information about over 100,000 foundations, corporate giving programs, and grantmaking public charities, or for information about nearly half a million grants. Parent organization, Foundation Center, also provides extensive free, online information about funding and managing nonprofit organizations. 2001-present.
Unique funder portfolios organize additional funder-specific content in one convenient location and include: grantmaker-related news, job opportunities, and Request For Proposals (RFPs); grantmaker-sponsored publications; and officer and trustee affiliations.

Foundation Directory Online Professional also provides exclusive funder-specific functionality: the ability to search across a funder's grants with customized search indexes; the ability to map a funder's grants for any given year by recipient type or primary subject and drill down to view disbursements by county, city, ZIP code, or congressional district; the ability to chart a funder's grants for any given year by recipient type or primary subject and drill down to view disbursements by secondary and tertiary category; the ability to sign up to receive funder-specific email alerts; and the ability to search across all four Foundation Directory Online databases as well as the Foundation Center's philanthropy news, nonprofit jobs, RFPs, foundation publications, and nonprofit literature databases simultaneously.

Its parent organization, Foundation Center, also provides extensive free,online information about funding and managing nonprofit organizations.
Funding Institutional from Elsevier
Funding Institutional allows researchers to search for grant opportunities and provides historical data about awards and related publications. This data can be used to select opportunities that are the best fit and tailor proposals based on past success. Additionally, users can track award trends, find potential collaborators, and improve their understanding of the competitive landscape. Searches can be narrowed down by location, special interest (limited submission, amount greater than $1M, deadline within three months, multidisciplinary, or foundation or private sponsor) and/or by subject area. It includes information on more than 11,000 funding bodies and more than 24,000 active opportunities. Use your vt.edu email address to register for an account.
This database is provided by the Office of the Vice President for Research and Innovation.
Grants.gov
Grants.gov simplifies the grants management process and creates a centralized, online process to find and apply for over 900 grant programs from the 26 federal grant-making agencies. Grants.gov streamlines the process of awarding over $360 billion annually to state and local governments, academia, not-for-profits and other organizations. The vision for Grants.gov is to be a simple, unified source to electronically find, apply and manage grant opportunities.

Annual register of grant support [Print]
Call Number: AS911.A2 A67
Publication Date: 1972-2019
This print guide cover over 3000 grant-giving organizations, arranged in 11 subject areas. It provides an overview of the proposal writing process, plus subject, organization, and geographical indexes. The latest edition is kept in Newman's stacks and is circulating. previous editions are in storage.