Preston Family Resources: Home

This LibGuide features information about locating Preston Family resources at Virginia Tech Special Collections. We house published materials, as well as original family documents and research about various branches of the Preston Family.

About Special Collections

New Theatre (the Lyric) and Store Building for the Blacksburg Realty Company
New Theatre (the Lyric) and Store Building for the Blacksburg Realty Company

Hours: 
Monday-Friday 8am-5pm & By Appointment

Contact us:
Email: specref@vt.edu
Telephone: 540-231-6308

Twitter: @VT_SCUA
Information for Visitors

Find us online!
Our website
Our digital collections
Our blog
Our LibGuide (Information about us and our collections)

About the Preston Family Resources Guide

Welcome to the Special Collections guide to Preston Family Resources! This guide feature tools and information to help you locate unpublished and published resources about the Prestons and many related families. We have original documents from the 18th and 19th centuries, books and journals, research files, genealogies, maps, photographs, and more! The "Manuscript Collections" tab highlights original documents. The "Research Collections" tab features manuscript collections containing information about the Prestons. The "Other Resources" tab will give you an introduction to vertical files, photographs, and maps, as well as help you locate books and other published holdings. "Researching Beyond Virginia Tech" includes a list of some online tools you can use to search for the Preston family at other institutions.

We'll be adding to this guide as new resources arrive, but we also encourage you to contact us with questions as your research or interests develop.

A Note on Digital Content

Not all our collections have been digitized, but scanning collections is one of our on-going projects. Some Preston family materials are available online. Throughout this guide, there are links to finding aids for collections. If there is digitial content for a collection, the finding aid will include links to the scanned images. You can also request scans of materials by contacting Special Collections and/or sending us an order form.  Below are two sample items: A letter from William Preston at Smithfield to James McDowell, written December 5, 1801 and Robert Taylor Preston's pardon, signed by Andrew Jackson in September 1965.

Some Sample Images from Preston Collections

William Preston at home to James McDowell, December 5, 1801

Ms1997-002, Smithfield Preston Foundation Papers

William Preston at home to James McDowell, December 5, 1801

William Preston at home to James McDowell, December 5, 1801

William Preston at home to James McDowell, December 5, 1801

Robert Taylor Preston’s pardon from Andrew Johnson, September 1865

Ms1997-002, Robert Taylor Preston Papers

Robert Taylor Preston’s pardon from Andrew Johnson, September 1865