The Virginia Tech-Wake Forest University School of Biomedical Engineering and Sciences (SBES) is a unique collaboration between Wake Forest University and Virginia Tech whose purpose is to "provide a framework for the generation and dissemination of knowl
Search or browse across the full text of over 4000 CRC engineering handbooks and other STEM disciplines. Each chapter is available as a downloadable PDF. Our subscription does not include every ebook available through CRCnetBASE; be sure to limit to "Full access content only" when searching.
Oxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest and most trusted reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource. The Premium Collection offers a huge range of fully-indexed, extensively linked, up to date, and cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press, including detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions series.
Knovel provides a large collection of ebooks on engineering and related subjects. Each chapter is presented as a separate PDF. The entire collection is full-text searchable, and many results include interactive tables. Includes tables of properties for over 13,000 chemical compounds.
Our subscription includes:
AICHE/CCPS - Center for Chemical Process Safety
ASM International Handbooks Online
ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code 2001-2007
Adhesives, Coatings, Sealants & Inks
Aerospace & Radar Technology
Biochemistry, Biology & Biotechnology
Ceramics & Ceramic Engineering
Chemistry & Chemical Engineering
Civil Engineering & Construction Materials
Electrical & Power Engineering
Electronics & Semiconductors
Environment & Environmental Engineering
General Engineering & Engineering Management
Mechanics & Mechanical Engineering
Metals & Metallurgy
Oil & Gas Engineering
Pharmaceuticals, Cosmetics & Toiletries
Plastics & Rubber
Safety & Industrial Hygiene
Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials
Engineering Village is the search interface to three engineering databases: Compendex, Inspec, and NTIS. Compendex indexes citations and abstracts from over 5,000 engineering journals, conference papers, books, patents, dissertations, and technical reports. Inspec indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and dissertations in engineering and physical sciences. NTIS indexes citations and abstracts of National Technical Information Service reports and audiovisual materials from sources such as NASA and the departments of Energy and Defense. 1884-present.
Biotechnology Research Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts in medicine, agriculture, and engineering related journals, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and patents. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1982-present.
PubMed comprises approximately 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books in the life sciences. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. Advanced search limits include types of articles (such as clinical trial, case reports, or review), human or animal studies, and age of subjects. Full text PDFs of recent articles is commonly available. 1946-present.
PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant Web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
While other databases simply aggregate data, Web of Science information is carefully evaluated and selected. This time-tested approach helps conserve an institution’s resources and researchers’ time by delivering access to the most relevant resources. 1900-present
Web of Science offers a true cited reference index, which is still the best tool for discovery and the only method of retrieving accurate citation counts. backward, and through journal articles and both journal and book-based proceedings. With cited
reference searching, you can search all disciplines and time spans to uncover information relevant to your search:
Discover who’s citing your research and the impact your work is having
Uncover the seminal research of an important theory or concept
Measure the influence of colleagues’ or competitors’ work – or your own
Follow the path and direction of today’s hottest ideas
Related Records enhances the power of cited reference searching by searching across disciplines for all the articles that have cited references in common.
Create a colorful, easy to navigate, visual representation of citing-cited relationships to a given document using Citation Maps.
Use the Analyze Tool to quickly group the results, analyze the published papers, and identify research trends. Find hidden trends and patterns, gain insight into emerging fields of research, identify leading researchers, institutions, and journals, and trace the history of a particular field of study. You can analyze results by author, publication year, journal subject category, institution, language or source title, and view a numerical, percentage and graphical representation
of the analysis.
Health & Safety Science Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, books, conference proceedings, government reports, and dissertations on the health and engineering aspects of safety science. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1981-present.
Published in association with the University of Southern California's Institute of Safety and Systems Management, this database provides a comprehensive, timely survey of recent work relating to public health, safety, and industrial hygiene. Cited studies are geared to help individuals identify, evaluate, and eliminate or control risks and hazards across the spectrum of environmental and occupational situations.
The database provides the latest perspectives on topics of widespread concern such as aviation and aerospace safety, environmental safety, nuclear safety, medical safety occupational safety, and ergonomics. Health and safety related aspects of pollution, waste disposal, radiation, pesticides, epidemics - and countless other phenomena having the potential to threaten the public, the environment, or the workplace itself - are reported here. Drawing on government reports as well as journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and other publications, Health and Safety Science Abstracts synthesizes the most important new developments in safety science and human factors research.
Ergonomics Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journals, books, and reference works that cover the health and engineering aspects of ergonomics. 1985-present.
Engineering reference sheets
Some engineering material can be difficult to locate. These reference sheets give general information about the resource as well as instructions on how to retrieve the material from the Virginia Tech library collection.