Transportation Infrastructure and Systems Engineering: Transportation Infrastructure and Systems Resources

Transportation Infrastructure and Systems Engineering at Virginia Tech

The graduate Transportation Infrastructure and Systems Engineering (TISE) Program at Virginia Tech provides unique study and research opportunities in all aspects of planning, design, construction, operation, management, and rehabilitation of transportation infrastructure and systems. TISE emphasises ground transportation by private automobiles and transit, and air transportation.

The main focus of the Infrastructure section is on the life-cycle performance of the civil engineering infrastructure. The main focus of the Systems section is on transportation infrastructure system capacity management versus capacity expansion.

Tools for finding transportation infrastructure and systems articles, papers, and technical reports

Engineering Village
Engineering Village is the search interface to three engineering databases: Compendex, Inspec, and Knovel. Compendex (1884-present) indexes citations and abstracts from over 5,000 engineering journals, conference papers, books, patents, dissertations, and technical reports. Inspec (1898-present) indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and dissertations in engineering and physical sciences. Knovel provides ebooks on engineering and related subjects.
ASCE Civil Engineering Database
The Civil Engineering Database (CEDB) indexes citations for all ASCE publications. The database covers all the journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, magazines, and newspapers published by ASCE. Journal papers with abstracts go back to 1970. Non-abstract journal records go back to 1958. The book records are complete dating back to the early 1900s.
ASCE Library
The ASCE Library contains the full text of journals (from 1983), conference papers (from 2000), standards (current and historical), and ebooks.
TRID
TRID indexes citations, abstracts, and some full text of journal articles, books, conference proceedings, technical reports, environmental impact statements, and theses on transportation research. It integrates the former TRIS and ITRD databases.
Records in TRID are indexed with a standardized vocabulary from the Transportation Research Thesaurus (TRT) or the ITRD Thesaurus, depending on the source organization.

The TRID Database contains more than 900,000 records of references to books, technical reports, conference proceedings, and journal articles in the field of transportation research. Almost 500 serial titles are regularly scanned and indexed for TRID. TRID's focus is transportation research. TRID does not contain information on vehicle standards and specifications, patent information, market research, or military transport.

In addition to the material that is indexed and abstracted at the Transportation Research Board and from ITRD, TRID receives records from several sources:
TLIB

TLIB Records are bibliographic records received from major transportation libraries. These citations generally do not have abstracts but they cover journals and publications that would not otherwise be covered in TRID. The Harmer E. Davis Library at the Institute of Transportation Studies at the University of California, Berkeley provides monthly updates of journal articles and technical reports. The Northwestern University Transportation Library provides monthly contributions of selections from its TRANWeb database (a database of journal articles and papers on transportation and law enforcement).
EIS

Almost 20,000 Environmental Impact Statements from the EIS Database produced by the Northwestern University Transportation Library have been added to the TRIS Database to date. TRID now contains records for the largest collection of Environmental Impact Statements in the world.
Theses

Since 2007, the Northwestern University Transportation Library has contributed transportation-related theses to the TRID database. To date approximate 3,000 records have been contributed. The Northwestern University Transportation Library adds new thesis records to TRID annually.
Transportation Research Record
The Transportation Research Record provides full-text journals and reports in HTML and PDF.
Scopus
Scopus indexes citations of journal articles, conference papers, and books in the sciences, medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities. You can perform cited reference searches. You can compare authors, institutions, and journals using various metrics. 1800s-present
IEEE Xplore
- This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore contains full text documents from IEEE and IEE journals, transactions, magazines, ebooks, letters, conference proceedings, standards, and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) publications. Full text content is provided as PDFs.Full-text journals back to 1884, conference proceedings back to 1951.
Science Citation Index from Clarivate Analytics
Science Citation Index, a subset of Web of Science, indexes citations, abstracts, and some full text from journal articles, books, and conference proceedings in all science disciplines. You can search cited references. 1900-present.
SciTech Premium Collection from ProQuest
The SciTech Collections indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journal articles, books, conference papers, trade publications and more. Some full text provided in HTML and PDF.

Tools for obtaining an overview of transportation infracture and systems engineering topics

Knovel Library
Knovel provides a large collection of ebooks on engineering and related subjects. Each chapter is presented as a separate PDF. The entire collection is full-text searchable, and many results include interactive tables. Includes tables of properties for over 13,000 chemical compounds. Knovel is also searchable through the Engineering Village interface.
Our subscription includes:
Adhesives, Coatings, Sealants & Inks
Aerospace & Radar Technology
ASM International Alloy Information
ASM International Handbooks Online
Biochemistry, Biology & Biotechnology
Ceramics & Ceramic Engineering
Chemistry & Chemical Engineering
Civil Engineering & Construction Materials
Composites
Computer Hardware Engineering
Earth Sciences
Electrical & Power Engineering
Electronics & Semiconductors
Engineering Management & Leadership
Environment & Environmental Engineering
Fire Protection Engineering & Emergency Response
Food Science
General Engineering & Project Administration
Industrial Engineering & Operations Management
Manufacturing Engineering
Marine Engineering & Naval Architecture
Mechanics & Mechanical Engineering
Metals & Metallurgy
Mining Engineering & Extractive Metallurgy
Nanotechnology
Nondestructive Testing & Evaluation
Oil & Gas Engineering
Optics & Photonics
Pharmaceuticals, Cosmetics & Toiletries
Plastics & Rubber
Process Design, Control & Automation
Regulatory Information
Safety & Industrial Hygiene
Software Engineering
Sustainable Energy & Development
Textiles
Transportation Engineering
Welding Engineering & Materials Joining
AccessEngineering from McGraw-Hill
AccessEngineering provides engineering handbooks and textbooks, plus instructional videos.

Engineering Librarian

Sarah Over

she/her/Dr.

Email Me

Contact:

Newman Library
Rm 3013
560 Drillfield Drive
Blacksburg, VA 24061

540-231-8693

Subjects: Engineering and physical sciences

Live Chat

Interlibrary Loan Services

All current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff, regardless of your location, may request through ILLiad for materials:

not owned by Virginia Tech (books, articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)
owned by Virginia Tech but are unavailable for use (print books)
owned by Virginia Tech and available in print (scans of articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)

We ship requests via UPS to users outside the immediate Blacksburg area (Montgomery, Giles and Pulaski counties).

Articles, book chapters, and many technical papers are delivered in PDF format to your ILLiad account. Occasionally, due to copyright restrictions, a paper copy of an article or standard is held for your at the Newman User Services Desk or sent o the mailing address listed on your account.