- University Libraries
- Research Guides
- Subject Guides
- Economics
- Technology Solutions
Economics: Technology Solutions
Economics at Virginia Tech is the study of how scarce resources are allocated among competing uses to satisfy human wants. Economic analysis is directed at a wide range of problems, including inflation and recession, environmental problems, taxation decis
Software for writing papers
- TeXstudio (opensource LaTeX editor)TeXstudio is an integrated writing environment for creating LaTeX documents. The goal of the creator of TeXstudio is to make writing LaTeX as easy and comfortable as possible. Therefore TeXstudio has numerous features like syntax-highlighting, integrated viewer, reference checking and various assistants.
- JabRef (opensource)Create references with JabRef. Integrates with TeXstudio. Opensource.
- Virginia Tech's Overleaf pageVirginia Tech Libraries is providing free Overleaf Pro accounts for the 2017 calendar year to all VT students, faculty, and staff who would like to use a collaborative, online LaTeX editor for their projects.
Overleaf is a LaTeX based application designed to make the process of writing, editing and producing your research papers and project reports much quicker for both you and your collaborators. Overleaf can also be linked to other services such as Mendeley, Git and Plot.ly to best fit into your workflow. Claim your free 10GB Pro account on Overleaf by signing up
Software Tutorials
Technology Solutions
Matlab by
The book starts with programming concepts, such as variables, assignments, and selection statements, moves on to loops, and then solves problems using both the programming concept and the power of MATLAB. In-depth coverage is given to input/output. The third edition of MATLAB: A Practical Introduction to Programming and Problem Solving has been updated to reflect the functionality of the current version of MATLAB. It features new and revised end-of-chapter exercises, stronger coverage of loops and vectorizing, and more engineering applications to help the reader learn this software tool in context. Presents programming concepts and MATLAB built-in functions side-by-side Systematic, step-by-step approach, building on concepts throughout the book, facilitating easier learning Sections on common pitfalls and programming guidelines direct students towards best practice.
Call Number: ONLINE ONLYISBN: 0124058760Publication Date: 2013
- Getting Started with MATLAB (MATLAB Primer)221 page online guide from Mathworks.com
Using Stata for Quantitative Analysis by
Using Stata for Quantitative Analysis is an applied, self-teaching resource. It is written in such a way that a reader with no experience with statistical software can sit down and be working with data in a very short amount of time. The author proposes to teach the language of Stata from an intuitive perspective, furthering students' overall retention, using many screen shots from Stata to guide students.
Call Number: ONLINE ONLYISBN: 9781412997119Publication Date: 2011
The LaTeX Companion by
The LaTeX Companion has long been the essential resource for anyone using LaTeX to create high-quality printed documents. This completely updated edition brings you all the latest information about LaTeX and the vast range of add-on packages now available--over 200 are covered! Full of new tips and tricks for using LaTeX in both traditional and modern typesetting, this book will also show you how to customize layout features to your own needs--from phrases and paragraphs to headings, lists, and pages. Inside, you will find: Expert advice on using LaTeX's basic formatting tools to create all types of publications--from memos to encyclopedias In-depth coverage of important extension packages for tabular and technical typesetting, floats and captions, multicolumn layouts--including reference guides and discussions of the underlying typographic and TeXnical concepts Detailed techniques for generating and typesetting contents lists, bibliographies, indexes, etc. Tips and tricks for LaTeX programmers and systems support New to this edition: Nearly 1,000 fully tested examples that illustrate the text and solve typographical and technical problems--all ready to run! An additional chapter on citations and bibliographies Expanded material on the setup and use of fonts to access a huge collection of glyphs, and to typeset text from a wide range of languages and cultures Major new packages for graphics, "verbatim" listings, floats, and page layout Full coverage of the latest packages for all types ofdocuments--mathematical, multilingual, and many more Detailed help on all error messages, including those troublesome low-level TeX errors.
Call Number: ONLINE & PRINT Newman 5th Floor, Z253.4.L38G66 2004ISBN: 0201362996Publication Date: 2004
LaTeX and Friends by
LaTeX is a free, automated state-of-the-art typesetting system. This book teaches all the ins and outs of LaTeX which are needed to write an article, report, thesis, or book. The book teaches by example, giving many worked out examples showing input and output side by side. The book presents the most recent techniques for presenting data plots, complex graphics, and computer presentations, but does not require previous knowledge. However, it is also a reference for the more seasoned user, with pointers to modern techniques and packages. Recurring themes in the book are consistent and effective presentation, planning and development, controlling style and content, and maintenance.
Call Number: ONLINE ONLYISBN: 3642238157Publication Date: 2012
