Population health sciences: Data, Tests & Measures

Population health sciences seeks to improve the health of populations and communities in southwest and southside Virginia, the Commonwealth, Central Appalachia, the nation, and beyond by training future public health leaders.

This Page Includes Sources for:

Overview Sources - Get to know a topic

Research Literature Databases

Health Data & Statistics

Tests & Measures

Looking for full text?

Remember to look for the Get VText icon:

If that doesn't work, don't hesitate to contact your librarian for help accessing the full text of an article.

Public Health Data

Try out the sources below to find public health data. If you don't find what you're looking for, contact Ginny for further suggestions.

Health Data Tools and Statistics
From Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce, a collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations and health sciences libraries. Links to sources for: Health Data News, County and Local Health Data, State Health Data, Individual State Data, National Health Data, Global Health Data, Statistical Reports, Demographic Data, Geographic Information Systems (GIS), Training and Education, Health Information Technology and Standards, and Tools for Data Collection and Planning

ICPSR: InterUniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is a membership-based organization providing access to the world's largest archive of computer-based research and instructional data for the social sciences. The archive of data sets includes a broad range of disciplines, including political science, sociology, demography, economics, history, education, gerontology, criminal justice, public health, foreign policy, and law.

Data.gov
The home of the U.S. Government’s open data. Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
re3data.org
Registry of Research Data Repositories - Search or browse for a repository in your subject of interest. For example, browse by subject to view repositories for data related to "Public Health, Health Services, Social Medicine."

Tests & Measures

Tests & Measures are frequently used in health-related research. The resources here will help you find tests and measures that you may consider using in your own research. Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print primarily indexes published, commercially available tests with information on how to acquire them. PsycTests primarily covers unpublished tests (often including the full text of the test itself). Both offer varying information regarding validity and reliability of tests referenced. Research Databases, such as PubMed, CINAHL, and PsycInfo (above in Research Databases) are also great places to look for test information in scholarly works that used them, though the full test is often not available there.

APA: Finding Information About Psychological Tests

*Contact your liaison librarian, for assistance in searching for tests (contact info at the top right side of this page - or at the end if on a mobile device).

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print from EBSCOhost
Descriptive information and critical reviews of new and revised tests from the Buros Institute's 1st-20th Yearbooks. Covers commercially-available tests in categories such as personality, developmental, behavioral assessment, neuropsychological, achievement, intelligence and aptitude, educational, and speech & hearing. Contains descriptive info (test purpose, publisher, pricing) and edited reviews written by leading area experts. Does not contain the actual tests, though links may be provided.
Produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, the Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,700 contemporary testing instruments. The MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. All MMY entries contain descriptive information (e.g., test purpose, publisher, pricing) and edited review(s) written by leading content area experts, but not the actual tests, though links to sources of a test may be provided. To be included in the MMY, a test must be commercially available, be published in the English language, and be new or revised since it last appeared in the series.

Also produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s).
APA PsycTESTS from EBSCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
PsycTESTS indexes psychological tests, with the full text of the test available in most cases. Test instruments available in HTML and PDF.