Skip to main content

Library (and other) Resources for your Flipped Classroom: Home

Case Study resources

Case study resource databases (14 databases) (library subscribed databases)

Case study resources (719 items) (in databases, journals, eBooks)

Audio Resources (music, speeches, oral history, text-to-speech resources)

Audio Resources (music, speeches, biography etc.)

Speeches and Transcripts (extensive "how to find" information)

Oral Histories

Oral History Online (Alexander Street Press)

Music Recordings & Scores

Naxos Music Library (65,000+ streaming tracks) - Note: Requires off-campus sign in

National Jukebox (Historical Sound Recordings from the Library of Congress).

Other library-subscribed musical score and recordings databases may be found using the A-Z links here.

Creative-Commons licensed music - CC Licensed Record Labels  Jamendo and SoundCloud

Text-to-Speech enabled databases

EBSCOhost databases

Gale Biography in Context (MP3)

Gale Virtual Reference (MP3)

Opposing Viewpoint Resource Center from Gale (MP3)

Audiobooks

Additional Library Services

Place personal or library-owned items on library electronic reserve (the library will scan up to 1 book chapter for electronic reserve)

More information about Library Reserves

Request library purchase of a textbook/eBook/database/digital resource etc

Searching for Reserves at VT Libraries

Request copyright clearance to reproduce an Interlibrary Loan item (contact blbrown@vt.edu)

Can't find what you're looking for? Ask a Librarian via chat, text, phone, email, or view FAQs.

 

Streaming Video, Tutorials, Images, and Maps

Video (Library subscribed resources - these sites may require off-campus sign in)

American History in [Streaming] Video (5,986 titles)

PBS Streaming Video Collection (498 titles)

Poets on Screen, Shakespeare Audioplays, and PoetryArchive (from Literature Online)

American Geophysical Union Earth and Space Index Streaming lectures & interviews

C-SPAN Video Library (160,000 hours)

DVDs with Digital Streaming Rights (36 titles)  (contact blbrown@vt.edu to set up digital streaming)

Video Recordings with Public Performance Rights (438 titles) - Size of viewing group is unlimited. Not currently licenced for digital streaming. Reserve items by using this form.

Films on Demand (platform for streaming films previously requested for purchase.)   

* Please request purchase of other streaming videos or streaming "rights" from blbrown@vt.edu Turn around time is usually a minimum of 24 hours.

 

Other film/video resources

YouTube Most items posted on YouTube do not apply a Creative Commons license. However, the EFF suggests that YouTube embedding is the same as linking. If you know or suspect that they are illegal copies, you may not show them. Source: 17 U.S Code 92, Ch1, S110

Best practice for use of video in online teaching is to "link not upload" videos. If you cannot link, U.S. Copyright allows you to show "entire non-dramatic literary works" (news, poetry, speeches...) and "reasonable and limited portions" of everything else (plays, movies, operas, TV shows, choreography etc.). You must limit access to the material to students enrolled in the course for the duration of the course. You must indicate that the material may be copyrighted, is for course use only, and may not be redistributed. You may show only portions of items in class that are "directly related and of material assistance to the teaching content of the transmission." You may not show materials which you know have been illegally obtained. (emphasis added) Source: 17 U.S Code 92, Ch1, S110

See also, the Center for Media & Social Impact's (American University) Code of Best Practices in Fair Use for Online Video

Lynda Software tutorials and training (Requires PID & password login. Subscription provided by OCLS, TLOS)

Khan Academy Math & Science tutorials (NOTE: Required attribution: "CC BY NC-SA 3.0 All Khan Academy content is available for free at www.khanacademy.org”

Mango Language tutorials (requires off-campus sign in and individual creation of an account)

National Science Digital Library STEM discipline teaching and learning resources

SpringerProtocols (lab protocols) (requires off-campus sign in)
 

Simulations and Interactive 3D Models

Zygote Body (human anatomy)

Dog skeleton

PhET Interactive Simulations

 

Images (with Creative Commons licenses or in the Public Domain)

Search via Creative Commons (Attribution required)

Search via Google Advanced Images Search (scroll down to "Rights" drop down menu for image filtering) (Attribution required)

Search via CompFight (Attribution required)

Prints & Photographs Online Catalog from the Library of Congress

Public Domain - most (but not all) images from .gov websites are in the public domain

 

Subject Specific Images (library subscriptions):

Art Grove Art Online

Forestry Compendium

Music: Sheet Music & Choral resources

Astronautical: NASA/Johnson Space Center digital image collection (public domain)

Note: search "databases" at http://www.lib.vt.edu for "images" to find other subscribed sources

 

Map Resources

Mapping: GIS & Mapping resources

Maps and Illustration encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online

National Atlas of the United States

National Map from the USGS

SimplyMap (GIS Software) http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/S/simply-map.html

USGS National Geological Map Database

World Book Advanced Atlas

 

View all library databases containing multimedia (use letters A-Z for navigation)

 

Primary source materials

Subject Guide

Anita Walz's picture
Anita Walz
Contact:
NEED HELP? Contact me!
Newman Library 422
Economics, Mathematics & Law Liaison
~ Open Education, Copyright, and Scholarly Communications Librarian~
540-231-2204
Social:Twitter Page

Ask a Librarian

Ask a librarian via text, phone, email, via FAQs etc.

About Copyright in Online Instruction

eBooks

Library owned eBooks

(requires off-campus sign in)

about eBook suppliers


Free (OER) or Low Cost eTextbooks


Free eBooks

GoogleBooks (preview or read thousands of books)

HathiTrust (20% of full text is freely available)

Internet Archive (includes books, movies, music & archived web pages)

Open Library (1 Million+ ebook titles)

Project Gutenberg (45,000+ free ebooks)

Daily Lit (15 minutes of fiction every day)

Many Books (29,000+ books for various eReaders)