Skip to main content

VTCSOM: Health and Medicine Databases

Online Access to University Libraries of Virginia Tech Databases

Database searching

  • Search for the name of a specific database or broad subject area you wish to search.
    • The terms you enter in the search on this page will retrieve results if they are found in the title and descriptions of the database, not within the content of the database itself.
    • Most of the content found within the databases is restricted to Virginia Tech affiliates.

The Health and Medicine subject guides provide a starting point to find databases that cover publications related to health and medicine.

VTCSOM Discovery Search

Access to Virginia Tech Carilion Libraries Consortium Databases

While physically present in the medical school library, you have access to the medical school's databases.  Use the VTCSOM Discovery Search interface to access health and medicine resources from off-campus access.  Access to certain clinical resources such as Clinical Key, requires a VTCSOM MyAthens Account.  

Medical School Databases

Access Medicine- 90+ medical textbooks and board review books, multimedia (videos by system and category, musculoskeletal exam, exploring essential radiology, patient safety modules, female reproductive system modules, grand round lectures), drugs, patient education handouts, and self-assessment tools.

Biomedical Reference, Comprehensive (EBSCO)- 850+ full-text, peer-reviewed journals, designed for doctors, research scientists, students, clinical specialists and managers. Also includes reference books for clinical medicine, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pre-clinical sciences, and the health care system.

CINAHL (EBSCO)- 580+ full-text journals: nursing, biomedicine, health sciences, consumer health and allied health. Full-text coverage dates back to 1981 with no embargoes. Indexes more than 3,100 journals and follows the structure of NLM MeSH.

Clinical Key500+ journals, Medline abstracts updated daily. 1100+ electronic books (including Expert Consult and Student Consult titles); online books are available the day they are published in print. MD Consult, procedural videos, practice guidelines, patient handouts, and drug look-up. NOTE: Some electronic books are available in pdf format. To download book chapters as pdf files, you must first register for a FREE personal ClinicalKey account while using a Carilion network.

Cochrane Collection Plus (EBSCO) Collection of 4 databases:

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials 
Cochrane Clinical Answers
Cochrane Methodology Register

The leading resource for systematic reviews in health care. Evidence-based medicine clinical summaries and full text articles: systematic reviews, protocols, clinical trials, methodology.

DynaMed Plus (EBSCO)Point of Care: Unlimited access whether at work or home. Free mobile app. EBM clinical summaries: applies a 7-step systematic evidence-based process to all content: rates recommendations for levels of evidence and best practice. Features: Causes and risk factors, complications, H&P, Dx, Rx, Tx, Px, prevention & screening, quality improvement, guidelines, patient education, and links to references. CME.

GreenFILE (EBSCO)- A collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.

Health Business Elite (EBSCO)- 570+ full-text journals including Hospitals & Health Networks, Harvard Business Review(available back to 1922), Health Facilities Management, Health Management Technology, Healthcare Financial Management, Marketing Health Services, Modern Healthcare. Topics covered include hospital management, hospital administration, marketing, human resources, computer technology, facilities management and insurance.

HERO (Health & Education Research Online) - Discovery search interface -- find health and medical education articles.

Medical LetterPeer-reviewed evaluations of drugs, therapeutics, and treatment guidelines; unbiased reviews of drug classes.

 

Medical School Databases con't

NEJM Journal WatchEditorially independent, esteemed physician authors and editors write and curate article summaries of the most important clinical research. New content is published bi-weekly and is derived from over 250 medical journals.

Nursing and Allied Health Comprehensive (EBSCO)- 400+ full-text journals covering the areas of nursing, biomedicine, health sciences, consumer health and allied health disciplines. Designed for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers.

OVID BooksKey textbooks including 5-Minute Clinical Consult, Kaplan & Sadock, and Marino's The ICU Book.
Sign in to MyAthens and look for electronic books by title, author or subject in the library's catalog.

OVID Journals30 high impact journals including Academic Medicine, Circulation, Critical Care Medicine, Journal of Bone and Joint Surgery, Journal of Trauma & Acute Care Surgery, Neurology, Obstetrics & Gynecology, Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery, and Stroke.

Pediatric Care Online (AAP)- Developed by the American Academy of Pediatrics: it integrates many different pediatric resources, including Point-of-Care Quick Reference, Pediatric Drug Look-up, Red Book Online, AAP Textbook of Pediatric Care, Patient Handouts, and more.

Psychiatry Online (AAP)Developed by The American Psychiatric Association, it provides access to current and full-text APA textbooks, guidelines, journals, and DSM-V.

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences (EBSCO)- 530+ full-text journals; subjects include anthropology; emotional and behavioral characteristics, mental processes, observational & experimental methods, psychiatry & psychology.

PubMed LinkoutNational Library of Medicine index to biomedical and life sciences publications. Articles, book chapters, conference proceedings and more. For full text access to Carilion subscriptions, sign in to MyAthens and select PubMed Linkout from the list of resources.

Scientific American Medicine (DeckerIP) - Internal Medicine teaching principles and practices.  Organized according to ABIM Blueprint, access to content and tools for all levels of lifelong learning from clerkship to board prep to CME and MOC.  Limited number of users. To permit others quick access, please sign-out when finished. Click the Anonymous User Icon and then click sign-out. 

TRIPTurning Research Into Practice – Quickly identify or sort publications by evidence type. Searches across multiple sources including the AHRQ and PubMed as well as UK NIHR and BestBETS. The PRO version provides access to  full-text subscription resources.

Carilion faculty:  To access PRO content when off campus, you must first register for a free personal account while using a Carilion network. (Off campus access to PRO content is only available through a personal account login.)

UpToDatePoint of Care: Access limited to CRMH, 3 Riverside and 2 Riverside (must be on-site). Clinical summaries: peer-reviewed, evidence-based, physician-authored. Features: Dx, Rx, Tx, Px, patient education, and links to references.  Remote access available solely to 3rd and 4th year medical students.

USMLE EasyPrepare for Step 1, Step 2 CK, and Step 3 exams. Use question banks to create custom quizzes or take full-length practice tests. Thousands of questions covering all disciplines and organ systems. To create personalized quizzes, you must first create your personal USMLE-Easy account while using a desktop computer or Eduroam wifi.  See instructions down below.