A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
New
Africa Commons is a platform for discovering African historical and cultural materials held by organizations around the world, including libraries, museums, and archives, and then it links outward to the web repositories where the documents are located. Material types include books, magazines, newspapers, historical periodicals, government documents, manuscripts, letters, diaries, posters, photographs, ephemera, art, music, videos, oral histories, and more.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
New
Alternate Name(s) A&A ePortal
Art & Architecture (A&A) ePortal provides ebooks in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design. Most titles (80%) are exclusive to the platform and are published by Yale University Press and other leading university presses (Princeton, Harvard, MIT) and museum publishers (Art Institute of Chicago, National Gallery of Art, Philadelphia Museum of Art). It contains a wide variety of content, including scholarly monographs, museum catalogs, and catalouges raisonnés.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
New
Art & Architecture Source is a full-text art research database covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as film, photography, architecture and architectural design. The database offers full-text art journals and magazines, plus thousands of images with international coverage from all eras, regions and important artists.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
Trial
Please provide feedback on this database, which is currently on trial until February 29, 2024.

Bloomsbury provides ebooks, reference works, and images covering animals, children and families, food, gardens, the human body and sexuality, and women, engaging with culture throughout the ages from antiquity to the modern era. Additional topic areas will be added in the future.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
Trial
Please provide feedback on this database, which is currently on trial until February 29, 2024.

Bloomsbury Fashion Photography Archive showcases over 700,000 high-quality images presenting forty years of contemporary fashion history along with a timeline, designer biographies, and fashion articles.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
Trial
Please provide feedback on this database, which is currently on trial until February 29, 2024.

Bloomsbury Fashion Video Archive exhibits almost 3,000 fashion shows presented in Paris, London, New York, and Milan by 460 international designers, and covers the period 1979 to 2003. Each video features extensive indexing and captioning to enable search, browse, and enhanced discoverability. The videos are accompanied by scholarly articles that provide context to the collection, shedding light on key shows, the evolution of trends, iconic designers, and the transformation of runway spectacles to performance art. Articles have been curated by Valerie Steele, Director of the Museum at FIT (Fashion Institute of Technology), New York.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
Trial
Kindly provide feedback on this database, which is currently on trial until February 29, 2024.

Bloomsbury's Food Library is a database of food-related content covering history, sociology, agriculture, anthropology, cultural studies, culinary arts, food studies, nutrition, and sustainability. Coverage is global, consisting of major reference works, key authors, and image collections from leading institutions, such as Ken Albala’s Food Cultures of the World Encyclopedia and the Cambridge World History of Food.
  • Access limited to affiliates of Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine
New
Boards & Beyond is a learning resource for medical students. Its purpose is to supplement classroom and textbook learning, and to help students prepare for the board exams they will take in medical school.

Access restricted to VTCSOM users. Faculty portal access.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
Trial
Kindly provide feedback on this resource that is currently on trial until February 29, 2024.

Consensus is an AI-powered search engine (ChatGPT) that specializes in extracting and condensing scientific insights from peer-reviewed sources.

Please note: Any account created in February with an @vt.edu domain will have unlimited premium access until the end of the month.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
Trial
Please provide feedback on this database, which is currently on trial until February 29, 2024.

This HeinOnline database brings together a diverse set of materials focusing on the structure, creation, actions of, and oversight of the courts, both state and federal.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
Trial
This database is on trial through March 1, 2024. Please provide feedback on this database.

Hispanic Life in America Series 3 provides coverage of the Hispanic American experience from 2010 to the present, sourced from more than 17,000 publications, including 700 Spanish-language newspapers and periodicals. An easy-to-use online resource—updated daily with new material—that illuminates Hispanic history, culture, and daily life.
New
Human Kinetics Physical and Health Education is a collection of 42 ebooks and 127 videos, with exercise science, fitness, health, nutrition, and sports information. The Human Kinetics Library also has coverage on psychology and sociology of sport and exercise, disability in sports, active aging, athletic training, and coaching.
New
Human Kinetics Strength and Conditioning is a collection of ebooks and videos created by experts across the field of physical training and strength building. With 86 ebooks and 393 supplemental videos, the collection provides fitness instructors, physical trainers, coaches, athletes, and learners with practical instruction to help build and update training programs and fitness courses.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
Trial
Please provide feedback on this database, which is currently on trial until February 29, 2024.

The International Bibliography of Humanism and the Renaissance (IBHR) is a multidisciplinary bibliographic database covering European culture and history for the 16th and 17th centuries. Its geographical scope extends outside Europe by including publications on European interactions with the wider world.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
Trial
Please provide feedback on this database, which is currently on trial until February 29, 2024.

The Russian-language newspaper Kavkaz (Caucasus) was published between 1846-1918 in Tiflis (Tbilisi), Georgia. The newspaper's main purpose was to promote Russian culture and Russian influence in the Caucasus as well as to acquaint the Russian public with the life, habits and traditions of the tribes populating the province of the Caucasus. The paper published official documents of the Russian Empire, as well as many historical, cultural and archeological writings.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
Trial
Please provide feedback on this database, which is currently on trial until February 29, 2024.

The jazz section of Medici.tv has 300+ films, with recent performances, archival footage, and documentaries that explore funk, soul, blues, Afrobeats, global grooves, contemporary jazz, bebop, swing, big band, avant-garde, chamber jazz, jazz fusion, hard bop, Latin jazz, Afro-Cuban jazz, and more. The module is an expansion to our current Medici.tv subscription.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
Trial
Please provide feedback on this resource, which is currently on trial until February 29, 2024.

The Modern Language Association (MLA) Handbook Plus includes the full text of the ninth edition of the handbook, the second editions of both the MLA Guide to Digital Literacy and the MLA Guide to Undergraduate Research in Literature, as well as video courses.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
New
The Official Methods of Analysis of AOAC international is a source of chemical and microbiological analysis and methods developed by countries and organizations for a variety of commodities including food, agriculture, public safety and health, and the environment. Methods validated by the AOAC Official Methods Program are used by government, industry, and academia throughout the world.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
New
The Rare Book Hub is designed to assist collectors, booksellers, libraries, auction houses, appraisers, educators, researchers, and prospective collectors. It is a resource for information pertaining to rare, antiquarian, and collectible books and related ephemeral material – manuscripts, letters, maps, posters, broadsides, photographs, and prints (works on paper).
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
New
South Asia Commons is an index and repository of South Asian books, historical journals, video, audio, newspapers, magazines, letters, diaries, and other primary-source materials. In addition to indexing thousands of openly available collections, it contains over 4.5 million pages of proprietary (in-copyright, licensed) books, journals, and related materials from the region, covering India, Pakistan, Burma, Afghanistan, and Bangladesh.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
Trial
Kindly provide feedback on this resource, currently on trial from February 5th through the 29th, 2024.

The Sports Business Journal (SBJ) is a national, weekly trade magazine featuring original reporting with in-depth profiles, research, analysis, news, data, and expert opinions on the biggest issues and stories in sports business. SBJ aggregates stories and spin from more than 600 news outlets from around the globe.
New
Thieme MedOne VetMed offers around 100 ebooks on veterinary medicine and the life sciences.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...