Skip to main content

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
Trial
This database is on trial through October 31, 2019. Access NewspaperARCHIVE provides historical US and international newspapers with full page facsimile pages. 1750-1977. Please provide feedback on this database.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
New
Advertising America provides digitized primary source materials from the J. Walter Thompson advertising agency's archives. Content includes advertisements created by the agency's staff, correspondence, meeting minutes, creative briefs, newsletters, artwork and scripts, newsletters and memorandum, case studies, and research and reports. Late 1800s to 1990s.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
New
African American Communities provides digitized primary sources on racism and discrimination, integration, culture and identity, and the history of the civil rights movement. Content includes pamphlets, magazines and newspapers, correspondence and oral histories, official records and government reports, photographs, maps, and essays from scholars. Early 1800s-present.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
New
Age of Exploration provided digitized primary sources from the earliest voyages of Vasco de Gama, through the spice trade, colonization of the Americas and Australasia, the search for the Northwest and Northeast passages, and the race for the poles. Content includes manuscripts and early printed materials, maps, diaries, ships' logs, speeches, films, correspondence, and biographies.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
New
Cross search all or selected Adam Matthew primary source databases and access millions of digitized pages from a single search.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
New
American History, 1493-1945 provided digitized primary sources from the earliest settlers to the end of World War II. Content includes correspondence, diaries, government documents, business records, books, pamphlets, newspapers, broadsides, photographs, artwork and maps, and manuscripts.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
New
American Indian Newspapers provides digitizes sets of print journalism from indigenous peoples of the US and Canada. 1828-2016.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
Trial
This database is on trial through November 30, 2019. Artfilms Digital provides streaming videos in the visual and performing arts, design and fashion, gastronomy, media and education, and philosophy and religion. Please provide feedback on this database.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
Trial
This database is on trial through October 31, 2019. Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts provides ebooks on design, photography, fashion, animation, and cinema. Please provide feedback on this database. Please provide feedback on this database.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
Trial
This database is on trial through October 31, 2019. Bloomsbury Architecture Library provides full-text ebooks and reference works. Please provide feedback on this database.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
Trial
This database is on trial through October 31, 2019. Bloomsbury Fashion Business Cases provides cases covering a range of fashion topics from design to retailing, global in scope exploring the industry beyond the USA and UK into territories such as Europe, Asia, and the Pacific. Please provide feedback on this database.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
Trial
This database is on trial through October 31, 2019. Bloomsburg Medieval Studies provides full-text books, digitized illuminated manuscripts, artwork, and maps, and study guides. Please provide feedback on this database.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
New
Church Missionary Society Periodicals provides digitized publications from the Church Missionary Society (CMS), the South American Missionary Society and the Church of England Zenana Missionary Society (CEZMS). 1804-2009.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
Trial
This database is on trial through October 31, 2019. Claritas Consumer Profiles help identify groups of consumers who are as likely, more likely, or less likely than the average segment, to engage in various behaviors. The datasets allows you to compare indicators across states, counties, zip codes, and census tracts. Use the Browse by Source menu on the left and select Claritas > Consumer Profiles to access this data. Please provide feedback on this database.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
Trial
This database is on trial through October 31, 2019. Claritas Financial and Insurance CLOUT database allows users to identify the potential demand for financial and insurance products and services by geographic area in the United States. . Use the Browse by Source menu on the left and select Claritas > CLOUT to access this data. Please provide feedback on this database.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
New
Colonial America provides digitized primary sources from the British National Archives' Colonial Office files and related documents. Content includes manuscripts, correspondence, military records, charters, government records, legal cases, trade accounting, and maps. 1606-1822.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
New
Confidential Print: Africa provides digitized primary sources from the British National Archives collections of confidential correspondence from colonial, Dominion, and Foreign Offices relating to Africa. Content includes reports, descriptions of leading personalities, political summaries, economic analyses, maps, and dispatches and letters.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
New
Confidential Print: Middle East provides digitized primary sources from the British National Archives collections of confidential correspondence from the Middle East, Turkey, and the former Ottoman Empire. Content includes reports, descriptions of leading personalities, political summaries, economic analyses, maps, and dispatches and letters.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
Trial
This database is on trial through October 31, 2019. Counseling and Therapy in Video provides more than 2,400 hours of footage from actual therapy sessions, training videos, and reenactments conducted by counseling professionals. Please provide feedback on this database and compare the content with Psychotherapy.net.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
New
Defining Gender provides digitized primary sources on gender, leisure, and consumer culture from British archives in history, literature, sociology, education, and cultural studies. Content includes pamphlets, college records and exam papers, commonplace books, diaries, periodicals, letters, ledgers, account books, educational practice and pedagogy, government papers from the Home Office and Metropolitan police, illustrated writings on anatomy, midwifery, art and fashion, manuscript journals, poetry, novels, ballads, drama, receipt books, literary manuscripts, travel writing, and conduct and advice literature. 1465-1917.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
Trial
This database is on trial through October 31, 2019. Digitalia Film Library provides a multi-lingual, multi-national collection of films and documentaries from Spain, France, other European and eastern European countries, and Latin American countries including Mexico, Argentina, Chile, Brazil (Portuguese), Cuba, Costa Rica, and others. Please provide feedback on this database.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
New
East India Company provides digitized primary sources related to the company and its broad powers and privileges. Contents include charters, treaties, statutes, meeting minutes, correspondence, personnel lists, factory and trading post records, military documents, account books and ledgers, and diaries. 1600-1947.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
New
Eighteenth Century Drama provides digitized primary sources, the London Stage Database, and the Biographical Dictionary of Actors, 1660-1800. The majority of content is play scripts. Topics covered include censorship and politics, satire and social commentary, celebrity culture and fashion, opera, theatre business, women, staging, technology, and performance, representations of war, conflict, race, religion, and historical events, and representations of domestic, familial, and pastoral scenes. 1730-1830.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
Trial
This database is on trial through October 31, 2019. Europa World Plus provides full text of the Europa World Year Book and nine volumes of Regional Surveys of the World series, covering political and economic information for countries around the world. Please provide feedback on this database.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
New
First World War: A Global Conflict provides primary source material on the global nature of war, the contribution of soldiers from around the world, and events and battles in the Middle East, Asia, Africa, and Russia, plus peace negotiations, post-war relief work, and European rebuilding. Content include letters and diaries, photos and postcards, and an object gallery. 1914-1919.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
Trial
This database is on trial through November 10, 2019. Food and Drink in History provided digitized primary sources that cover the links between food and issues like identify, politics, gender, race, and socio-economic status, and covers topics in agriculture, nutrition, and food production. It includes cookbooks, Seagram Company Archives on brewing, winemaking, and legal issues around alcohol, government documents, marketing reports, and diaries and correspondence of anthropologists. 1514-1980. Please provide feedback on this database.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
New
Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan provides digitized primary source material on south Asia. Content includes government reports, diplomatic dispatches, correspondence, maps, photos, statistical tables, and political, economic, and military assessments. 1940s-1980s.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
New
Foreign Office Files for Japan provide digitized primary source material on Japan from the rise of Imperialism to post-war occupation. Content includes memoranda and minutes, reports, correspondence, maps, newspaper cuttings, and other printed material.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
New
Foreign Office Files for the Middle East provides digitized primary source material covering governance and conflict in the Middle East and surrounding countries. Content includes government reports, correspondence and diplomatic dispatches, personality profiles, political summaries, economic analyses, maps, newspaper cuttings, and other print materials.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
New
Frontier Life provides digitized primary source documents that arose from European movements to Africa, Australasia, and North America. Topics covered include agriculture and business; family life and religion; indigenous peoples and the natural world; government, politics, law, and the military; health, medicine, technology, and industry; and exploration and travel. 1600s-1800s.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
New
Gender: Identity and Social Change provides primary sources for the study of gender history, women’s suffrage, sexual orientation and expression, the feminist movement, and the men’s movement. Content includes correspondence, newspapers and magazines, business reports, photos and artwork, polls, and organization papers. 1800s-present.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
New
India, Raj & Empire provided digitized primary sources from National Library of Scotland on the history of South Asia between the foundation of the East India Company in 1615 and the granting of independence to India and Pakistan in 1947. Content includes biographies, diaries, official and private papers, letters, sketches and paintings, and original Indian documents containing histories and literary works.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
New
Leisure, Travel & Mass Culture provided digitized primary source material on British and American working class tourism, educational travel, outdoor activities and wilderness travel, environmental impact of tourism, travel agencies, portrayals of race, and technology and tourism industry. Content includes promotional films, travel journals, magazines, correspondence, company records, guidebooks, maps, photos and posters, and scrapbooks. 1850-1980s.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
New
Literary Print Culture provides digitized primary source materials on the histories of book making and selling, publishing, copyright, and the early London Livery Company. Topics of interest include publication of plays and ballads, the lives of early printers, wages and working confitions, governance of London, voting rights, property deeds, heretical and seditious works, charity, events and ceremonies, and court orders.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
New
Market Research & American Business provides digitized primary sources on the history of motivational research and consumer behavior, market research reports, and personal papers of Ernest Dichter. Content includes marketing proposals, pilot studies, reports and memorandums, letters and correspondence, and research studies.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
Trial
This database is on trial through October 31, 2019. MarketResearch.com provides market intelligence reports on consumer demographics, market size and growth trends, industry forces and structure, product trends, competitive environment analysis, and company profiles. Please provide feedback on this database.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
Trial
These databases are on trial through October 31, 2019. These two surveys, Nicotine Survey and Health and Nutrition Survey are available on the Passport from Euromonitor platform. To access Nicotine Survey, navigate to the Tobacco vertical and it will have its own tile. To access the Health and Nutrition Survey, navigate to Health and Wellness, Consumer Health, Fresh Food, Hot Drinks, Soft Drinks, Tissue and Hygiene, Consumer Foodservice, Ingredients, or Packaged Food and the survey will have its own tile in those systems. Please provide feedback on these databases.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
New
Oxford Handbooks Online provides scholarly overviews of topics through in-depth articles. We have access to handbooks in philosophy, political science, and psychology.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
New
Popular Medicine in America provides digitized primary sources on remedies and treatments in the 19th century, including phrenology, herbal medicine, and hydrotherapy in books, pamphlets, posters, and advertising.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
Trial
This database is on trial through October 31, 2019. Public Health in Modern America provides primary documents that explore the fight for a national health care plan from the end of the Depression into the 1960s. Please provide feedback on this database.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
New
Race Relations in America provided digitized primary source documents from the United Church Board for Homeland Ministries covering desegregation, migration, the role of the church, race riots and racial tensions, protest marches, demonstrations, and legal cases of the Civil Rights Movement. Content includes audio recordings of speeches, photos, scrapbooks, surveys, case studies, posters, and photos. 1943-1970.
  • Access limited to affiliates of Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine
Trial
This database is on trial through October 31, 2019. Scientific & Medical Art Imagebase provides more than 24,000 high-quality illustrations and animations depicting anatomy, physiology, surgery, pathology, diseases, conditions, trauma, embryology, histology and other medical topics. Content is peer reviewed by graduate-level medical illustrators and expert reviewed by physicians. Please provide feedback on this database.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
New
Service Newspapers of World War Two contains an extensive range of both rare and well-known wartime publications for soldiers serving in major theatres around the world. Publications are included from many key nations involved in the conflict, such as the US, Canada, New Zealand, India, and the countries of Europe, Africa and the Middle East. Both Allied and Axis publications are presented, offering a broad view of the war and the experiences of those on its front lines. 1939-1948.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
New
Shakespeare in Performance provided digitize prompt books of Shakespeare's plays and other plays performed by influential Shakespearean actors. It also includes playbills, scrapbooks, newspaper clippings, photos and sketches, prop lists, cue sheets, lighting plots, musical scores, and correspondence of actors, directors, and managers. 1590-1965.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
Trial
This database is on trial through October 31, 2019. Theatre and Drama Premium provides full-text plays, audio and video of recorded performances, and supporting documents on design and the history of theatre. Please provide feedback on this database and compare the content with Drama Online.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
New
Trade Catalogues and the American Home provided digitized trade catalogues, advertising literature, historic documents relating to popular brands, and samples of materials like fabric and wallpaper. Topics explored include popular and material culture, social norms and attitudes, and the history of marketing and business. 1807-1980s.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
New
Virginia Company Archives provided digitized primary source documents from King James I chartered exploration and colonization company. Content included over 2000 Ferrar Papers business archives and related books on the history of the Virginia Company of London.
  • Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
New
World's Fairs provides digitized primary sources on the history of international expositions. Topics to explore include globalization, city planning, diplomacy, and visual culture. Content includes correspondence, posters, personal accounts, guidebooks, case studies, maps, and government reports. 1829-present.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...