Linguistics is the study of human language: origins, changes, and structure/grammar. Virginia Tech courses in linguistics focus on the English and Native American languages.
This is the dictionary of dictionaries. It is a historical dictionary which means it provides meanings, history, and pronunciations. Using the OED you can trace the history of a word through time and see how words and means evolved and were used via the quotations and timelines.
Search Google Scholar!
Google Scholar will connect you with VT Libraries resources--look for the "Get VText" link to the right of each item that you find through Google Scholar.
This is an archive of journals. To look at linguistics journals, make sure to select linguistics on the long list of subjects on the advanced search page. Remember that JSTOR is an archive, so articles are 3-5 years old by the time they get to JSTOR.
The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references. The content is expanded continuously with a current emphasis on international publications as well as pamphlets, images, and manuscripts from libraries, societies, and museums.
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journals, conference proceedings, books, and dissertations in the field of linguistics and related language sciences. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1973-present.
MLA International Bibliography indexes citations and full text of journal articles, books, dissertations, and scholarly web sites in disciplines such as language, literature, folklore, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, and the dramatic arts. Coverage includes literature from all over the world and includes citations to materials in many languages other than English. 1926-present.
