- University Libraries
- Research Guides
- Subject Guides
- Linguistics
- Finding Linguistics Resources
Linguistics: Finding Linguistics Resources
Linguistics is the study of human language: origins, changes, and structure/grammar. Virginia Tech courses in linguistics focus on the English and Native American languages.
Important Dictionaries
- Oxford English Dictionary
This link opens in a new window
This is the dictionary of dictionaries. It is a historical dictionary which means it provides meanings, history, and pronunciations. Using the OED you can trace the history of a word through time and see how words and means evolved and were used via the quotations and timelines.
Search Google Scholar!
Google Scholar will connect you with VT Libraries resources--look for the "Get VText" link to the right of each item that you find through Google Scholar.
Recommended online resources
- JSTORThis is an archive of journals. To look at linguistics journals, make sure to select linguistics on the long list of subjects on the advanced search page. Remember that JSTOR is an archive, so articles are 3-5 years old by the time they get to JSTOR.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts from ProQuest
- This link opens in a new window
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journals, conference proceedings, books, and dissertations in the field of linguistics and related language sciences. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1973-present. - MLA International Bibliography with Full Text from ESBCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography indexes citations and full text of journal articles, books, dissertations, and scholarly web sites in disciplines such as language, literature, folklore, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, and the dramatic arts. Coverage includes literature from all over the world and includes citations to materials in many languages other than English. 1926-present.
Teaching and Learning Engagement Librarian
Ask a Librarian
Interlibrary Loan Services
All current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff, regardless of your location, may request through ILLiad for materials:
- not owned by Virginia Tech (books, articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)
- owned by Virginia Tech but are unavailable for use (print books)
- owned by Virginia Tech and available in print (scans of articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)
We ship requests via UPS to users outside the immediate Blacksburg area (Montgomery, Giles and Pulaski counties).
Articles, book chapters, and many technical papers are delivered in PDF format to your ILLiad account. Occasionally, due to copyright restrictions, a paper copy of an article or standard is held for your at the Newman User Services Desk or sent o the mailing address listed on your account.