Urban affairs & planning: Resource Trials
The University Libraries is committed to providing the Virginia Tech community with the information that it needs, and so we keep an eye out for new resources that may fill gaps in what we provide. Each semester, the Collections and Technical Services department organizes trials for databases that currently aren't in our collections. With trials, we can gather feedback from the community about potential new resources before we fully invest in a subscription or a purchase. Below, you can find more information about trials and links to active trials.
Resource Training Sessions
Information about resource training sessions for any active trials is available below.
How do I request a trial for a resource?
The best way to request a trial is by contacting the librarian that is the liaison to your subject area. To find out who your liaison librarian is, head to our research guides and find the libriarian associated with research guides in your area.
Most trials seem to be for databases. Can I request a trial for a journal?
Unfortunately, we are rarely able to arrange trials for journals. However, if there is a journal that you wish to see the library subscribe to, please still contact your library liaison with your request.
How long are trial resources available?
Most database trials are for 30 days. Occasionally, the trial period may be shorter or longer, depending on the provider.
When does the libraries run trials?
October, February, and sometimes in April.
Is there a way to provide feedback on a resources that the libraries is currently trialing?
Yes! Each trial database on the A-Z Databases page will have a link to a feedback form on the description. You can can also always contact your library liaison with any feedback you may have.
The University Libraries organizes trials for potential new resources in October, February, and April. If there any active trials, they are listed below.
- Afro Americana Imprints from ReadexThis database is on trial through March 17, 2023. African American Imprints contains over 13,000 books, pamphlets and broadsides, including many lesser-known imprints, which represent an unparalleled record of African American history, literature and culture. This collection spans nearly 400 years, from the early 16th to the early 20th century. Critically important subjects covered include the West's discovery and exploitation of Africa; the rise of slavery in the New World along with the growth and success of abolitionist movements; the development of racial thought and racism; descriptions of African American life -- slave and free -- throughout the Americas; and slavery and race in fiction and drama. Also featured are printed works of African American individuals and organizations. Please provide feedback on this database.
- Black Life in America - Series 1This database is on trial through March 17, 2023. Black Life in America, Series 1 covers the period 1704-1877, Arrival in America through Reconstruction. It is impossible to understand the struggles and successes of people of African descent in America without understanding their roots. Series 1 brings to life a pivotal era in American history, with original reporting and contemporary perspectives on the lives of enslaved and newly freed people, Nat Turner’s revolt, Harriet Tubman’s heroism, the Underground Railroad, the Civil War and Reconstruction, and more. Through firsthand reporting, editorials, obituaries, illustrations, and advertisements, these historical newspapers shed new light on critical events while revealing the impact of African Americans whose stories are less well known. Please provide feedback on this database.
- Black Life in America - Series 2This database is on trial through March 17, 2023. Black Life in America, Series 2 covers the period 1878-1975, Jim Crow through the Civil Rights Movement. Even after slavery was toppled, many laws and policies continued to disadvantage Black Americans. Men and women such as W.E.B. Du Bois, Fannie Lou Hamer, and Martin Luther King, Jr., helped rectify these injustices, even while fighting a system often designed to silence them. Through historical newspapers, Series 2 provides insight into their efforts and those of hundreds of other civil rights leaders, as well as daily life during the Jim Crow era and the lasting contributions of African Americans in nearly every field imaginable. It also offers a range of views and reporting on the court decisions and policy changes that profoundly shaped the African American experience. Please provide feedback on this database.
- Hispanic Life in AmericaThis database is on trial through March 17, 2023. Hispanic Life in America provides comprehensive coverage of the Hispanic American experience from the early 18th century to the present day sourced from more than 17,000 publications, including 700 Spanish-language newspapers and periodicals. An easy-to-use online resource—updated daily with new material—that illuminates centuries of Hispanic history, culture, and daily life. Please provide feedback on this database.
- Krokodil Digital ArchiveThis digital archive is on trial through April 1, 2023. The Krokodil Digital Archive (Крокодил) is a full-text searchable archive of the satirical magazine published in the USSR and Russia from 1922-2008. The archive offers the most comprehensive collection available for this title, featuring full page-level digitization, complete original graphics and searchable text. Please provide feedback on this database.
- Native American Indians 1645-1819This database is on trial through March 17, 2023. Native American Indians 1645-1819 is the most comprehensive record of Native America in the 17th, 18th and early 19th centuries. More than 1,600 publications offer unparalleled insight into the relationship between Native Americans and European settlers. The database features text and data analysis tools, author biographies, and suggested search paths for easy browsing and discovery. Please provide feedback on this database.
- Native American Tribal HistoriesThis database is on trial through March 17, 2023. These primary source documents cover not only encounters between Indigenous people and the U.S. government, but also accounts of Native American cultures during a time when disease and forced relocation were transforming their lives. Now, these rare materials are available for the first time in a readily accessible digital collection, which also contains detailed historical background notes created by the curators of the National Archives. Native American Tribal Histories, 1813-1880, is a powerful new resource for anyone interested in the past, present and future of Native America. Please provide feedback on this resource.
- Thieme MedOne Adaptive LearnerPlease Note: Users must create a Home Access account to use MedOne Adaptive Learner. This database is on trial though March 31, 2023. Thieme MedOne Adaptive Learner Step 1 is an adaptive learning medical education platform that uses USMLE style questions to support knowledge retention, application and synthesis. The product includes questions and answer explanations covering 11 USMLE specific disciplines. Please provide feedback on this database.
- Thieme MedOne EducationThis database is on trial though March 31, 2023. Thieme MedOne Education is an online collection of illustrated, full-color textbooks. The base collection comprises 130 textbooks covering biomedical and health sciences. It also includes USMLE Test-prep material and clinical techniques and cases presented in instructional videos. Please provide feedback on this database.