This database provides full-text books, pamphlets, and other primary sources about the history and culture of Brazil, Portugal, and Spanish America. Topics include politics, literature, economics, indigenous peoples, religion, and geography. 1801-1983
Digital portal comprises Early Canadiana Online (the most complete set of full-text historical content about Canada, including books, magazines and government documents, from early European settlement through the mid-20th century), Héritage (digitized microfim records concerning government documents, aboriginal history, military history, genealogy, and topical "landmark papers"), and the Public Collections portal to digital collections of libraries, archives, and museum across Canada.
American History in Video provides a large and rich collection of video available online for the study of American history. The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries. Videos cover the exploration period starting in 1492 through the late 20th century.
Oral History Online is both an index of full-text interviews and other oral history narratives and free oral history information online. The narratives cover diverse subjects, including civil rights and race relations, labor history, African American history, women's history, immigration studies, political history, American Indian history, regional history, and more.
Women and Social Movements in the US indexes citations and full text of primary documents and archives; book, film, and website reviews; teaching tools; a directory of organizations; and a chronology of women's history. 1745-present.
Women and Social Movements in the United States is a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, this collection seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding about U.S. history generally at the same time that it makes the insights of women's history accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools. The collection currently includes 100 document projects and archives with almost 3,950 documents and 150,000 pages of additional full-text documents, written by some 2,150 primary authors. It also includes book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.
Women and Social Movements: Basic Edition contains the following resources:
100 document projects that interpret and present documents, most of which are not otherwise available online. Each document project poses an interpretive question and provides a collection of documents that address the question. Altogether these document projects provide more than 3,950 documents, almost 1,200 images, and 900 links to other websites. They demonstrate that historical analysis is an interpretive process based on documents. Viewers of the site are encouraged to participate in that interpretive process. We usually add six new document projects or archives annually.
About 800 publications with 48,000 pages of full-text sources pertaining to Women and Social Movements in the United States. These materials have been selected by the Editors for their relevance to the focus of the website. We add 5,000 additional pages of sources annually. For a listing of full-text sources, go to Browse Bibliography and click on Full Text Primary Sources.
A dictionary of social movements and organizations.
A chronology of U.S. Women's History.
Teaching Tools with lesson ideas and document-based questions related to the website's document projects.
Book and web site reviews published twice annually.
Regularly-published news from the archives about primary sources in U.S. Women's History.
This collection consists of the diaries, journals, and narratives of explorers, emigrants, military men, Native Americans, and travelers. There are accounts on farming and mining communities, family histories, and folklore, providing a view of the region between Lexington, Kentucky and Winchester, Virginia, and from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania to Birmingham, Alabama, and the social, political, economic, scientific, religious, and agricultural characteristics of the region. 1700-1950.
For most people, Appalachia conjures up images of majestic mountains, old-time music, and a simpler way of life. Since its recognition as a distinctive region in the late 19th century, Appalachia has been a source of enduring myths and distortions regarding the isolation, temperament, and behavior of its inhabitants. Early 20th-century writers focused on sensationalistic aspects of the region’s culture, such as moonshining and clan feuding, and often portrayed the region’s inhabitants as uneducated and prone to impulsive acts of violence.
Interweaving social, political, environmental, economic, and popular history, this new Archives Unbound collection chronicles three and a half centuries of the Appalachian past. Along the way, it explores Appalachia’s contradictory images that have shaped perceptions of the region as both the essence of America and a place apart.
This collection begins its story in the colonial era and describes the bloody warfare as migrants from Europe and their American-born offspring fought and eventually displaced Appalachia’s Native American inhabitants. It depicts the evolution of a backwoods farm-and-forest society, its divided and unhappy fate during the Civil War, and the emergence of a new industrial order as railroads, towns, and mining industries penetrated deeper and deeper into the mountains.
Throughout the collection, a wide range of Appalachian voices enlivens the analysis and reminds us of the importance of storytelling in the ways the people of Appalachia define themselves and their region.
This new Archives Unbound consists of the diaries, journals, and narratives of explorers, emigrants, military men, Native Americans, and travelers. In addition, there are accounts of the development of farming and mining communities, family histories, and folklore. These accounts provide a view of the region, which spans three and a half centuries and provides information on the social, political, economic, scientific, religious and agricultural characteristics of the region.
Very large primary-source collection in full-text and images on the social, cultural, and political life of the Anglo-American interaction with the world as represented in books, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, maps, diaries, photographs, statistics, literature, government reports, treaties, and other kinds of documents in both Western and non-Western languages. Content selected to avoid duplication with other online collections. NeCCO modules include introductory essays discussing sources and contexts.
ECCO provides full-text books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides, directories, Bibles, sheet music, sermons and advertisements in HTML and PDF. It delivers every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.
Early English Books Online contains scanned page images (GIF and TIFF) of virtually every work printed in British North America, England, Ireland, Scotland, and Wales, and and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. Coverages includes all subject areas with strong coverage in the humanities, performing arts, and education. Each is full-text searchable.
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.
Searchable and browseable portal to digital projects, mostly in humanities and history, at the US Library of Congress. Original formats include manuscripts, prints, photographs, posters, maps, sound recordings, motion pictures, books, pamphlets, and sheet music. 1400s-present.
Contains more than 18,000 digitized pages of eyewitness accounts of North American exploration, from the sagas of Vikings in Canada in AD 1000 to the diaries of mountain men in the Rockies 800 years later. Includes many digitized selections from the Draper Manuscripts collection of handwritten documents and news clippings pertaining to trans-Appalachian settlement in the 18th and early 19th centuries (which the VT libraries own in microfilm). From the library and archives of the Wisconsin Historical Society.
The Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA) is a core electronic collection of agricultural texts published between the early nineteenth century and the middle to late twentieth century. Full-text materials cover agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, animal science, crops and their protection, food science,forestry, human nutrition, rural sociology, and soil science.
The digital collections emphasize North Carolina and the American South. Topics include the experience of African Americans, the Civil War, the arts, economics, and politics. Documenting the American South (DocSouth), the Library’s award-winning digital publishing initiative, provides access to important texts, images, and audio files for the study of Southern history, literature, and culture.
Appalachian State University Digital Collections consists of rare and historic materials and are made available online through the efforts of the Belk Library and Information Commons and the departments of Special Collections, Technology Services, and Bibliographic Services. The materials digitized include sound recordings, oral histories, civil war letters, and images focusing on the Appalachian region, Appalachian State University, children’s literature, art, and theater.
The Digital Library of Appalachia provides online access to archival and historical materials related to the culture of the southern and central Appalachian region. The contents of the DLA are drawn from special collections of Appalachian College Association member libraries.
Hunter Library is committed to building regionally oriented, historically significant collections of broad cultural and research interest. A number of these collections are online. These digital collections provide a foundation for research, education, and humanities programming through their documentation of significant aspects of the American story.
including African American Newspapers collection. Cover-to-cover reproductions of 1,000+ US newspapers in PDF. You can restrict searches to article types (news & opinion, election returns, letters, poetry/songs, legislative, prices, advertisements, matrimony & death notices), dates/eras, region/state, and newspaper name. Notable papers include:
Full page images from 270 newspapers published in 36 states, including rare and historically significant 19th-century titles that are full-text searchable. Individual pages or entire issues can be downloaded as PDFs. This archival collection offers insights into African-American history, culture, daily life, and attitudes and like many newspapers, provides articles on all subject areas
Newspaper Archive provides page-image archives of newspapers is especially strong in coverage of suburban, small-city, and rural newspapers, with coverage extending from the colonial era to the present in some cases.
This database has very wide scope but its interface lacks the powerful search tools and requires more manual work than newspaper archives from academic library vendors like Readex, Gale, and ProQuest. Do not confuse this package with the Access World News database from Newsbank, which focuses on news sources worldwide, mostly in plain text, from the past few decades.
Cross-search these ProQuest Historical Newspapers from this main link or select one at a time. Each paper is available cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF format. Search options include front pages, articles, editorials, photos, advertisements, wedding and engagement announcements, cartoons, birth and death announcements, reviews, and more. Some papers add content annually behind a "rolling wall" several years before the present. See the library's journal finder for later content -- typically without illustrations or ads; remember that newspapers merge and/or change names,
Free, searchable facsimiles of US newspapers published 1836-1922 and scanned from historic newspaper collections in each state. Search options are not as refined as commercial newspaper archives from Readex, ProQuest, or Gale.
Associated Press Collections provide primary sources in journalism from the world's oldest wire service. AP's U.S. City Bureau collection has wire copy, correspondence, and newsletters from the post-WW2 period. The Washington, DC Bureau Collection has records covering presidents, elections, political events, and biographies for 1938-2009. You can visualize term frequencies. Cross-searchable with other archival collections in Gale's Primary Sources [Artemis] portal.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers provides full-text primary source newspapers as page images with individual articles as PDF. It encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration, and Antebellum-era life. You can limit searches to thematic sections. 1800-1899. Also searchable in Gale's Artemis Primary Sources portal.
Browse, search, and retrieve full page images of Harper's Weekly, which chronicles the events of the American Civil War and reconstruction years. Page images are JPG; full text is HTML and PDF. Harper’s Weekly is a consistent, comprehensive, week-to-week chronological record of what happened worldwide in the last half of the nineteenth century.
In addition to the manually created Thesaurus-based index, HarpWeek has had the Full-text of Harper's Weekly typed and entered into an additional database. Clients now have another way to explore the nineteenth century.
The content is full-text searchable. If "Haiti" doesn't show up in Searchable Full-text, try it in the Thesaurus-based index; (it was spelled "Hayti" in the nineteenth century). If First Lieutenant J. E. Tuthill doesn't appear in the Thesaurus-based index, try him in Searchable Full-text.
Harper's Weekly is a consistent, comprehensive, week-to-week chronological record of what happened worldwide in the last half of the nineteenth century. Harper's was aimed at the middle and upper socio-economic classes, and tried not to print anything that it considered unfit for the entire family to read. In addition to the importance of illustrations and cartoons by artists like Winslow Homer and Thomas Nast, the paper's editorials played a significant role in shaping and reflecting public opinion from the start of the Civil War to the end of the century. George William Curtis, who was editor from 1863 until his death in 1892, was its most important editorial writer.
From its founding in 1857 until the Civil War broke out in April 1861, the publication took a moderate editorial stance on slavery and related volatile issues of the day. It had substantial readership in the South, and wanted to preserve the Union at all costs. Some critics called it "Harper's Weakly."
Harper's Weekly would have preferred William Seward or possibly even Stephen Douglas for president in 1860, and was lukewarm towards Lincoln early in his administration. When war came, however, its editorials embraced Lincoln, preservation of the Union, and the Republican Party. Military coverage became paramount in every issue, as its news and illustrations kept soldiers at the various fronts and their loved ones at home up to date on the details of the fighting.
The following quotation from the April 1865 issue of the North American Review shows how a leading peer publication viewed the wartime contributions of Harper's Weekly.
"Its vast circulation, deservedly secured and maintained by the excellence and variety of its illustrations of the scenes and events of the war, as well as by the spirit and tone of its editorials, has carried it far and wide. It has been read in city parlors, in the log hut of the pioneer, by every camp-fire of our armies, in the wards of our hospitals, in the trenches before Petersburg, and in the ruins of Charleston; and wherever it has gone, it has kindled a warmer glow of patriotism, it has nerved the hearts and strengthened the arms of the people, and it has done its full part in the furtherance of the great cause of the Union, Freedom, and the Law."
After the war, Harper's Weekly continued to be a major factor in Ulysses Grant's presidential victories in 1868 and 1872, the overthrow of New York City political boss William Tweed in 1871 and the first election of Grover Cleveland in 1884. Its circulation exceeded 100,000, peaking at 300,00 on occasion, while readership probably exceeded half a million people.
Search synopses of literary works within Harper's Weekly
Throughout the course of its run, Harper's Weekly featured nearly 2,700 fictional works. HarpWeek indexers have summarized many of these works in the form of Literary Synopses. Using HarpWeek's Synopsis feature, you can access these indexer-authored summaries. Serialized works, that is, works that spanned multiple issues of Harper's Weekly, can be accessed by installment from a convenient summary document. Using HarpWeek's search features, you can find text or phrases within these summaries and then be directed to the original work as it first appeared within Harper's Weekly.
Independent Voices provides alternative press newspapers and magazines, in image and PDF formats, from the last half of the 20th century.
Independent Voices is composed of seven series that align with the major social movements of the time.
The GI Underground Press Series was developed in collaboration with the GI Press Project. It is the most comprehensive collection of digitized GI underground newspapers and newsletters ever compiled. Adding to the value of the series is its placement in the context of the hundreds of other underground press publications published during the same period. GI underground publications could be found on military bases, in coffeehouses, and in other places where GI’s gathered in the U.S. and around the world in every branch of the military. The GI underground press covered many topics, including military indoctrination, seemingly arbitrary rules and regulations, racism, sexism, the bounds of power and authority, legitimacy of U.S. involvement in Southeast Asia, the military as an institution, and the definition of “enemy.” The content was creative and diverse. In addition to news articles and editorials, publications included fiction, poetry, cartoons, letters to the editor, and more.
Throughout the twentieth century, literary magazines were a primary means for sharing new writing and forming literary communities. “Little magazines,” as they are often called, were usually noncommercial in nature and often committed to certain literary ideals. Nearly every literary movement of the 1950s to 1980s began or evolved in the pages of these magazines. Focusing primarily on poetry but also including fiction and criticism, this collection reflects many often-overlapping groups and communities, including writers and editors affiliated with the Beat Generation, the Black Arts Movement, Black Mountain, the Deep Image movement, the New York School, San Francisco Renaissance, Surrealism, visual and concrete poetries, L=A=N=G=U=A=G=E, and the Kootenay School of Writing.
Underground, alternative, and literary newspapers and magazines from the fifties through the eighties were everywhere. They were in urban, suburban, rural, ghetto, barrio, tribal, and other communities in every U.S. state and in countries around the world. Reveal Digital’s Independent Voices is the most extensive digital collection of these historic publications that has ever been conceptualized and created. The Campus Underground series includes publications that originated from college and university campuses and surrounding communities. Whether laid out in traditional black and white straight columns or full-color psychedelic, the publications in this collection provide a vivid mosaic of the times.
Two of Independent Voices most important series are the Feminist Periodicals and LGBT Periodicals. Sourced largely from Duke University’s Sallie Bingham Center and Northwestern University’s Deering Library, these closely related series include cover-to-cover complete runs of over 120 women’s papers. These publications sparked the women’s movement in the fifties and early sixties and propelled the second wave of feminism in the late sixties and early seventies. Groups represented by these publications include the Redstockings, New York Radical Women, Daughters of Bilitis, Chicago Women’s Liberation Union, The Furies, Third World Women’s Alliance and many others.
Making of America (19th Century in Print)
Making of America is a digital library of primary sources in US social history from the antebellum period through Reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. MoA collection is split between Cornell and the University of Michigan; each collection is searchable and browseable.
MoA (Cornell). Approximately 270 books (including Civil War official histories), 22 magazines/~100,000 articles, published 1840-1900. (Cornell MOA is hosted by HathiTrust.)
MoA (Michigan). Approximately 10,000 books and 13 magazines/~50,000 articles, published 1850-1877. MoA was an early project to digitize historical print documents. The quality of its scans may not meet today's expectations.
APS indexes over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including scholarly, special interest, and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals. Covers all academic disciplines including the sciences, though news and literary magazines are most prevalent. An excellent source of primary documents. Full text provided in HTML and PDF.
AAS Historical Periodicals Collection contains more than 6,500 historical periodical titles, 1684-1912. The collection is grouped in 5 chronological series that can be searched together or separately. Collection also includes "Dictionary of Pre-19th Century Terms & Definitions," "Overview Essays" (reviews and summaries written by prominent historians who have used the specified collection for historical research), and detailed citation help.
Will shift to the user-friendlier Gale Primary Sources platfrom in 2019.
Cover to cover coverage in full-page images. Cross-search all magazines in full text (including words in advertising) using the familiar EbscoHost search interface.
Architectural Digest Magazine Archive (1920-2011. ISSN: 2163-3819). Monthly international design magazine features beautiful photography and information on architecture and interior design, art and antiques, travel destinations, and extraordinary products.
Forbes Magazine Archive (1917-2000. ISSN: 0015-6914). Bi-weekly business magazine.
Life Magazine Archive (1936-2000. ISSN: 0024-3019). Complete run of the popular magazine that defined American photojournalism: national and world news, culture, lifestyle reporting, long feature articles, all heavily illustrated, including work by celebrated photographers.
National Review Archive (1955-present. ISSN: 0024-3019). Influential opinion magazine has been at the center of US conservative political and cultural discourse since the 1950s.
To restrict your search by publication, change the search field menu to sources (SO= ), and enter the name of the magazine. Clicking on the article title in the search results box may appear to produce nothing; select PDF Full Text option in a record to view that item. Browsing is difficult in the Ebsco platform. It is easier to search the library's journal-title database for the bold-faced title or ISSN in the list above, select the magazine archive version, then pick publication year and drill down to an issue's table of contents to pick the article. To browse directly from one article to another, use PDF link in the left sidebar to browse through an issue in five-page increments or to navigate to another issue.
Searchable and browseable, full-page, color scans of both Smithsonian Magazine (1970-2010) and Air & Space Smithsonian (1986-2010) reflect the broad scientific, historical, and cultural range of the namesake institution. This digital archive parallels and serves same functions as National Geographic Archive, providing complete, full-color page images. Cross-searchable with other archival collections in Gale's Primary Sources [Artemis] portal.
Weekly political news magazine featuring in-depth reporting on public policy, politics, congressional legislation, and elections extending back to 1983, including: a complete wrap-up of news on Congress, the status of bills in play, behind-the-scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates, and all roll-call votes.
Begun in 1923 as a service providing background information and pro/con arguments for American editorial writers, CQ Researcher Plus Archive is a window on hot topics in public life across the 20th century as well as a tool to make sense of today's controversies. It can function as starting point for background information, search terms, and topics to use in searching archived journalistic sources. Language and viewpoints in archived reports are products of their time and culture; a browseable "issue tracker" allow you to connect historical and recent discussions without needing to know or use obscure and possibly offensive search terms. Part of CQ Press Library collection of political news and reference works.
Historical imprints (mostly US) and maps in full page image
Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, Bibliotheca Americana, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials, and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions, and much more. Cross-searchable with other archival collections in Gale's Primary Sources [Artemis] portal.
Covering 1639-1819, these “imprints” include many genres of works, often informally published for local consumption, including broadsides, handbills, pamphlets, sermons, sheet music, maps, almanacs, and more. Database includes browsing and searching by genre, topic, place of publication, language. Page images available in PDF, JPEG, or TIFF. This database is bibliographies sometimes called "Evans," "Shaw-Shoemaker," or "Early American Imprints" after its pre-digital components. Cross-searchable with other Readex historical publications in Readex AllSearch.
Also known as Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 and Series II, Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819. Contains virtually every known book, pamphlet and broadside published in America between 1640 and the first two decades of the 19th century—more than 75,000 printed items in all. Based on renowned bibliographies by Charles Evans and Roger Bristol and by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker.
VT has coverage for Virginia and District of Columbia only. Uniform series of large-scale maps, starting in the mid-19th century, depicting the commercial, industrial, and residential sections of towns and cities in Virginia and Washington, DC, in original color schemes. Useful to urban specialists, social historians, architects, geographers, genealogists, local historians, planners, and environmentalists. Map data include the outline of each building; size, shape, and construction materials; functions of structures; locations of windows and doors; street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, and house and block numbers. Displays images in the browser using a plugin for zooming and scrolling.
FIMO replaces the subscription to black-and-white Sanborn Maps for Virginia and DC from ProQuest. Access to many Sanborn maps of other parts of the US is available from the Library of Congress.