Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library of Material Culture: Additional Resources

 

Related Resources

Archives of American Art

"Founded at the Detroit Institute of Arts in 1954, the Archives of American Art collects, preserves, and makes available primary sources documenting the history of the visual arts in the United States."

The Design Museum

"The Design Museum is the only place in the UK where the design industry, education and the public can come together to change the way people think about themselves and the future."

Industrial Design Archives Project (IDAP)

"The Industrial Design Archives Project (IDAP) is an attempt to consider industrial design products, particularly household appliances, as a key element in shaping post-war Japanese lifestyles, social trends, and values. It sets out to accumulate official records (product information) and memories (oral histories), to inspire analysis and research from fresh perspectives, and to encourage use in ways that contribute to our future."

International Archive of Women in Architecture

"The International Archive of Women in Architecture (IAWA) was established in 1985 as a joint program of the College of Architecture and Urban Studies and the University Libraries at Virginia Tech. The purpose of the Archive is to document the history of women's contributions to the built environment by collecting, preserving, and providing access to the records of women's architectural organizations and the professional papers of women architects, landscape architects, designers, architectural historians and critics, and urban planners."

New York School of Interior Design Archives and Special Collections

"The NYSID Interior Design Special Collections is comprised of the archives of designers or design firms and currently includes the following: the Yale R. Burge Antiques and Interiors Collection, which includes materials created by and related to the business of Yale R. Burge Antiques, Inc. (1955-2013) a renowned, New York city based purveyor of antique furniture, décor and select furniture reproductions; the Joseph Grusczak, ASID & William DeGraff Archival Collection, which contains materials created by and related to Grusczak Associates, Inc., an interior design firm that worked on projects ranging from high-end residential homes to large-scale projects for the InterContinental Hotel group, and whose namesake, Joseph Grusczak, is an alumnus (Design Diploma, 1956); the Sarah Tomerlin Lee Collection, comprised of the business and personal papers related to the prolific career of Sarah Tomerlin Lee, President of Tom Lee Ltd.; and the Neal A. Prince Special Collection and Archives, documenting Mr. Prince’s interior design and branding for InterContinental Hotels from 1961-1986.  In 2015, Mr. John Rouse, publisher of Contract and Interiors magazines, donated the entire back files of these two titles to the NYSID Interior Design Special Collections.  Most recently, the NYSID Archives & Special Collections was pleased to accept the Joann Nelsen Collection, a collection of hand-painted textile and wallcovering designs by Joann Nelsen (1937 – 2013). Joann Nelsen designed for companies including Schumacher, Waverly, and First Editions, and established her own design collective, Half Drop Designs."

Parsons The New School for Design

"The specialized holdings of each collection include a wealth of books, journals, scores, sound and video recordings (feature films, television programs, and musical performances), archival materials, rare artist’s books, and visual images that are available to the university community (archival collections are also available to the general public)."

 

Related Databases 

Below is a list of library databases that can aid in industrial design research. An exhaustive list of library databases can be found here.

 

Related Research Guides

Explore other research guides at Virginia Tech for information on related information sources.