Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library of Material Culture: Guide to Collections (A-Z)

 

Reference Services

For research assistance or questions about the LMC collections contact Cathryn Copper, Head, Art & Architecture Library at cathryn@vt.edu.

Compliance with copyright restrictions on use of photocopies and scans are the responsibility of the patron. The Art & Architecture Library reserves the right to refuse to accept a request to make copies or scans if, in its judgment, fulfillment of that request would involve violation of copyright law. 

 

Finding Aids

Materials are grouped into sub-collections according to their type or creator. The size of collections varies widely. The contents of sub-collections are described in finding aids which include descriptive documents that provide a biographical and historical context for the collection, an inventory of the contents, and important details about how to find and access the physical materials.  

Browse the LMC finding aids below.

 

Rare Books

The LMC holds approximately 500 rare books and reference books in its collections. These books are evidence of previous design scholarship and help contextualize collection's objects. They include biographies, memoirs, monographs about design, exhibition catalogs, trade journals, scholarly sources, and more. Publications related to a specific manuscript collection are identified in the collections' finding aids.

 

Rare books of particular note and value include: 

Bel Geddes, Dante Theatre (1st edition)

---Futurama (1st edition)

---Horizons (1st edition)

---Miracle in the Evening (1st edition)

H. Dearstyne, Inside the Bauhaus (1st edition)

Dreyfuss, Designing for People (1st edition)

W. Kandinsky, On the Spiritual in Art (1st American edition) 

P. Klee, Pedagogical Sketchbook (1st American edition)

R. Loewy, Industrial Design, (1st edition, 57 of 250)

L. Moholy-Nagy, Street Markets of London (1st edition)

---Experiment in Totality (signed by Sibyl Moholy Nagy)

L. Serafini, Codex Seraphinianus (1st edition)

Walter Dorwin Teague, Design This Day (1st Edition)