Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library of Material Culture: Furniture Collection

Furniture Collection

The library is fortunate to house a large collection of chairs by some of the most influential architects in the 20th century from Charles and Ray Eames to Mario Botta. We encourage students to have a hands on understanding of their construction by using the collection as functional seating in the library. 

The chair collection is a part of the larger Library of Material Culture.  More information about LMC can be found here.

MR 20 CHAIR

MR 20 Chair

Tubular steel with painted caning.
Ludwig Mies van Der Rohe and Lilly Reich, 1927


Further Reading

Ludwig Mies van der Rohe & Lilly Reich : furniture and interiors

Ludwig Mies van der Rohe : furniture and furniture drawings

Eames Design Orange Rocking Chair

Orange Rocking Chair

Orange colored seat in high quality ABS plastic. Legs made of metal frame with wooden runners.

Charles Eames, 1948


Further Reading

The world of Charles and Ray Eames

Eames design : the work of the Office of Charles and Ray Eames

The Herman Miller collection

Red and Blue Chair

Red and Blue Chair

Wooden art chair, red high back, navy seat, black arms

Gerrit Thomas Rietveld, 1917


Further Reading

The furniture of Gerrit Thomas Rietveld

Rietveld's universe

The complete Rietveld furniture

The Work of G. Rietveld, architect.

 

Tulip Chair

Coated aluminum base, glossy ABS plastic seat, fabric cushion.

Saarinen Group, 1940


Further Reading

Eero Saarinen : furniture for everyman

Chairs by architects

Paimio Armchair no. 41

Paimio Armchair no. 41

Continuous rectangular forms of laminated birch form the frame with the seat composed of a single sheet of bent plywood finished in black lacquer.

Alvar Aalto, 1930


Further Reading

Alvar Aalto furniture

Alvar & Aino Aalto : design

Alvar Aalto : the mark of the hand

Barstool with backrest

Beech plywood 

Alvar Aalto, 1933


Further Reading

Alvar Aalto furniture

Alvar & Aino Aalto : design

Alvar Aalto : the mark of the hand

Wassily Style Chair

Wassily Style Chair

Tubular steel and polished chrome frame with black leather arm slings and cowhide seat and back.

Marcel Breuer, 1925


Further Reading

Marcel Breuer : design and architecture

Marcel Breuer, furniture and interiors

Marcel Breuer, architect and designer

Eames DCM (Dining Chair Metal)

Eames DCM (Dining Chair Metal)

Wood seat and back with metal legs and frame. 

Charles Eames, 1946


Further Reading

The world of Charles and Ray Eames

Eames design : the work of the Office of Charles and Ray Eames

The Herman Miller collection

Club Chair no. B3 "Wassily Chair"

Tubular steel and polished chrome frame with black leather arms, seat and back.

Marcel Breuer, 1925


Further Reading

Marcel Breuer : design and architecture

Marcel Breuer, furniture and interiors

Marcel Breuer, architect and designer

Barcelona Chair

Barcelona Chair

Chrome on steel frame with leather cushions filled with foam.
Ludwig Mies van Der Rohe and Lilly Reich, 1929


Further Reading

Ludwig Mies van der Rohe & Lilly Reich : furniture and interiors

Ludwig Mies van der Rohe : furniture and furniture drawings

DKR-2 Chair

DKR-2 Chair

Orange bikini pads on black Eiffel metal base.

Charles and Ray Eames for Herman Miller, 1951


Further Reading

The world of Charles and Ray Eames

Eames design : the work of the Office of Charles and Ray Eames

The Herman Miller collection

C'esca Chair

C'esca Chair

Tubular steel and polished chrome frame with caining on seat and back.

Marcel Breuer, 1928


Further Reading

Marcel Breuer : design and architecture

Marcel Breuer, furniture and interiors

Marcel Breuer, architect and designer

Kingswood School Auditorium Chair

Kingswood School Auditorium Chair

Metal frame with navy fabric seat.

Eliel Saarinen, 1929


Further Reading

A quiet grandeur : the architectural drawings of Eliel Saarinen

Eliel Saarinen : projects 1896-1923

La Tonda Chair

La Tonda Chair

Black steel chair with perforated seat and rounded tubular back.

Mario Botta, 1987


Further Reading

Mario Botta : the complete works

Chairs by architects