Chemistry: Recommended
Chemistry Subject Guide
Description
Chemistry is the study of the composition, structure, and properties of matter and the changes it undergoes during reactions. Some topics include elements, molecules, compounds, ions, pH, bonds, synthesis, and methods of analysis such as spectroscopy and chromatography. Students and researchers involved with analytical chemistry, physical chemistry, inorganic or organic chemistry, and polymer chemistry will find relevant resources here. Those in related disciplines such as biochemistry, geochemistry, chemical engineering or material science may also find this page useful.
Browzine
Engineering reference sheets
Some engineering material can be difficult to locate. These reference sheets give general information about the resource as well as instructions on how to retrieve the material from the Virginia Tech library collection.
Overview of Chemistry at Virginia Tech
- ACS Guide to Scholarly CommunicationThe ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication provides guidance on formatting references, plus gives details about the entire scientific publishing process and scientific writing style.
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
This link opens in a new window
Searchable and browsable ebook version of the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics. Interactive tables allow live sorting, filtering, and exporting of the data. (If you get a server error on access, clear your browser's cookies, and try again.) - JoVE Science EducationJoVE Scientific Education is a video library dedicated to teaching laboratory fundamentals through simple, easy to understand visual demonstrations. We currently subscribe to JoVE Unlimited.
- Knovel LibraryKnovel provides a large collection of ebooks on engineering and related subjects. Each chapter is presented as a separate PDF. The entire collection is full-text searchable, and many results include interactive tables. Includes tables of properties for over 13,000 chemical compounds. Knovel is also searchable through the Engineering Village interface.
Recommended Online Resources
- CAS SciFinder-nCAS SciFinder-n, produced by Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS), is a comprehensive database for chemical literature, searchable by topic, author, substances by name or CAS Registry Number, or use the editor to draw chemical structures, substructures, or reactions. CAS is a core research tool for chemistry, biochemistry, chemical engineering, materials science, nanotechnology, physics, environmental science and other science and engineering disciplines. Registration is required. For details, please contact Kat Brown, katbrown@vt.edu.
- CAS Analytical MethodsCAS Analytical Methods makes it simple to locate, compare, and understand analytical methods published in top journals. CAS Analytical Methods addresses the challenges that analytical scientists face such as time pressure, lack of process, lack of method details in literature and limited resources. Part of the CAS SciFinder Discovery Platform and uses the same login as CAS SciFinder-n. Registration is required. For details, please contact Kat Brown, katbrown@vt.edu.
- CAS FormulusCAS Formulus brings together the aggregated supplier information in order to compare and contrast supplier offerings. Formulations are indexed from patents and journals, then CAS Formulus extracts information specific to the formulation to show details, explore specific ingredients, and view source of the information. Part of the CAS SciFinder Discovery Platform and uses the same login as CAS SciFinder-n. Registration is required. For details, please contact Kat Brown, katbrown@vt.edu.
- ReaxysReaxys indexes citations, abstracts, full text, and cited reference for journal articles and patents in inorganic, organometallic, and organic chemistry. Search the usual text fields, or draw chemical structures to find matching citations. 1771-present.
- Web of Science from Clarivate AnalyticsThe three Web of Science databases index citations from journal articles and conference proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. You can perform cited reference searches, analyze trends and patterns, and create visual representations of citation relationships. 1900-present
- ScopusScopus indexes citations of journal articles, conference papers, and books in the sciences, medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities. You can perform cited reference searches. You can compare authors, institutions, and journals using various metrics. 1800s-present
- Analytical Abstracts from Royal Society of ChemistryAnalytical Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts of journal articles in chemistry. You can search for specific analytes, matrices or techniques. 1980-present.
- ChemRxivChemRxiv provides pre-prints of chemistry articles before they are published in peer-reviewed journals. 2017-present.
- Derwent Innovations Index from Web of ScienceDerwent Innovations Index indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text patents from 40 worldwide patent-issuing authorities. You can view concise abstracts written by subject experts, then link to full-text primary records of patents from a range of full patent sources. 1963-present
- IUPAC Standards Online from deGruyterIUPAC Standards Online is a compilation of the internationally-binding standards and recommendations for chemistry and related fields created by the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC). These provide authoritative information on chemical nomenclature, symbols, terminology, units, weights, measures, and similar scientific conventions.
- JoVE UnlimitedThis package is JoVE’s complete video library. It includes all research journals−Behavior, Biochemistry, Bioengineering, Biology, Chemistry, Developmental Biology, Engineering, Genetics, Immunology & Infection, Medicine and Neuroscience−and all sections of Encyclopedia of Experiments (Biology and Cancer Research). JoVE Education collections, such as JoVE Core, Lab Manuals, and all Science Education subjects−Biology, Chemistry, Clinical Skills, Environmental Sciences, Engineering, Physics and Psychology−is also included.
- Polymers: A Property DatabaseScientific and commercial information on polymers. Search by monomer, applications, properties (mechanical, electrical, calorimetric, solubility, or surface), or manufacturing process.
Ask a Librarian
Interlibrary Loan Services
All current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff, regardless of your location, may request through ILLiad for materials:
- not owned by Virginia Tech (books, articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)
- owned by Virginia Tech but are unavailable for use (print books)
- owned by Virginia Tech and available in print (scans of articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)
We ship requests via UPS to users outside the immediate Blacksburg area (Montgomery, Giles and Pulaski counties).
Articles, book chapters, and many technical papers are delivered in PDF format to your ILLiad account. Occasionally, due to copyright restrictions, a paper copy of an article or standard is held for your at the Newman User Services Desk or sent o the mailing address listed on your account.