Skip to Main Content

Special Collections and University Archives: A Basic Introduction: F. Special Collections Online

This guide will introduce the department of Newman Library that is devoted to collecting, preserving, and providing access to primary source materials.

Special Collections Online

General Information

Hours: 
Monday-Friday 8am-5pm & By Appointment

Contact us:
Email: specref@vt.edu
Telephone: 540-231-6308
Information for Visitors

Find us online!
Website: http://spec.lib.vt.edu
Blogs:http://vtspecialcollections.wordpress.com/
and https://whatscookingvt.wordpress.com

Staff

Aaron Purcell, Director, Special Collections and University Archives
Kira Dietz, Assistant Director, Special Collections and University Archives [appointment calendar]
Ren Harman, Oral History Projects Archivist/Project Manager, VT Stories
John Jackson, Archives Assistant
Alan Munshower, Digital Collections Archivist
LM Rozema, Processing and Special Projects Archivist
Jade Snelling, Collections Archivist
Amelia Verkerk, University Archivist
Anthony Wright de Hernandez, Community Collections Archivist
Kat Zinn, Project Archivist

Special Collections and University Archives Online

Special Collections and University Archives Online is our Omeka platform for digital content. Though still a bit quirky (in 2019), the site does provide digital images of collections or significant parts of collections, as well as digital exhibits based on materials held in Special Collections and University Archives. With links to a collection's finding aid, these digital versions of collections will also be indicated in the finding aids themselves.