Resources discussed in class

A Framework for Analyzing any U.S. Copyright Problem
Five questions for analyzing any U.S. Copyright problem. 1) Is the work protected by Copyright? (mine, someone else's, or is it in the Public Domain?) 2) Is there a specific exemption in copyright law that covers my use? 3) Is there a license that covers my use? (licensed resources, Creative Commons license) 4) Is my use covered by Fair Use? 5) Do I need to obtain permission from the copyright owner for my use?

In-Class Presentation

Staying Organized: When writing a journal article it is important to keep track of your sources so that you can properly cite quotes and ideas belonging to others. Likewise, it is important to keep track visuals works - and their Terms of Use - for your digital story. A simple spreadsheet or GoogleSheet such as this example may be helpful.

Essential Foundations of OER: Open Licensing. "Get Creative: On the origin and adventures of the Creative Commons licensing project"

Intro to Copyright, Creative Commons, Public Domain etc.

Copyright Basics (12 pages)
Copyright basics from the U.S. Copyright Office.
Frequently Asked Questions about Copyright
Information from the U.S. Copyright Office.
What are Creative Commons Licenses?
Creative Commons licenses allow authors to tell others that "Some Rights Reserved," which allows (with attribution) users to distribute and share their works, sometimes modify them, and sometimes for commercial gain. ATTRIBUTION IS REQUIRED.
Best practices for attribution of Creative Commons Licensed works (in specific media)
Learn how to attribute Creative Commons' licensed work in specific media.
Attributing Works with Creative Commons licenses
Four elements "TASL" are required for attribution: Title, Author, Source, License.
What does it mean when a resource is "In the Public Domain"?
more... less...

An important wrinkle to understand about public domain material is that, while each work belongs to the public, collections of public domain works may be protected by copyright. If, for example, someone has collected public domain images in a book or on a website, the collection as a whole may be protectible even though individual images are not. You are free to copy and use individual images but copying and distributing the complete collection may infringe what is known as the “collective works” copyright. Collections of public domain material will be protected if the person who created it has used creativity in the choices and organization of the public domain material. This usually involves some unique selection process, for example, a poetry scholar compiling a book — The Greatest Poems of e.e. cummings.

There are four common ways that works arrive in the public domain:
1. the copyright has expired
2. the copyright owner failed to follow copyright renewal rules
3. the copyright owner deliberately places it in the public domain, known as “dedication,” or
4. copyright law does not protect this type of work.

© 2005–2015 The Board of Trustees of the Leland Stanford Junior University (CC BY SA)

Open Education, Copyright & Scholarly Communications Librarian

Anita Walz

Email Me

Contact:

NEED HELP? Contact me!
Newman Library 422
Economics, Mathematics & Law Liaison
~ Assistant Director of Open Education and Scholarly Communication Librarian ~

540-231-2204

Subjects: Business and economics

Toolbox

Is it protected by Copyright or in the Public Domain? (ALA)
Is it protected by Copyright or in the Public Domain? (Cornell)
Conducting a Fair Use Analysis
U.S. Copyright law's Fair Use exemption requires a fair use analysis. This VT Libraries page links to U.S. Code and external resources useful for conducting a fair use analysis.
Finding & Attributing Creative Commons Licensed Images
How to Obtain Permission
(<2 pages) U.S. Copyright office publication regarding how to obtain permission. NOTE: No response from the copyright owner does NOT imply permission.
Finding Public Domain Works

ATTRIBUTION IS REQUIRED

Creative Commons Tracks are Free - When You Give Credit

Thousands of original tracks that can be used freely in YouTube videos, remixes, mobile apps, games, and more. Depending on which Creative Commons license the artist has designated, some tracks can even be used commercially (CC BY but not CC BY NC)! The only requirement? Attribution.

Allows Commercial Use Noncomercial Use Only

How do you Attribute?

1. GIVE CREDIT. Be sure to give credit in the video or app or game itself. Attribution is currency! For example, if you use cafe connection by morgantj, Attribute in the actual video or game or app:

Music "cafe connection" by morgantj featuring Morusque

2. LINK BACK. Attribution requires you link back and helps the artist get credit. For example, in the YouTube description field or on the webpage where you embed your video or have folks download your app, the Attribution link should like this:

Music "cafe connection" by morgantj featuring Morusque
Available at ccMixter.org http://ccmixter.org/files/morgantj/18947

3. NAME THE LICENSE. Include the type of the CC license designed for the track, and link to it. The examples above do that on the last line. This explains to others how CC licenses work.

Music "cafe connection" by morgantj featuring Morusque
Available at ccMixter.org http://ccmixter.org/files/morgantj/18947
Under CC BY license http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/

FOR EXAMPLE: This information is provided by CCMixter "Creative Commons Tracks are Free - when you give credit" CC BY-NC 3.0

Where can I find. . . .

Items with Creative Commons Licenses

Use CC Search to locate CC-licensed music, images, and more.

CC-licensed music for videos

CCMixter and YouTube instructions for remixing using CCMixter

Jamendo (music) (see terms of use for each album)

Folktunes Archive (music)

Items in the Public Domain

Books (Project Gutenberg) Terms of use

Music

Wax Cylinder Preservation Project (late 1800s/early 1900s) Follow licensing/terms of use. (CC BC NC 2.5)

Petrucci Music Library

Images, books, film, audio from The Public Domain Review (click on "Collections" for more options) [See: Public Domain Complexities ]

Find even more!

LibGuide for images and attribution

Multimedia: A Guide for HIST 5964: Copyright, Public Domain and Creative Commons for Multimedia ReUse

Resources discussed in class

Essential Foundations of OER: Open Licensing. "Get Creative: On the origin and adventures of the Creative Commons licensing project"

Intro to Copyright, Creative Commons, Public Domain etc.

Open Education, Copyright & Scholarly Communications Librarian

Toolbox

ATTRIBUTION IS REQUIRED

Creative Commons Tracks are Free - When You Give Credit

How do you Attribute?

1. GIVE CREDIT. Be sure to give credit in the video or app or game itself. Attribution is currency! For example, if you use cafe connection by morgantj, Attribute in the actual video or game or app:

Music "cafe connection" by morgantj featuring Morusque

2. LINK BACK. Attribution requires you link back and helps the artist get credit. For example, in the YouTube description field or on the webpage where you embed your video or have folks download your app, the Attribution link should like this:

3. NAME THE LICENSE. Include the type of the CC license designed for the track, and link to it. The examples above do that on the last line. This explains to others how CC licenses work.

Where can I find. . . .

Contact

Libraries

Follow Us:

Multimedia: A Guide for HIST 5964: Copyright, Public Domain and Creative Commons for Multimedia ReUse

Resources discussed in class

Essential Foundations of OER: Open Licensing. "Get Creative: On the origin and adventures of the Creative Commons licensing project"

Intro to Copyright, Creative Commons, Public Domain etc.

Open Education, Copyright & Scholarly Communications Librarian

Toolbox

ATTRIBUTION IS REQUIRED

Creative Commons Tracks are Free - When You Give Credit

How do you Attribute?

1. GIVE CREDIT. Be sure to give credit in the video or app or game itself. Attribution is currency! For example, if you use cafe connection by morgantj, Attribute in the actual video or game or app: Music "cafe connection" by morgantj featuring Morusque

2. LINK BACK. Attribution requires you link back and helps the artist get credit. For example, in the YouTube description field or on the webpage where you embed your video or have folks download your app, the Attribution link should like this:

3. NAME THE LICENSE. Include the type of the CC license designed for the track, and link to it. The examples above do that on the last line. This explains to others how CC licenses work.

Where can I find. . . .

Contact

Libraries

Follow Us:

1. GIVE CREDIT. Be sure to give credit in the video or app or game itself. Attribution is currency! For example, if you use cafe connection by morgantj, Attribute in the actual video or game or app:

Music "cafe connection" by morgantj featuring Morusque