Policy Map offers both extensive data and mapping options about communities across the US, especially for topics of interest for public policy. Data are aggregated from multiple sources and normalized to map across different geographical levels, from census tracts and ZIP codes to states. Data reports may be downloaded without maps. Policy Map also permits users to upload and map their own data. Focus is on information compiled since the early 2000s. For data more oriented toward business and commercial activities, try SimplyAnalytics (formerly called SimplyMap); for deeper historical coverage (necessarily with fewer variables), along with some non-US data and mapping options, try Social Explorer.
SimplyAnalytics (formerly called SimplyMap) is a web-based mapping application for non-technical as well as advanced users to create thematic maps and reports using a variety of US and Canadian data about characteristics of consumers, businesses, and markets. Sign is as Guest or with a personalized account. Data are aggregated from multiple sources and normalized to map across different geographical levels, from census blocks and ZIP codes up to states. Data reports may be downloaded without maps. Focus is on information compiled since the early 2000s. For data more oriented to public policy questions, try PolicyMap; for deeper historical coverage (necessarily with fewer variables), along with some non-US data and mapping options, try Social Explorer.
Social Explorer focuses on representing patterns in historical demographics of the United States since the first census in 1790. International coverage has less historical depth but includes recent census data from Canada and the UK, EuroStat's European Statistics, and the World Bank's World Development Indicators. The easy-to-use web interface lets users create maps and tables to illustrate, analyze, and understand demography and social change. In addition to its comprehensive data resources, Social Explorer offers features and tools to meet the needs of demography experts and novices alike. Complements the broader but recent US coverage in PolicyMap for social policy and the US and Canadian coverage in SimplyAnalytics (formerly called SimplyMap) for business.
Online tool for exploratory survey data analysis adn visualization. Project aims to make survey data easy to share online to explore collaboratively, and produces analyses that are accessible and understandable by non-experts. Begin analysis by creating/logging into a personal account. Tutorials include videos about conducting analyses and text instructions for formatting and publishing datasets in SuAVE.
Clearinghouse of webinars about statistical methods in social and behavioral science, specialized data collections, technical advice, user advice, and events at the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research. (Virginia Tech is a member institution of ICPSR, entitling current members of the university to access data and receive feeddiscounts in some ICPSR training programs.)
NICHE website is intended to provide a repository of resources and information for faculty from across the disciplines who are seeking to infuse numeracy (also known as quantitative literacy and quantitative reasoning) into their course instruction. Includes lengthy annotated directory Internet Resources for Data Analysis. (Directory includes links to subscription resources that may not be available to Tech users, or that my require you first to login on the VT library Off-campus Sign-in.)
SOCR provides portable online aids for probability and statistics education, technology based instruction and statistical computing. SOCR tools and resources include a repository of interactive applets, computational and graphing tools, instructional and course materials. From UCLA.
DA-RT encourages scholars in the social sciences to conduct effective and valuable research to increase scholarship's credibility and legitimacy through increased transparency and openness. DA-RT principles have been included in the editorial policies of more than two dozen political science journals that require "making visible both the empirical foundation and the logic of inquiry of research."
SAGE Research Methods indexes full-text books, reference sources, the "little green book" series (Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences), the "little blue book" series (Qualitative Research Methods), journal articles, and videos. Since this platform focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used by researchers from the social sciences, health sciences, and more. Full text available in HTML and PDF. You can limit searches by research method type. 1970s-present.
The Methods Map is an exciting and innovative visualization tool that can be used to discover relationships between methods, to discover new methods and to find content related to them. Underpinning the Methods Map is a new taxonomy of social science research methods, developed by SAGE, and containing over 1,400 unique terms.
The Methods Lists are lists of content within the product that our users have selected and want to share through this product. You can create your own lists, either for private use, or to share with others on the site.
The Little Green Books are our famous series, Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences. This entire series is available on SAGE Research Methods, with additional tools across the site to filter your search on just these titles.
Directory to the official style manuals as well as simplified digests for writing and citation in many academic disciplines. The scholarly societies that publish style guides revise their standards from time to time, so you should always verify which revision or edition your instructor or publisher prefers.
You have the same responsibilities to cite the data you apply in your work as you to do cite authors of books, articles, or creative works. ICPSR provides a basic format along with links to related resources.
Simply video, with text below, about steps in judging if a journal is an appropriate place for you to publish. Also handy reminders for judging if a journal at hand (or many other information sources) is something you would trust.
Citation is part of the larger environment of scholarly communication. This comprehensive guide from the Association of College & Research Libraries addresses scholarly publishing, copyright, broadening access to research outputs, research data management, open educational resources, digital humanities, and more