- University Libraries
- Research Guides
- Course Guides
- CNST 5084: Research Methods in Building Construction
- Building Construction Databases
CNST 5084: Research Methods in Building Construction: Building Construction Databases
This guide is intended for use in conjunction with the course: Research Methods in Building Construction. Visit the Art & Architecture Library website for access to specialized resources, hours, and contact information.
General Building Construction Databases
- ASCE LibraryThe ASCE Library contains the full text of journals (from 1983), conference papers (from 2000), standards (current and historical), and ebooks.
- ICONDAInternational Construction Database developed, coordinated and hosted by Fraunhofer IRB
Building Codes
- MADCADMADCAD indexes full-text building codes, evaluation standards, design standards, and technical bulletins from ASCE, ASHRAE, ASME, ASTM, FEMA, NFPA, and SMACNA, plus state codes from Virginia in HTML and PDF. 1981-present
- ASTM CompassASTM Compass is the portal for the ASTM full-text standards, technical engineering reports, journals, manuals, ebooks, and data series. These materials cover a wide range of engineering disciples: aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering. The site includes all current issues and backfiles of all ASTM journals, all symposia papers (published in book format as Special Technical Publications), and all ASTM manuals and monographs. The library also includes current and historical ASTM standards. 1931-present.
Building Materials
- Material ConneXionMaterial ConneXion provides full-text data on materials used in architecture, interior and industrial design, fashion and apparel, and landscaping. Materials include polymers, ceramics, glass, metals, cements, and natural materials. Processing and sustainability information, physical and usage properties, and manufacturers are listed.