Skip to main content

Virginia Tech History Resources and University Archives: Agriculture, Natural Resources, and Extension

This guide details resources intended to help those doing research on the history of Virginia Tech or using the University Archives.

Researching agriculture, natural resources, Extension, and related fields at the University

About Special Collections

New Theatre (the Lyric) and Store Building for the Blacksburg Realty Company
New Theatre (the Lyric) and Store Building for the Blacksburg Realty Company

Hours: 
Monday-Friday 8am-5pm & By Appointment

Contact us:
Email: specref@vt.edu
Telephone: 540-231-6308

Twitter: @VT_SCUA
Information for Visitors

Find us online!
Our website
Our digital collections
Our blog
Our LibGuide (Information about us and our collections)

College of Agriculture and Life Sciences

The College of Agriculture and Life Sciences (CALS) has roots going back to the beginning of Virginia Tech's history. When the university began as Virginia Agricultural and Mechanical College in 1872, it offered agriculture as one of its 13 "courses of study," what would today be considered "departments."


CALS University Archives and Manuscript Collections:


CALS publications:

Virginia Cooperative Extension

College of Natural Resources and Environment

The College of Natural Resources and Environments formed in 1992 as the College of Forestry and Wildlife Resources, but the college has its roots in the university going back to at least the 1930s, when the first courses in forestry and wildlife were offered.


CNRE University Archives and Manuscript Collections:


CNRE Publications: