Skip to main content

Vet Med Library Information: Accessing
the Collections

This page and corresponding tabs provide information about the Veterinary Medicine Library's resources, policies, services, etc. at Virginia Tech

Online Resources

Accessing print

  • Residing within the New River Valley
  • Other delivery options

Interlibrary Loan

  • For VMCVM / 
    VT faculty, students,
    and staff only

Accessing Online Resources

  • You must be affiliated with VMCVM / Virginia Tech (PID/password, 2-Factor) to access online resources remotely or when off campus (see below for more information)
    • If you are not affiliated, you are able to access online resources using a public terminal located within the Vet Med Library (see the "location" tab for directions) or at the main campus library, Newman Library.
  • If the database does not provide immediate full text access to a resource you found, look for the "Get VText" icon.  Click the icon to automatically search the library's holdings to locate a copy.

Off campus access
VMCVM / Virginia Tech faculty, students, & staff only

To access the library's resources from off campus, if you Google the database/publisher directly, the system will not know you are affiliated with Virginia Tech, so you will not be prompted to sign in to gain access to the materials the library subscribes to.

To receive the "pass through" links that will prompt you to authenticate (and therefore gain access) there are two primary options available:

  1. Start at the library's home page. Many resources require authentication to confirm you are affiliated with an institution that has paid the subscription fees for access.  By getting to the information source through the library's website, you will be prompted to sign in using your PID/password and 2-factor authentication. 
  2. If you are using Google Scholar, set up your "library links" to include Virginia Tech​ and the "Get VText" links will appear on the right hand side, which will grant you access to the library's online collections when you're off campus. 

​​If you need help, contact us at 540-231-6610 or VetMedLib-g@vt.edu for assistance.

If you reside in the Blacksburg and New River area: 
Accessing Print Resources

  • Except for materials on course reserve, the library book shelves ("stacks") are open for all patrons to browse. Books and bound journals taken out of the library must be checked out at the front desk by presenting your Hokie Passport. 
    • Virginia residents can acquire a borrowing card at any of the University Libraries locations.

  • Length of time for regular circulating materials are checked out based on your affiliation (see "borrowing privileges"), while special categories of materials such as unbound issues of journals, audio-visual programs, etc. are checked out by filling out a Special Permission charge-slip for each item. See "special materials" for more information.

Delivery of materials not housed in the Vet Med Library

Materials owned by the University Libraries, but not housed in the Vet Med Library:
  • All library users can request materials to be delivered to the Vet Med Library once you select the "place hold" option within the library's catalog ( note, you will need to login to your library account to place a hold):
    1. Pick up material at the Vet Med Library
      • Make sure the pickup location is set to "Veterinary Medicine Library" when you select the material you want sent over.
    2. Pick up material at another location: 
      • You can also change the pickup location when you place the hold. More information under "Delivery of Materials".
    3. FACULTY/STAFF ONLY: You can have materials delivered directly to your office through campus mail by selecting "Faculty/Staff Campus Delivery" in the dropdown menu when you select "place hold" option within the library's catalog

InterLibrary Loan (ILL)
For VMCVM / VT faculty, students, and staff only 
 

ILL offers two services, document delivery and requesting materials not owned by the University Libraries. 

Document delivery

  • Just need an electronic copy of an article or book chapter that we currently have in print or microfilm?  Request it through your ILLiad account to receive desktop delivery of book chapters and articles from the University Libraries collections. 

​Obtaining materials not owned by the University Libraries 

  • If we do not own the material you need (book, article, multimedia, etc.), you can request it through Interlibrary Loan. You can also set up your ILLiad account to have any physical items delivered to the Vet Med Library for pick-up (under "Change account information" make sure that the "Delivery Location" is set to Vet Med Library). 

If you reside outside of the Blacksburg and New River area: 

  • You must work or reside outside Montgomery, Giles, and Pulaski counties in Virginia to use the home or extended campus delivery service.
  • You can request any materials (whether owned by the University Libraries or not) through Interlibrary Loan.
  • You will need to set up the address in your ILLiad account so that any physical items are delivered to your home or work address.  These will come with a return mailer (no cost to you) to send back prior to the due date.  
    • To set up your address, select "Change account information" and make sure that your current address is provided and under "site"
      • If a VT-affiliated work address, select the location listed in the dropdown
      • For a home address (or a work location that is not listed) select "my site not shown"

Tools to help with research

Alerting services

There are several services that will alert you to new articles or that deliver the table of contents of journals directly to your email or RSS reader.
 

Citation managers

There are several different citation (aka bibliographic) managers available.  This guide will help you think about the features that are most applicable, so you can choose a manager that will best fit your needs. The library provides training and support for the following citation managers: