Becoming a Professional I: Introduction

Merck's Veterinary Manual 
Search for the assigned topic (try without the species first, add in if too many results appear). 

VetMed Resource from CABI
Search for the assigned topic and limit your search results to "datasheets" for answering some of the initial questions in the assignment.

Instructions for the assignment are posted in Canvas.

Groups will be assigned a topic to investigate.  

Examples will be provided in the videos posted in Canvas to complete the assignment. 

All files are to be submitted in Canvas, no late work is accepted. 

This section highlights the purpose of several types of information sources. It is not a comprehensive list, but is provided as a quick reference for the kind of information generally provided by that source. 

Journals

• Peer reviewed/refereed
  • Undergoes a review by other experts in the field prior to being published 
  • Language often highly technical, geared towards other scholars and researchers
  • Includes original research and review articles
  • Two higher levels of rigor are articles which are classified as "systematic reviews" and "meta-analysis" as they follow specific protocols as part of the research process.
  • May also contain content that is not peer reviewed (e.g. commentary, letters to/from editor, etc.)
  • Contains little to no advertisements
• Scholarly
  • An editorial board with subject expertise examines the article before accepting for publication, but the article submitted does not undergo a formal peer review prior to publication.
  • Language often highly technical, geared towards other scholars and researchers
  • Includes original research (primary source) and review (secondary source) articles
  • May also contain content that is not peer reviewed (e.g. commentary, letters to/from editor, etc.)
  • Contains little to no advertisements
• Trade/practitioner
  • Written for a specific audience in a particular field or industry
  • Language used generally includes specific jargon by those in the industry
  • Often includes articles that translate scientific findings to those practicing in the industry
  • Consists of one or more editors to manage the publication
  • Articles written by journalists as well as selected experts in the field, some listed as "anonymous"
  • Often includes several advertisements
• Popular/consumer
  • Written for general audiences, language in laymen terms
  • Consists of one or more editors to manage the publication
  • Articles often written by journalists, or listed as "anonymous"
  • Often includes several advertisements
• Newsletter
  • Often contains brief communications within a particular industry
  • Language used is generally for laymen though may also include somewhat technical
  • Articles written by someone within the association or board of the organization
  • May highlight/indicate impacts of a scientific finding to those practicing in the industry
• News
  • Written for general audiences and covers a wide variety of subjects/disciplines
  • Language in laymen terms
  • Generally brief, though some articles may be lengthy

Books

• University Presses & Academic Publishers
  • Content in books under this classification are often written and/or edited by experts in the field
  • Publishers have a reputation for publishing high quality works
  • Several textbooks are published by entities in this group
• General Publishers
  • Generally less rigorous (at least in the sciences) in acceptance of manuscripts for publication
  • Editors/authors may not be experts in the field
• Self-Published
  • Author pays a publisher to distribute his/her work
  • No review or regulation as to what is published in this model

Websites, Blogs, Social Media, and other "free" sources

• This includes any website, videos, images, etc. available on the open web
• Published by anyone, no level of review prior to content being posted
• Content (quality and quantity) varies greatly