Research Guides: Becoming a Professional I: SelectingDatabases

Core databases

There are three primary databases that index journals that relate specifically to Veterinary Medicine:

VetMed Resource
A subset of Cab Abstracts, this source includes veterinary information to support practice, based on evidence and continuing education. Eight tabs separated by animal type. with the ability to search across the database or within the specific topic.

PubMed from National Library of Medicine
Indexes citations, abstracts and full text from journal articles, case studies, conference papers, clinical trial reports, news reports, and reviews in the fields of medicine,nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences. Full text available in HTML and PDF. You can limit to types of clinical queries, age, gender and species of subject, and review articles that summaries research on a topic. 1946-present.

PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant Web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.

PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

A mobile version is available.
CAB Abstracts from CABI
CAB Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journals, books, reports, handbooks, conference proceedings, field notes, and theses in agriculture, life sciences, natural resources, veterinary sciences, applied economics, nutrition, tourism, and the environment. Includes the CAB Abstracts Archive. Some full text available as PDFs. 1910s-present.
Scopus
Scopus indexes citations of journal articles, conference papers, and books in the sciences, medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities. You can perform cited reference searches. You can compare authors, institutions, and journals using various metrics. 1800s-present
Agricultural Science Collection from ProQuest
Agricultural Science Collection indexes citations, abstracts, and full text of agriculture journals, conference papers, and government reports including bibliographic records from AGRICOLA. 1970-present.

You can also use the Veterinary Medicine subject guide. This lists out some of the key databases for veterinary medicine (some of which are also listed on this page) as well as some specific resources for each of the tracks of the program.

Additional databases

There are a number of other databases index journals that relate to other disciplines that also impact Veterinary Medicine (e.g. biology, agriculture, bacteria, etc.). This is not a comprehensive list, but provided to demonstrate how some of these may also be relevant to your particular research area.

Animal Health and Production Compendium from CABI
Animal Health and Production Compendium provides a compilation of information linking knowledge on animal health, disease, food safety and quality, and husbandry aspects of livestock and poultry production.
Biological Abstracts from Clarivate Analytics
Biological Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from life science journals and meeting reports. 1926-present.

HABRI Central
The Human-Animal Bond Research Institute (HABRI) provides a database to freely search for thousands of journal articles, books, and more for human-animal interaction content.

Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide from EBSCOhost
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text articles from journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and technical reports in the natural resources and life sciences disciplines. Full-text materials are available in HTML and PDF formats. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1900-present.

Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide indexes literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. Coverage includes more than 1.6 million bibliographic records many of which include abstracts. Most of the records in this database are from Wildlife Review Abstracts, formerly Wildlife Review. Wildlife Review Abstracts offers a global perspective and is the most comprehensive resource on wildlife information. Major topic areas include studies of individual species, habitat types, hunting, economics, wildlife behavior, management techniques, diseases, ecotourism, zoology, taxonomy and much more.