Veterinary medicine (subject guide): Recommended
Starting Resources

Veterinary medicine at Virginia Tech

Veterinary medicine is the branch of science that deals with the prevention, diagnosis and treatment of disease, disorder and injury in non-human animals. This subject guide focuses on providing resources to those in the DVM program at the Virginia-Maryland Regional College of Veterinary Medicine. The tabs provide additional resources for food animal, equine, mixed species, small animal, and public/corporate veterinary medicine.

Reference

eClinPath, from Cornell University
An online educational resource on veterinary clinical pathology.

Visual Guides of Animal Reproduction

Originally known as The Drost Project, this site provides a compilation of reproduction images of 7 species.

Merck's Veterinary Manual
For more than 60 years, the Merck Veterinary Manual (MVM) has provided veterinarians and other animal health professionals with concise and authoritative information on diseases and management of food-producing, companion, laboratory, and exotic animals.

Black's Veterinary Dictionary by Edward Boden; Anthony Andrews Black's Veterinary Dictionary has been a bestseller for over 80 years. It is an essential reference tool for all with a professional or leisure interest in the care of animals. Much more than a list of veterinary terms, its practical approach ensures that readers gain an insight into the signs and symptoms of common, and less common, diseases, their diagnosis and treatment. For the 22nd edition much new and updated information has been included, reflecting the numerous developments that have taken place in animal care and husbandry, and welfare. There is greatly expanded coverage of topics relating to popular breeds of dog and cat, and the inheritable conditions that might affect their health. Advances in medicine, surgery and diagnostic techniques; descriptions of newly identified diseases such as Schmallenberg virus; the resurgence of old scourges such as TB in cattle, and ongoing enzootic infections such as bird flu are included in this new edition. The growing risk of exotic diseases such as heartworm being imported following the relaxation of travel arrangements for dogs and cats is reflected in new entries. Notes on many new species being farmed or kept as companion animals are among the thousands of topics covered. Whether your interest is in cats or cattle, horses or hamsters, puppies or pigeons, the A-Z of veterinary matters is covered in Black's Veterinary Dictionary.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2015 (22nd ed) Earlier editions available online and in print

Recommended databases

CAB Abstracts from CABI
CAB Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journals, books, reports, handbooks, conference proceedings, field notes, and theses in agriculture, life sciences, natural resources, veterinary sciences, applied economics, nutrition, tourism, and the environment. Includes the CAB Abstracts Archive. Some full text available as PDFs. 1910s-present.
PubMed from NLM
Indexes citations, abstracts and full text from journal articles, case studies, conference papers, clinical trial reports, news reports, and reviews in the fields of medicine,nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences. 1946-present.
PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant Web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.

PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

A mobile version is available.
Scopus
Scopus indexes citations of journal articles, conference papers, and books in the sciences, medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities. You can perform cited reference searches. You can compare authors, institutions, and journals using various metrics. 1800s-present
Web of Science from Clarivate Analytics
The three Web of Science databases index citations from journal articles and conference proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. You can perform cited reference searches, analyze trends and patterns, and create visual representations of citation relationships. 1900-present
AGRICOLA from ProQuest
- This link opens in a new window
AGRICOLA indexes citations for journal articles, books, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, and technical reports pertaining to all aspects of agriculture, life sciences, nutrition, and environmental science. 1970-present.
AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) serves as the catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library, as well as a primary public source for world-wide access to agricultural information. The database covers materials in all formats and periods, including printed works from as far back as the 15th century.
VetMed Resource from CABI
VetMed Resource indexes citations and full text conference papers, journal articles , disease datasheets, book chapters, and bulletins in veterinary medicine fields. 1972-present.
Animal Health and Production Compendium from CABI
Animal Health and Production Compendium (AHPC) provides detailed information on agricultural and biological sciences. It contains datasheets (HTML and PDF) on livestock and the diseases that affect them, datasheets on food safety and quality, and datasheets on countries' statistical data on animal and economic production. A geographic database contains country distribution data for diseases and breeds for use with GIS software. 1910s-present.

HABRI Central
Search thousands of journal articles, books, and more for human-animal interaction content.

Head, Veterinary Medicine Library and Liaison to Animal Sciences

Kiri DeBose

Email Me

Contact:

Vet Med Library
245 Duck Pond Drive
Blacksburg, VA 24061

540-231-0495

Subjects: Agriculture, biological sciences, and natural resources

More about the
Vet Med Library's
resources and services:

guides.lib.vt.edu/vetmed

Interlibrary Loan Services

All current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff, regardless of your location, may request through ILLiad for materials:

not owned by Virginia Tech (books, articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)
owned by Virginia Tech but are unavailable for use (print books)
owned by Virginia Tech and available in print (scans of articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)

We ship requests via UPS to users outside the immediate Blacksburg area (Montgomery, Giles and Pulaski counties).

Articles, book chapters, and many technical papers are delivered in PDF format to your ILLiad account. Occasionally, due to copyright restrictions, a paper copy of an article or standard is held for your at the Newman User Services Desk or sent o the mailing address listed on your account.

Veterinary medicine (subject guide): Recommended Starting Resources