Veterinary medicine (subject guide): Equine
Coming soon!
A few key books to know about
Adams and Stashak's Lameness in Horses by
The Sixth Edition of Adams and Stashak's Lameness in Horses builds on the book's reputation as the classic gold-standard reference on equine lameness. Now in full color, the text has been fully revised and streamlined to improve user-friendliness, with a new, simplified format and a stronger emphasis on the diagnosis and management of lameness. A valuable supplementary DVD provides a complete guide to diagnosing lameness, offering additional anatomical images; video clips demonstrating key procedures such as physical examination, flexion tests, perineural and intrasynovial anesthesia; and examples of lameness conditions in motion. The Sixth Edition presents new or significantly rewritten chapters on the axial skeleton, principles of musculoskeletal disease, principles of therapy for lameness, occupation-related lameness conditions, and lameness in the young horse. The diagnostic procedures chapter has also been significantly expanded to reflect advances in this important area. Adams and Stashak's Lameness in Horses, Sixth Edition is an essential addition to any equine practitioner's bookshelf.
Call Number: SF959.L25 A3 2011ISBN: 9780813815497Publication Date: 2011
Equine Internal Medicine by
Develop an essential understanding of the principles of equine disease with this one-of-a-kind, problem-based resource! Extensively revised and updated with contributions from an international team of experts, Equine Internal Medicine, 3rd Edition reflects the latest clinical research in equine medicine and focuses on the basic pathophysiologic mechanisms that underlie the development of various equine diseases to help you confidently diagnose, treat, and manage patient conditions. Problem-based approach outlines how to apply the latest clinical evidence directly to the conditions you'll encounter in practice. Pathophysiology is emphasized throughout, providing a sound basis for discussions of the diagnosis, treatment, and prognosis that follow. Body systems chapters begin with a thorough discussion of the diagnostic method appropriate to the system, including physical examination, clinical pathology, radiography, endoscopy, and ultrasonography. Flow charts, diagrams, and algorithms clarify complex material. Extensive content updates help you improve patient care with up-to-date research and clinical evidence across the full spectrum of equine practice, including: New sections on biofilm ahesins, resistance to phagocytosis, and host substrate utilization New information on changes in body weight Recent findings on fibrocoxib and diclofenac Expanded and reorganized coverage of critical care New material on inborn errors of metabolism and acquired myopathies Detailed treatment information on various disorders of the reproductive tract A new section on toxicoses causing signs related to liver disease or dysfunction Bound-in companion DVD includes more than 120 high-quality video clips that guide you through procedures related to the cardiovascular and neurologic systems.
Call Number: SF951 .E565 2010ISBN: 9781416056706Publication Date: 2010
Equine Sports Medicine and Surgery by
Equine Sports Medicine and Surgery provides the most up-to-date, in-depth coverage of the basic and clinical sciences required for management of the equine athlete. The unique treatment of exercise physiology and training within a clinical context, together with detailed review of all diseases affecting athletic horses, makes this the most comprehensive text available.The book will provide a thorough grounding in the basic physiology of each body system, and in particular the responses of each body system to exercise and training, that will be separate, but highly relevant to, the succeeding sections on clinical disorders of each body system..The highly respected editors have brought together an internationally renowned team of 50 contributors, producing the ultimate reference for veterinarians, students, horse-owners, and all those involved in the world of equine athletics. "a signi?cant amount of practical information for use in the ?eld, as well as providing a sound scienti?c basis for therapy and understanding of the underlying pathology of the horse as an athlete." Reviewed by: John Bowers on behalf of Australian Veterinary Jounal, May 2015 High quality artwork, including relevant radiographic, ultrasonographic, CAT scan, and MRI images, aid understanding and diagnosis Provides a truly international perspective, including guidelines pertinent to different geographic areas, and racing jurisdictions In-depth coverage of the role of the veterinarian in the management of athletic horses Explores the use of complementary therapies
Call Number: Online OnlyISBN: 9780702047718Publication Date: 2013
Equine Surgery by
The most comprehensive reference available on equine surgery, this book prepares the veterinary surgeon for managing each surgical condition by understanding its pathophysiology and evaluating alternative surgical approaches. Explanations describe how to avoid surgical infections, select and use instruments, and perfect fundamental surgical techniques including incisions, cautery, retractions, irrigation, surgical suction, wound closure, dressings, bandages, and casts. World-renowned contributors include over 70 of the most expert equine specialist surgeons, each providing current and accurate information. Complete coverage of all information needed to study for the American and European College of Veterinary Surgeons Board Examinations makes this edition an excellent study tool. Section on anesthesiology and pain management prepares you to manage these critical aspects of any surgery. Extensive, up-to-date orthopedic coverage includes joint disorders and joint trauma. Section on integumentary system contains information on wound management, reconstructive surgery, and skin grafting. Section on the alimentary system covers postoperative care, complications and reoperation guidelines. New techniques in vascular surgery keep you current on best practices. The most comprehensive text on equine surgery focuses on diagnosis and treatment to provide equine practitioners with the information they need to effectively manage and surgically treat equine disorders. Broad collection of high-quality images that were taken by the contributors during surgical procedures to provide the best instructions for other surgeons. NEW! More clinical detail on treatment, diagnosis, and procedures offers more practical information for the general equine practitioner while providing an up-to-date resource for specialists. Minimally invasive surgery and regenerative medicine also have a more prominent role in this edition. NEW! Section on Diagnostic Imaging Examination includes chapters on Radiography, Ultrasonography, Nuclear Scintigraphy, Computed Tomography, and Magnetic Resonance Imaging. NEW! Completely updated sections including the Eye and Adnexa and Urinary System feature new authors and chapter content. NEW! Expanded section on The Musculoskeletal System includes all new chapters on Metallic Instruments and Implants, Management of Bursitis, and Postoperative Physiotherapy Surgery for the Orthopedic Patient. ALL NEW! Chapters on Regenerative Medicine, Chemical Restraint for Long Standing, Radiography, Ultrasonography, Nuclear Scintigraphy, Computed Tomography, Metallic Instruments and Implants, Management of Bursitis, and Postoperative Physiotherapy for the Orthopedic Patient bring practitioners up to date with best practices.
Call Number: SF951 .E62 2012ISBN: 9781437708677Publication Date: 2012
Robinson's Current Therapy in Equine Medicine (vol 7) by
Stay up-to-date on the latest advances and current issues in equine medicine with this handy reference for the busy equine practitioner, large animal veterinarian, or student. This edition of Current Therapy in Equine Medicine brings you thorough coverage and expert advice on selected topics in areas that have seen significant advances in the last 5 years. Content emphasizes the practical aspects of diagnosis and treatment and provides details for therapeutic regimens. Arranged primarily by body system, the text also features sections on infectious diseases, foal diseases, nutrition, and toxicology. With this cutting-edge information all in one reliable source, you'll increase your awareness of key therapies in less time. Key topics include all-new coverage of the latest developments in imaging, biosecurity strategies for individual horse owners and owners of commercial farms and stables, diseases affecting horses at various ages, and a review of colic and other GI tract conditions. A recognized panel of nearly 200 expert contributors represents thriving private equine practices, referral hospitals, and academia, and provides insight on challenges, developments, and differing perspectives from around the world. A succinct approach is used to discuss pathophysiology and diagnosis, but therapeutics are covered in detail. The Current Therapy format focuses on emerging trends, treatment protocols, and diagnostic updates new to the field, providing timely information on the latest advances in equine medicine. A body systems organization makes it easy to find solutions for specific disorders. Suggested readings at the end of each chapter cite peer-reviewed articles and other sources for further research and study. ALL-NEW topics provide updates on infectious diseases, including herpesvirus, equine granulocytic anaplasmosis, and lawsonia infection and proliferative enteropathy; pain diagnosis and multimodal management; management of thoracic and airway trauma, imaging, endoscopy, and other diagnostic procedures for the acute abdomen; and neurologic injury. 212 concise, NEW chapters include both a succinct guide to diagnosis of disorders and a detailed discussion of therapy. NEW images demonstrate advances in various imaging techniques. Thoroughly updated drug appendices, including all-new coverage of drug dosages for donkeys and mules, provide a handy, quick reference for the clinical setting.
Call Number: SF951 .C932ISBN: 9781455745555Publication Date: 2014- Current Therapy in Equine Medicine (vols 1-6)Call Number: SF951 .C932
A few Key Journals to know about
 |
Equine Veterinary Journal1997 to Present in Wiley Journals |
 |
Equine Veterinary Practice1989 to Present in Wiley Journals |
 |
Journal of Equine Science2008 to Present in PubMed Central Open Access |
 |
Journal of Equine Veterinary Science1981 to Present in ScienceDirect |
 |
Veterinary Clinics of North America: Equine Practice1996 to Present in ScienceDirect |
[Image from Wikimedia Commons]