Veterinary medicine (subject guide): Mixed
Practice
A few key books to know about
Anatomy of Domestic Animals by Call Number: SF761 .P37 2007 (2 volumes)ISBN: 0962311421Publication Date: 2007
Fowler's Zoo and Wild Animal Medicine, Volume 8 by
Logically organized by taxonomic groups, this up-to-date text covers the diagnosis and treatment of all zoo animal species and free-ranging wildlife, including amphibians, reptiles, birds, mammals, and fish, unlikely to be seen by private practice veterinarians. Featuring full-color images, the consistent, user-friendly format supplies information on each animal's biology, unique anatomy, special physiology, reproduction, restraint and handling, housing requirements, nutrition and feeding, surgery and anesthesia, diagnostics, therapeutics, and diseases. Global authorship includes multinational contributors who offer expert information on different species from around the world. "This is a welcome update to an invaluable reference series; a must-have for any veterinary professional working largely in the zoo or wildlife field, and also recommended as a reference text for the library of any practice seeing unusual species on a regular basis, even if they already have an earlier volume." Reviewed by: Charlotte Day on behalf of The Veterinary Record, Oct 14 Global authorship includes internationally recognized authors who have contributed new chapters focusing on the latest research and clinical management of captive and free-ranging wild animals from around the world. Zoological Information Management System chapter offers the latest update on this brand new system that contains a worldwide wealth of information. General taxonomy-based format provides a comprehensive text for sharing information in zoo and wildlife medicine. Concise tables provide quick reference to key points in the references. NEW! All new authors have completely revised the content to provide fresh perspectives from leading experts in the field on the latest advances in zoo and wild animal medicine. NEW! Color images vividly depict external clinical signs for more accurate recognition and diagnosis.
Call Number: SF996 .Z66 2015ISBN: 9781455773978Publication Date: 2015
Georgis' Parasitology for Veterinarians by
Georgis' Parasitology for Veterinarians, 10th Edition provides current information on all parasites commonly encountered in veterinary medicine. Its primary focus is on parasites that infect major domestic species, such as dogs, cats, horses, pigs, and ruminants, but it also includes coverage of organisms that infect poultry, laboratory animals, and exotic species. This edition features chapters that cover arthropods, protozoans, and helminths, including their taxonomy and life cycles, as well as the clinical signs, diagnosis, and treatment of each parasite's infection or infestation. Other chapters include vector-borne diseases, antiparasitic drugs, diagnostic parasitology, histopathologic diagnosis, and a new chapter on vaccinations. No other book on this topic is so well-respected and so thorough. It's the only parasitology reference that provides all the information you'll need! The most comprehensive parasitology book on the market, written specifically for veterinarians, provides complete information on all parasites commonly encountered in veterinary medicine, as well as information about minor or rare parasites. High-quality color photographs and illustrations make the process of identifying and treating parasites more accurate and efficient. Updated drug tables offer the most current information on drugs, vaccinations, and parasticides. Greek and Latin roots printed alphabetically on the inside front and back covers provide you with quick access to scientific names and terms. NEW! New chapter covering the use and development of vaccines against parasites keeps you up to date with what's currently happening in this area. NEW! Expanded chapter on vector-borne diseases provides more in-depth detail on this topic and places more focus on bacterial parasites. NEW! New diagrams illustrating the mode of action of the different classes of antiparasitics make the antiparasitic drug chapter more understandable. NEW! Updated protozoa chapter includes newer taxonomy to ensure you have the latest information on this subject. NEW! A new table in the arthropod chapter covering diseases transmitted by different ticks provides up-to-date information about these parasites.
Call Number: SF810.A3 B74 2014ISBN: 9781455740062Publication Date: 2014
Robbins Basic Pathology by
Robbins Basic Pathology delivers the pathology knowledge you need, the way you need it, from the name you can trust! This medical textbook's unbeatable author team helps you efficiently master the core concepts you need to know for your courses and USMLE exams. Get a rich understanding of all essential pathology concepts with expert guidance from an all-star editorial team. Grasp the connections between basic science and clinical medicine with clinicopathologic correlations throughout. Access information anywhere - from the coffee shop to the classroom - with full-text online access at studentconsult.com. Take your learning farther with targeted therapy boxes, clinical cases, virtual microscope slides, and self-assessment questions online! Learn core concepts quickly and efficiently with a highly templated design that highlights pathogenesis and morphology. New interior design with a more modern look Artwork revised and updated for a more modern look and more three-dimensional feel Targeted Therapy boxes included in online text - provides clinical information on appropriate therapy related to the disease under discussion All photomicrographs and gross photos reviewed and improved to ensure excellent quality A trusted title in the world of pathology, Robbins offers easy-to-access information that's concise and accurate
Call Number: RB111 .R6 2013ISBN: 9781437717815Publication Date: 2013
Slatter's Fundamentals of Veterinary Ophthalmology by
Recognize, diagnose, and manage a wide range of common ocular conditions with Slatter's Fundamentals of Veterinary Ophthalmology, 5th Edition. Covering small and large animals including birds and exotic species, this reference provides the latest, most practical information on structure and function of the eye, ocular development, pathology, examination and diagnosis, surgical procedures, ophthalmic pharmacology and therapeutics, and management of ocular emergencies. Nearly 1,000 color photos and illustrations accurately depict ocular conditions and demonstrate surgical techniques. Edited by noted veterinary ophthalmologists David J. Maggs, Paul E. Miller, and Ron Ofri, this reference is an essential aid to clinical decision-making, from differential diagnosis to medical and surgical management. Practical, clinically focused coverage provides a one-stop diagnostic guide to ophthalmic disease in small and large animals including birds and exotic pets. Logical organization by anatomic region makes topics easy to locate. Nearly 1,000 color images present illustrated, step-by-step procedures that guide you through the recognition, diagnosis, and treatment of ocular conditions you are most likely to encounter. A team of three internationally respected veterinary ophthalmologists co-edit this reference to provide comprehensive, clinical expertise. Useful tables and charts summarize important facts and show treatment instructions at a glance. Clinical Tips boxes offer helpful practice advice. NEW pharmaceutical therapies and procedural techniques provide the most current diagnostic and treatment methods. Extensive updates including the latest information on pharmacology, eyelid surgery, tear film deficiencies, and retinal disease help you provide the most current, effective care. NEW sections on ophthalmic diseases of chinchillas and guinea pigs provide expert guidance in the care of these increasingly popular exotic pets. NEW! Detailed table of contents describes the specifics of coverage in each chapter. NEW! Pageburst companion website makes the entire contents of the book fully searchable. Sold separately.
Call Number: SF891 .S53 2013ISBN: 9781437723670Publication Date: 2013
Veterinary Immunology by
Since 1977, this outstanding book has been the immunology reference of choice for both veterinary students and practitioners. It's the only complete resource on the subject, featuring a straightforward presentation of basic immunologic principles with comprehensive information on the most significant immunological diseases and responses seen in domestic animals. This meticulously updated new edition explores the latest advances in the field and provides a wealth of clinical examples that illustrate and clarify important concepts. Comprehensive coverage of vaccines and vaccine usage, allergies and allergic diseases, and autoimmunity and immunodeficiencies, prepare you for the multiple immunologic issues you will encounter in practice. A wealth of clinical examples clearly illustrate key concepts and offer practical strategies for diagnosing and treating immunologic disorders in the clinical setting. More than 500 full-color diagrams and illustrations visually demonstrate and clarify complex issues. Completely updated section on innate immunity includes new chapters on natural killer (NK) cells and systemic responses to infection to ensure you have the most up-to-date information. New information on genomics and molecular diagnostic techniques explores how the emerging field of genomics impacts disease resistance and immunology in general, as well as the diagnosis and treatment of immunological and infectious diseases. Updated content provides new information on well-recognized older diseases such as rheumatoid arthritis, systemic lupus, and inflammatory bowel disease, as well as current information on new diseases such as devil facial tumor disease and bovine neonatal pancytopenia. Expanded coverage brings you the latest knowledge on resistance to infection, such as vaccine usage, especially with respect to duration of immunity, the effects of key vitamins and lipids on immune responses, the effects of old age on immunity, and both antiviral and parasitic immunity. Diagnostic tests described throughout the text include a new section on the analysis of ELISA test data, as well as a brief summary of molecular diagnostic techniques. Coverage reflecting a significant change in the overall view of immunology provides you with the foundational knowledge needed to grasp the broad pattern of immunologic reactions and understand how the immune system functions as an interconnected network, rather than a series of independent pathways. New discussions of the critical importance of commensal bacteria and intestinal flora explain help you understand the importance of this normal flora with respect to antibacterial immunity, allergies, and autoimmunity, while at the same time providing a broader view of the animal body and its microflora as a "superorganism." A discussion of the importance of adipose tissue in immunity and inflammation addresses the epidemic of obesity in domestic pets and the extraordinary growth rates expected of domestic livestock. The section on inflammatory mechanisms has been divided into separate chapters focusing on the detection of invaders and the mediators of inflammation to incorporate the vast amount of new information on pattern recognition receptors and the ways in which they warn the body of microbial invasion.
Call Number: SF757.2 .T59 2013ISBN: 9781455703623Publication Date: 2013
A few Key Journals to know about
 |
Veterinary Clinics of North America: Exotic Animal Practice |
 |
Journal of Avian Medicine and Surgery2000 to Present in BioOne Complete
2008 to Present in Academic Search Complete
|
 |
Journal of Comparative Pathology |
 |
Journal of Animal Physiology and Animal Nutrition |
 |
Journal of Fish Diseases1978 to Present in Wiley Online Library
1979 to 2002 in Virginia Tech Print Copies
|
 |
Journal of Zoo and Wildlife Medicine2000 to Present in BioOne Complete
1989 - 6 year rolling embargo in JSTOR Life Sciences Archive Collection |
 |
Reproduction in Domestic Animals1990 to Present in Wiley Online Library |
 |
Journal of Veterinary Diagnostic Investigation1989 to Present in Sage Journals |
[Image from Pixabay]