Veterinary medicine (subject guide): Small
Animal
A few key books to know about
Clinical Veterinary Advisor: Dogs and Cats by
No other quick reference comes close in covering the diagnosis and treatment of hundreds of diseases in dogs and cats. Etienne Cote''s Clinical Veterinary Advisor: Dogs and Cats, 2nd Edition is like six books in one;-- with concise topics within sections on diseases and disorders, procedures and techniques, differential diagnosis, laboratory tests, clinical algorithms, and a drug formulary. Revised from cover to cover, this edition includes dozens of new topics. It also includes free access to a fully searchable companion website featuring an electronic version of the text, all of the book''s images, a searchable drug formulary, and 150 Client Education Sheets in both English and Spanish "... a whole new approach to this very comprehensive tool which should be found in every consulting room." Reviewed by Fabienne Dethioux on behalf of Royal Canin: Vets Today, July 2015 "If there is one book you should have in clinical practice, this is it." Reviewed by: Etienne Cote, Croatia on behalf of European Journal of Companion Animal Practice (EJCAP), December 2015 Six-books-in-one offers invaluable content, such as diseases and disorders; procedures and techniques; differential diagnosis; laboratory tests; clinical algorithms; and drug formulary. Consistent, easy-reference format of Section I: Diseases and Disorders features more than 800 topics arranged from A-Z for quick retrieval of pertinent information. Section II: Procedures and Techniques offers illustrated, step-by-step instructions for understanding and performing 118 important clinical procedures. Section III: Differential Diagnosis displays nearly every possible cause for 286 different clinical disorders. Section IV: Laboratory Tests summarizes essential information needed for interpreting more than 168 lab tests. Section V: Clinical Algorithms delivers 91 diagnostic and treatment algorithms, or roadmaps, that help guide students through the steps of clinical assessment and treatment planning. NEW! Thoroughly reviewed and updated Drug Formulary offers dosages and other relevant information for more than 500 medications, including dozens of new medications to keep students apprised of the latest remedies available. Technician Tips cover more than 800 diseases and disorders that are especially relevant to the tech''s daily experience in the clinic. Hundreds of expert international contributing authors ensure the information is the most accurate and up-to-date. 150 client education handouts are included online and available in English or Spanish. Consistent, easy-reference format of Section I: Diseases and Disorders features topics arranged from A-Z for quick retrieval of pertinent information. NEW! Dozens of all-new chapters keep you up to date on the latest topics, including: methicillin-resistant staphylococcal infections exercise-induced collapse of Labrador retrievers lymphoma rescue therapy acute coccygeal myopathy delayed postoperative hemorrhage in greyhounds phalangeal disorders benzodiazepine toxicosis carpal flexural deformity of puppies and kittens portal vein thrombosis fibrotic myopathy of the caudal thigh muscles iron toxicosis FAST/TFAST ultrasound exams urethral stent placement lipoma NEW! Clinical guidance has been added to diseases and disorders chapters to help you select appropriate tests and treatments for each patient. NEW! 148 bonus online-only chapters on less common topics or topics already covered in detail in other chapters provide additional information that''s available around the clock. NEW! 56 two-column tables in the popular Differential Diagnosis section includes the differential diagnosis list on one side and distinguishing characteristics and other ways of working through the differential on the other. NEW! Dozens of real-life video clips demonstrate important findings that static images cannot convey, such as characteristic lamenesses and ultrasound findings. NEW! Thoroughly reviewed and updated Drug Formulary includes dozens of new medications to keep you apprised of available remedies. NEW! Enhanced electronic image collection offers accurate depictions of procedures and clarification of complex concepts, particularly ophthalmologic and dermatologic conditions. NEW! Extensive cross referencing throughout the text offers quick access to all pertinent information through the linking of one chapter to another at junctures where they may be most useful.
Call Number: SF981 .C575 2015ISBN: 9780323172929Publication Date: 2015
Infectious Diseases of the Dog and Cat by
The definitive reference for the diagnosis, treatment, and prevention of small animal infections, Infectious Diseases of the Dog and Cat, 4th Edition delivers current, comprehensive information essential to the management of infectious diseases caused by viruses, rickettsiae, chlamydiae, mycoplasmas, bacteria, fungi, algae, protozoa, and unknown agents. Each section guides you through diagnostic testing for specific microorganisms, from sample collection to laboratory submission to interpretation of results, then details appropriate treatment measures and pharmacologic considerations for the various related infections. Full-color illustrations and hundreds of tables provide quick, convenient access to diagnostic and therapeutic guidelines, and thoroughly updated drug information helps you confidently administer appropriate dosages for the most effective treatment and prevention. The most comprehensive infectious disease coverage available helps you confidently address clinical problems related to infectious diseases in dogs and cats, and includes: Immunization strategies and environmental control of infections Immunodeficiency disorders Prevention of infection in multi-pet and shelter settings Immunocompromised people and their pets Vibrant full-color illustrations clarify disease features and modes of disease transmission for enhanced diagnostic accuracy and disease prevention. Convenient tables deliver therapeutic recommendations and drug dosages at a glance. Complete antimicrobial drug formulary provides fast, easy access to indications, recommended dosages, and pharmacologic considerations essential for all relevant pharmaceuticals. State-of-the-art diagnostic testing procedures help you ensure accurate diagnoses for all clinically relevant pathogens. Content reflects the expert insight and vast clinical experience of a panel of trusted authorities on small animal infectious diseases. Easy-to-use companion website provides convenient online access to additional images, tables, boxes, appendices, and references linked directly to original PubMed abstracts. Expanded coverage of zoonoses, zoonotic potential, and precautions helps you effectively monitor and treat zoonotic infections. Fully updated drug formulary reflects the most current pharmacokinetics, indications, contraindications, handling and administration guidelines, and dosage recommendations available. Updated content throughout the text details current diagnostic testing regimens and therapeutic and preventive considerations for all pathogens you're likely to encounter in the clinical setting. Special focus on disease incidence and susceptibility in traveling animals helps you alert animal owners to potential risks associated with pet travel.
Call Number: SF991 .I54 2012ISBN: 9781416061304Publication Date: 2011
Manual of Canine and Feline Cardiology by
The most effective, practical approach to the recognition and management of cardiovascular and cardiopulmonary medicine, MANUAL OF CANINE AND FELINE CARDIOLOGY, 4th Edition takes a user-friendly approach to the challenges and conditions you encounter in everyday practice. This completely revised and updated edition includes vital information on diagnostic modalities and techniques, therapeutic options, surgical procedures, and pharmaceutical management of the dog and cat cardiac patient. This invaluable, practical reference covers the full breadth of canine and feline cardiology diagnosis and management in a straightforward and clinically focused format. The latest coverage on common cardiovascular disorders and practical treatment methods addresses topics, such as: cardiac failure, cardiac arrhythmias, conduction disturbances, cardiopulmonary arrest, and more. Easy-to-follow organization separates content into three sections that build on each other - Section 1: Diagnosis of Heart Disease; Section 2: Cardiovascular Disease; Section 3: Treatment of Cardiovascular Disease. Extensive art program contains vivid illustrations, clinical photographs, and color Doppler images. Drug formulary appendix features a list of commonly used cardiopulmonary drugs, along with formulations, indications, and dosages (for both dogs and cats). Streamlined text, bullet points, and helpful boxes help to highlight the most important clinical content. Highlighted key points spotlight key information, diagnosis considerations, clinical tips and more. NEW! Genetic and Biomarker Testing of Cardiovascular Diseases chapter covers genetic testing for mutations associated with specific cardiac diseases and testing for circulating substances indicative of heart disease or injury. NEW! Nutrition and Cardiovascular Disease chapter focuses on the significant role nutrition can play in preventing or treating cardiac disease. NEW! Significantly revised Echocardiography chapter features the latest information on indications and the role of the electrocardiogram in clinical practice. NEW! All new doppler echocardiogram images in the Feline Cardiomyopathy chapter show the primary cardiomyopathies, including: severe hypertrophic cardiomyopathy, severe hypertrophic obstructive cardiomyopathy, severe dilated cardiomyopathy, severe endomyocardial fibrosis and restrictive cardiomyopathy, severe unclassified cardiomyopathy, and severe arrhythmogenic right ventricular cardiomyopathy. NEW! Section on hybrid cardiac procedures in the Cardiac Surgery chapter include image-guided catheter-based interventions with direct transcardiac (transatrial, transventricular, transapical) surgical approaches to the heart.
Call Number: SF992.C37 M36 2016ISBN: 9780323188029Publication Date: 2015
Muller and Kirk's Small Animal Dermatology by
Covering the diagnosis and treatment of hundreds of dermatologic conditions, Muller and Kirk's Small Animal Dermatology, 7th Edition is today's leading reference on dermatology for dogs, cats, and pocket pets. Topics include clinical signs, etiology, and pathogenesis of dermatologic conditions including fungal, parasitic, metabolic, nutritional, environmental, and psychogenic. This edition includes full updates of all 21 chapters, and more than 1,300 full-color clinical, microscopic, and histopathologic images. Written by veterinary experts William Miller, Craig Griffin, and Karen Campbell, this resource helps students and clinicians distinguish clinical characteristics and variations of normal and abnormal facilitating accurate diagnosis and effective therapy. Over 1,300 high-quality color images clearly depict the clinical features of hundreds of dermatologic disorders, helping to ensure accurate diagnoses and facilitating effective treatment. Comprehensive coverage includes environmental, nutritional, behavioral, hereditary, and immune-mediated diseases and disorders. Well-organized, thoroughly referenced format makes it easy to access information on skin diseases in dogs, cats, and exotic pets. UPDATES of all 21 chapters include the most current dermatologic information. NEW editors and contributors add new insight and a fresh perspective to this edition.
Call Number: SF901 .M84 2013ISBN: 9781416000280Publication Date: 2012
Small Animal Surgery by
The fourth edition of Small Animal Surgery serves as a one-stop resource for authoritative information on all aspects of small animal surgery. Coverage includes basic procedures such as spays, castrations, and declaws, as well as more advanced surgeries like craniotomy, ventral slots, and lung lobectomy. New contributors bring a fresh perspective and discuss the latest advances in key areas such as imaging modalities, regenerative medicine, minimally invasive surgery, and neurology. Access to a companion website provides a fully searchable version of the book, bi-monthly content updates, videos, aftercare instructions, case presentations, and a fracture planner. Well illustrated, step-by-step instructions for surgical techniques provide quick reference to practical how-to information in emergency and clinical situations. Coverage of cutting-edge imaging techniques, including radiographs, CT, MRI, and digital imaging, explores the most useful imaging modalities for demonstrating areas of surgical concern. Access to the continually updated companion website for the life of this edition includes: Bi-monthly content updates provide cutting-edge information on surgery developments Video clips of step-by-step surgical procedures Customizable and printable aftercare instructions Interactive Fracture Planner Case presentations Neurosurgery video clips References linked to PubMed Over 1500 full color images offer exceptionally clear representations of anatomy and currently accepted surgical techniques, including approaches and closure. Anesthesia Protocols offer easy access to recommendations for anesthetizing animals with particular diseases or disorders. Notes boxes call attention to specific data, offering at-a-glance access to key information. A new chapter on neurologic examination provides a solid foundation in neuroanatomy, electro-diagnostics, and basic MRI physics and principles, enabling you to perform a proper neurologic exam to detect problems in cats and dogs, some of which can be corrected via surgical repair. A new chapter on regenerative medicine provides the most current information on stem cell research. Differential diagnosis tables and boxes offer quick access to vital information, including how to avoid misdiagnosis of disorders that may mimic more commonly encountered surgical neurologic problems that are not actual disorders requiring surgical repair.
Call Number: SF911 .F67 2013ISBN: 9780323100793Publication Date: 2012
Veterinary Surgery: Small Animal Expert Consult by
Focus on the "how" and "why" of medical/surgical conditions - the critical issues that lead to successful outcomes for your patients - with Veterinary Surgery: Small Animal Expert Consult, 2nd Edition. Expert Consult website offers access to the entire text online, plus references linked to original abstracts on PubMed. Comprehensive coverage?includes surgical biology, surgical methods and perioperative care, neurosurgery, and orthopedics in Volume One, and all soft tissue surgery organized by body system in Volume Two. Extensive references to published studies?available on Expert Consult show the factual basis for the material. Strong blend of clinical and basic science information?facilitates a clear understanding of clinical issues surrounding operative situations. Highly recognized contributing authors create chapters from their own experience and knowledge base, providing the most authoritative, current information available. Coverage of anatomy, physiology, and pathophysiology in chapters on specific organs?includes information critical to operative procedures and patient management. In-depth chapters on anesthesia, surgical oncology, tumors of the spine, and musculoskeletal neoplasia provide valuable resources for practicing surgeons, especially in the area of cancer treatment. Preoperative considerations and surgical implications for surgical procedures help surgeons make decisions about treatment approaches. NEW and UPDATED! Expert Consult website with print text plus complete online access to the book's contents, so you can use it anytime - anywhere. EXPANDED! Coverage of interventional radiology techniques in Volume Two (soft tissue volume) to provide cutting-edge information on contemporary imaging modalities that gain access to different structures of the patient's body for diagnostic and therapeutic reasons. NEW and UPDATED! Expanded coverage of coaptation devices and small animal prosthetics clearly explains how they are used in a variety of clinical situations. EXPANDED! Principles of minimally invasive plate treatment added to Volume One (orthopedic volume) to show how these advancements maximize healing and protect the patient while meeting the surgeon's goals in using fracture fixation.
Call Number: SF911 .V48 2018 (2 volumes)ISBN: 9780323320658Publication Date: 2017
A few Key Journals to know about
This link will enable you to log into AAFCO - contact the Vet Med Library for account information.
American Association of Feed Control Officials
[Image from PublicDomainPicutres]