Veterinary medicine (subject guide): Drugs
& Toxins
[Image from Pixabay]
Drug Handbooks and Formularies
- Plumb'sPlumb's Veterinary Drugs is a digital resource for accessing up-to-date veterinary drug information. Plumb's is searchable by drug name, class name, or alias.
- Lexicomp OnlineLexicomp is a collection of content sets and clinical tools that provides users with robust clinical drug information. It can be used for both 'clinical' and 'retail' pharmacy applications.
Animal Drugs @ FDA
This resource is a searchable online database that includes most FDA-approved and conditionally approved animal drugs. Indexed animal drugs are not listed in Animal Drugs @ FDA.
BSAVA Small Animal Formulary by
Following the tried and trusted format of previous editions of the popular BSAVA Small Animal Formulary, Part B of the 9th edition covers small mammals, birds, reptiles, fish and amphibians. There are few licensed products for treatment of non-traditional companion animal species and this formulary draws on a wide range of published sources and expert opinion of common drug usages to provide a single referenced source of drug dosages for use in exotic pet species. * Explains the important differences in physiology and metabolism between the species groups that may make them respond to and process drugs very differently, the understanding of which is essential to avoid potential toxicity or lack of efficacy. * Appendices detail sedation and chemotherapy protocols for the non-traditional companion animal species * This formulary has been compiled by some of the leading species experts - another BSAVA product created by the profession for the profession
Call Number: SF917 .S642 2015ISBN: 9781905319824Publication Date: 2015
BSAVA Small Animal Formulary by
The BSAVA Small Animal Formulary continues to be one of the Association's most valued practical resources for veterinary surgeons. This new Part A, devoted to cats and dogs, has been fully reviewed and updated with 26 new drugs added, reflecting the extensive choice of products now available. Additionally, the protocol section has been revised and updated. This edition has been produced as a soft bound book, unlike the previous spiral bound editions, helping it to fit the lab coat pocket. Part B of the 9th edition is dedicated to exotic pets.
Call Number: SF917 S64 2017ISBN: 1905319959Publication Date: 2017
Exotic Animal Formulary by
The only drug formulary on the market created solely for the treatment of exotic animals, Exotic Animal Formulary, 5th Edition addresses the most common questions and medical situations encountered in clinical practice. Using clear, current recommendations on drugs, indications, and dosages, this text helps you find the information you need fast. It includes biological tables with details on therapies and diets, normal blood parameters of common species, venipuncture sites, differential diagnosis, and medical protocols for common conditions.
Call Number: Online, earlier print edition also available at SF917 .C27 2013ISBN: 9780323444507Publication Date: 2017
Formulary for Laboratory Animals by
Formulary for Laboratory Animals is an invaluable reference for treatment of laboratory animals and pocket pets. Drugs are listed alphabetically and categorized in five sections based on pharmacologic activity and animal species. This at-a-glance pocket reference is valuable for students and practitioners of veterinary medicine, researchers and laboratory technicians who prescribe or administer drugs used on common laboratory animals. The third edition includes a stronger international component, coverage of several new drugs, hundreds of additional dosages, and a thorough update throughout based on the most current research. The third edition also includes a chapter describing how to estimate drug dosages among species using allometric scaling methodology.
Call Number: SF917 .F655 2005 (1 day loan)ISBN: 0813810485Publication Date: 2005
Pharmacology by
Designed to help you learn and retain key information in pharmacology, this foundational text takes you from course exams and the USMLE Step 1 right through to clinical practice. Brenner and Stevens' Pharmacology, 5th Edition, focuses on the essential principles you need to know, in a concise yet comprehensive manner that's easy to understand. Highly illustrated and formatted for quick reference, it's your go-to text for the must-know aspects of pharmacology you'll need for clinical problem solving and decision making. Teaches the fundamental aspects of pharmacology using full-color illustrations, detailed explanations, and a consistent format to present classification of drugs for each system/disease. Features useful tables, drug classifications boxes, case studies, and self-assessments in each chapter to help you review and prepare for course exams and Step 1. Student ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, references, and animations, designed to produce a more rounded learning experience. You'll also find an additional glossary, chapter-by-chapter summaries and case studies, a full list of featured drugs, 150 USMLE-style questions, and more. Includes the latest pharmacologic mechanisms and applications with new and updated drug information throughout.
Call Number: RM300 .B74 2018ISBN: 9780323391665Publication Date: 2018
Plumb's Veterinary Drug Handbook by
Plumb s Veterinary Drug Handbook, Ninth Edition updates the most complete, detailed, and trusted source of drug information relevant to veterinary medicine. Provides a fully updated edition of the classic veterinary drug handbook, with carefully curated dosages per indication for clear guidance on selecting a dose Features 16 new drugs Offers an authoritative, complete reference for detailed information about animal medication Designed to be used every day in the fast-paced veterinary setting Includes dosages for a wide range of species, including dogs, cats, exotic animals, and farm animals
Call Number: SF917 .P58 2018 (Reserves)ISBN: 111934445XPublication Date: 2018
Saunders Equine Formulary by
A handy and portable guide to today's leading equine drugs, Saunders' Equine Formulary, 2nd Edition makes it quick and easy to look up drug information when you need it most - while you're in the field. And it's more than a simple formulary: this book also provides benchmark values on vital signs and normal values so that you can correctly interpret diagnostic tests. This new edition is the only equine formulary available both in print and as an app for mobile use. Written by a world-renowned expert on equine medicine, Derek Knottenbelt, this book is an indispensable reference for equine veterinary practitioners, veterinary students, and others involved in breeding and keeping horses. A listing of haematological, biochemical, physiological, and therapeutic data is contained in just one volume, designed with the final-year vet student and recent graduate in mind. Information on drug dosages and adverse reactions reflects manufacturers' recommendations in data sheets and literature inserts. Clinical Aids section provides highly practical advice and quick synopses for the most common scenarios likely to occur on a field visit, such as bandaging techniques, humane destruction, and restraint techniques. Practical, universal relevance is created by the use of SI units and generic drug names - making this reference useful to everyone working in the equine field all over the world, whether vet student or equine specialist. Practical, step-by-step instructions summarize principal diagnostic tests. NEW! A handy interactive app format allows extra-quick, point-of-care reference. NEW! A full-colour design includes more high-quality line drawings and adds photographs showing nerve block techniques. NEW! Revised clinical techniques section deals with the difficult horse and restraint methods, including field anaesthesia. NEW algorithmic approach updates and clarifies emergency procedures, wound management, disease control protocols, and more. NEW! Wound dressings and suturing sections are thoroughly modernized.
Call Number: Online - earlier print edition also available at SF951 .K59 2006ISBN: 9780702051098Publication Date: 2014
Saunders Handbook of Veterinary Drugs: Large and Small Animal (4th ed) by
Saunders Handbook of Veterinary Drugs, 4th Edition includes entries for 550 drugs, with convenient appendices summarizing clinically relevant information at a glance. New to this edition are 25 new drug monographs and easy access to drug content on any mobile device. Written by clinical pharmacology expert Mark Papich, this handy reference includes a companion website containing more than 150 customizable handouts with special instructions for your clients. It helps you find the specific drug facts and dosage recommendations you need to treat small and large animals, right when you need them! Concise drug monographs are organized alphabetically and cross-referenced by classification, trade, and generic name, providing quick and easy access to key information for each drug including: Generic and trade names, pronunciation, and functional classification Pharmacology and mechanism of action Indications and clinical uses Precautionary information - adverse reactions and side effects, contraindications and precautions, and drug interactions - all featured in colored boxes for at-a-glance retrieval Instructions for use Patient monitoring and laboratory tests Formulations available Stability and storage Dosage information for both small and large animals Regulatory information Clinically relevant appendices help you determine appropriate therapeutic regimens and look up safety and legal considerations. PapichDrugFormulary.com companion website includes more than 150 customizable client information handouts for commonly prescribed drugs, including information on the prescribed drug and dosage, do's and don'ts, and possible side effects. 15 NEW drug monographs familiarize you with the latest drugs available for veterinary practice. NEW! Access to drug content is available on any mobile device. UPDATED drug monographs include information such as new doses, interactions, indications, adverse reactions, and contraindications. NEW! Discontinued Drugs appendix makes it easy to reference drugs that are no longer in use, and provides suggested substitutions or alternative drugs.
Call Number: Online - Earlier print edition also available at SF917 .P36 2011ISBN: 9780323244855Publication Date: 2016
[Image from Wikipedia]
Toxins and Toxicology Resources
- PubChemPubChem is the world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more.
- TOXLINE from ProQuest
This link opens in a new window
TOXLINE indexes abstracts and citations from journal articles, conference proceedings, book reviews, news articles, and technical reports in the fields of toxicology, chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, mutagens, teratogens. This version of TOXLINE does not contain information from Chemical Abstracts Service, BIOSIS, or International Pharmaceutical Abstracts. 2000-present.
Veterinary Toxicology by
Veterinary Toxicology, 2nd Edition, is a unique single reference that teaches the basic principles of veterinary toxicology and builds upon these principles to offer an essential clinical resource for those practicing in the field. This new edition brings together insights from qualified and well-experienced authorities across all areas of veterinary toxicology to provide an authoritative and in-depth look at all facets of veterinary toxicology, including target organ toxicity, melamine and cyanuric acid, toxicogenomics, chemical terrorism and nanoparticles. While most comparable texts are primarily directed toward the field of human toxicology, this is the one text needed to thoroughly prepare future veterinarians on the newest approaches for diagnosing poisoning cases in all animals from chemicals and plants of a diverse nature as a result of inadvertent, accidental, or malicious intents. It is thoroughly updated with new chapters and the latest coverage of topics not tackled in any previous books such as target organ toxicity, radiation and radioactive materials, FDA regulatory issues, and ethics in veterinary toxicology. There are also expanded discussions on international topics such as epidemiology of animal poisonings and regulatory guidelines and poisonous plants in Europe. Problem solving strategies are offered for treatment. This volume will be of interest to practitioners, professors and students of veterinary medicine and veterinary toxicology, poison control centers, marine biologists, environmentalists and animal scientists.
Call Number: SF757.5 .V48 2012ISBN: 9780123859266Publication Date: 2012
