Veterinary medicine (subject guide): Public/
Corporate
A few key books to know about
How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper by
Now thoroughly updated and expanded, this new edition of a classic guide offers practical advice on preparing and publishing journal articles as well as succeeding in other communication-related aspects of a scientific career. * Provides practical, easy-to-read, and immediately applicable guidance on preparing each part of a scientific paper: from the title and abstract, through each section of the main text, to the acknowledgments and references * Explains step by step how to decide to which journal to submit a paper, what happens to a paper after submission, and how to work effectively with a journal throughout the publication process * Includes key advice on other communication important to success in scientific careers, such as giving presentations and writing proposals * Presents an insightful insider's view of how journals actually work--and describes how best to work with them
Call Number: Online: earlier editions available in printISBN: 9781440842801Publication Date: 2016
Research Proposals: A Guide to Success by
This third edition of the classic "how-to" guide incorporates recent changes in policies and procedures of the NIH, with particular emphasis on the role of the Internet in the research proposal process. Completely revised and updated, it reveals the secrets of success used by seasoned investigators, and directs the reader through the maze of NIH bureaucracies. In addition to providing a detailed overview of the entire review process, the book also includes hundreds of tips on how to enhance proposals, excerpts from real proposals, and extensive Internet references. This book is essential to all scientists involved in the grant writing process.
Call Number: R853.P75 O35 2002ISBN: 0125247338Publication Date: 2002
Writing the NIH Grant Proposal by
Authors William Gerin, Christine Kapelewski, and Niki L. Page are here to help you secure NIH funding for your research! Writing the NIH Grant Proposal, Third Edition offers hands-on advice that simplifies, demystifies, and takes the fear out of writing a federal grant application. Acting as a virtual mentor, this book provides systematic guidance for every step of the NIH application process, including the administrative details, developing and managing collaborative relationships, budgeting, and building a research team. Helpful hints along the way provide tips from researchers who have received grants themselves. New to this Edition: Much more user-friendly in response to the updated NIH website Covers the new Application Submission System & Interface for Submission Tracking (ASSIST) online submission form for both single and multiple projects Revamped advice on substantive sections of the proposal to address lowered page allowance Coverage of the new scoring system and reviewer reporting system Coverage of the usage and submission of the new SF 424 forms
Call Number: RA11.D6 G47 2018ISBN: 1506357733Publication Date: 2018
Case Study Research by
Case Study Research: Principles and Practices provides a general understanding of the case study method as well as specific tools for its successful implementation. These tools are applicable in a variety of fields including anthropology, business and management, communications, economics, education, medicine, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology. Topics include: a survey of case study approaches; a methodologically tractable definition of 'case study'; strategies for case selection, including random sampling and other algorithmic approaches; quantitative and qualitative modes of case study analysis; and problems of internal and external validity. The second edition of this core textbook is designed to be accessible to readers who are new to the subject and is thoroughly revised and updated, incorporating recent research, numerous up-to-date studies and comprehensive lecture slides.
Call Number: H62 .G47 2017ISBN: 9781316632505Publication Date: 2017
The IACUC Handbook, Third Edition by
Ever since its establishment by USDA regulation in the mid-1980s, the Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee (IACUC) has evolved as the premier instrument of animal welfare oversight within research institutions in the United States. As biomedical research continuously grows, the role and impact of the IACUC has increased in scope and complexity. The IACUC Handbook has become "the Bible" for individuals when the time comes for them to serve on their institution¿s IACUC. It provides a foundation for understanding and implementing the many and varied responsibilities of this committee. This Third Edition comprehensively addresses the significant changes in the pertinent regulatory environment and interpretation of applicable federal laws, regulations, and policies. It provides multiple references and commentary on the new edition of the Guide for the Care and Use of Laboratory Animals, the new AVMA Guidelines for the Euthanasia of Animals: 2013 Edition, and the Office of Laboratory Animal Welfare¿s Frequently Asked Questions. The Third Edition also features an updated survey of IACUC practices from institutions around the United States, offering wisdom gained from their experience. In addition, it includes a chapter that provides an international perspective on how animal welfare reviews can function in other countries.
Call Number: HV4708 .I23 2014 -- Earlier edition available in Vet Med LibraryISBN: 1466555645Publication Date: 2014
A few Key Journals to know about
Frontiers in Veterinary Science2014 to Present in Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
2015 to Present in Academic OneFile
2014 in PubMed Central (Open Access)
|
|
 |
Zoonoses and Public Health2007 to Present in Wiley Online Library |
 |
Animal Biotechnology05/1/2001 to 18 month embargo in Academic Search Complete
05/1/2001 to 18 month embargo in Environment Complete
|
 |
Preventive Veterinary Medicine1982 to 2003 in Virginia Tech Print Copies
|
 |
Laboratory Animals1967 to Present in Sage Journals |
 |
|
 |
Journal of Veterinary Diagnostic Investigation1989 to Present in Sage Journals |
Veterinary Medicine International2010 to Present in Hindawi Open Access Journals
|
|
[Image from PublicDomainPictures]
Databases
- Grants.govGrants.gov simplifies the grants management process and creates a centralized, online process to find and apply for over 900 grant programs from the 26 federal grant-making agencies. Grants.gov streamlines the process of awarding over $360 billion annually to state and local governments, academia, not-for-profits and other organizations. The vision for Grants.gov is to be a simple, unified source to electronically find, apply and manage grant opportunities.
- Public Administration Abstracts from EBSCOhost
This link opens in a new window
Public Administration Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts of articles from public administration journals. 1974-present.
