Recommended databases
-
CAB Abstracts from CABICAB Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journals, books, reports, handbooks, conference proceedings, field notes, and theses in agriculture, life sciences, natural resources, veterinary sciences, applied economics, nutrition, tourism, and the environment. Includes the CAB Abstracts Archive. Some full text available as PDFs. 1910s-present.
-
PubMed from the National Library of MedicineIndexes citations, abstracts and full text from journal articles, case studies, conference papers, clinical trial reports, news reports, and reviews in the fields of medicine,nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences. 1946-present.
-
ScopusScopus indexes citations of journal articles, conference papers, and books in the sciences, medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities. You can perform cited reference searches. You can compare authors, institutions, and journals using various metrics. Helpful resources include Scopus training videos, Scopus webinars (recorded and upcoming), and the Quick reference guide PDF. Coverage spans from the 1800s to the present.
-
Web of Science from Clarivate AnalyticsThe Web of Science (WoS) research platform hosts multiple, specialized databases covering academic literature, conference proceedings, patents, and other scholarly content. At the heart of the platform is the Web of Science Core Collection, a curated set of citation indexes for high-quality, peer-reviewed journals, books, and conference proceedings. Additional databases cover specific subject areas (e.g. biology), formats, or regional publications (e.g. Korean). Users may search across all databases on the platform or select a specific database from the 'Search in' drop-down menu.
-
AGRICOLA from ProQuestAGRICOLA indexes citations for journal articles, books, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, and technical reports pertaining to all aspects of agriculture, life sciences, nutrition, and environmental science. 1970-present.
-
VetMed Resource from CABIVetMed Resource indexes citations and full text conference papers, journal articles , disease datasheets, book chapters, and bulletins in veterinary medicine fields. 1972-present.
-
Animal Health and Production Compendium from CABIAnimal Health and Production Compendium (AHPC) provides detailed information on agricultural and biological sciences. It contains datasheets (HTML and PDF) on livestock and the diseases that affect them, datasheets on food safety and quality, and datasheets on countries' statistical data on animal and economic production. A geographic database contains country distribution data for diseases and breeds for use with GIS software. 1910s-present.
-
HABRI CentralSearch thousands of journal articles, books, and more for human-animal interaction content.
Veterinary medicine at Virginia Tech
Veterinary medicine is the branch of science that deals with the prevention, diagnosis and treatment of disease, disorder and injury in non-human animals. This subject guide focuses on providing resources to those in the DVM program at the Virginia-Maryland Regional College of Veterinary Medicine. The tabs provide additional resources for food animal, equine, mixed species, small animal, and public/corporate veterinary medicine.
Interlibrary Loan Services
All current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff, regardless of your location, may request through ILLiad for materials:
- not owned by Virginia Tech (books, articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)
- owned by Virginia Tech but are unavailable for use (print books)
- owned by Virginia Tech and available in print (scans of articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)
We ship requests via UPS to users outside the immediate Blacksburg area (Montgomery, Giles and Pulaski counties).
Articles, book chapters, and many technical papers are delivered in PDF format to your ILLiad account. Occasionally, due to copyright restrictions, a paper copy of an article or standard is held for your at the Newman User Services Desk or sent o the mailing address listed on your account.