Research Guides: Veterinary medicine (subject guide): Key Journals

There are hundreds of journals related to veterinary medicine. Below are just a few examples of some of the key journals to be aware of for Veterinary Medicine in general. You can also search and browse journals in Browzine Web by the subject area of Veterinary Medicine (and other related fields of study).

Use the other tabs in this guide to locate additional starting points for books and journals for those specific areas within the DVM curriculum, or the Recommended Starting Resources tab for databases that index many veterinary medicine journals.

Key Journals

	Journal of the American Veterinary Medical Association (JAVMA) 01/01/2000 to Present in AVMA Journals Online 10/01/1915 to Present in Virginia Tech Print Copies (click to expand holdings at bottom of page)
	American Journal of Veterinary Research (AJVR) 2000 to Present in AVMA Journals Online 1940 to Present in Virginia Tech Print Copies (click to expand holdings at bottom of page)
	Journal of the American Animal Hospital Association (JAAHA) 1998-present in Allen Press Journals 1968 to 1997 in Virginia Tech Print Copies
	Veterinary and Animal Science (Open Access) 2016 to Present in ScienceDirect Open Access Journals
	Veterinary Record 1996 to Present in British Veterinary Association 1917 to 2011 in Virginia Tech Print Copies (click to expand holdings at bottom of page) 1894 to 1911 in Virginia Tech Microform Journals
	Veterinary Record Case Reports 2013 to Present in British Veterinary Association

Key publishers

The following items will search a particular publisher's content (rather than a specific discipline). There are three primary science-based publishers that we provide online access to book and journal content:

ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect provides full-text journals, ebooks, reference works, and textbooks in HTML and PDF, plus the e-reader formats ePUB and Mobi. Many titles have backfiles back to volume 1 included. We do not subscribe to every title on this platform.

SpringerLink
SpringerLink provides full-text access to articles, ebooks, ejournals, and conference proceedings in the life sciences, medicine, engineering, physical sciences, humanities, and economics. Full text available in HTML and PDF. References linked to PubMed, CrossRef, and ChemPort, which are alternatives to Get VText (try CrossRef first). 1832-present.
Wiley Online Library
Wiley provides full-text journals and ebooks in HTML and PDF. Each ebooks chapter is a separate PDF. We do not subscribe to all titles on this platform.