Veterinary medicine (subject guide): Food
Animal
A few key books to know about
Color Atlas of Farm Animal Dermatology by
A practical full-color reference on the recognition and diagnosis of dermatological disease in farm animals Color Atlas of Farm Animal Dermatology, Second Edition is an essential reference for veterinary dermatologists, practitioners, and students alike. Emphasizing recognition and diagnosis, the book combines hundreds of color photographs with clear and concise text highlighting clinical features, differentials, and diagnostic information for each disease. Coverage includes both common and uncommon diseases of cattle, goats, sheep, llamas and alpacas, and pigs. This new edition has been fully updated throughout, and now includes information on llamas and alpacas. Diseases covered include bacterial, fungal, parasitic, viral and protozoal, immunological, congenital and hereditary, environmental, nutritional and miscellaneous diseases, as well as neoplastic and non-neoplastic growths. Offers a practical quick reference to aid in the diagnosis of dermatological conditions in farm animals, including cattle, goats, sheep, pigs, alpacas, and llamas Contains more than 700 full-color images Covers all dermatological disease types, organized by species-specific sections Thoroughly updated and now including coverage of camelids Color Atlas of Farm Animal Dermatology, Second Edition is a must-have book for veterinary dermatologists, practitioners, and students who work on farm animals.
Call Number: SF901 .S37 2018ISBN: 9781119250593Publication Date: 2018
Herd Health by
This new third edition of HERD HEALTH details the veterinarian's role in the management of animal health and production in dairy and beef cattle herds, beef feedlots, swine herds, and sheep flocks. Comprehensive and up to date, it offers integrated coverage of all aspects of herd animals in one convenient volume, providing effective new strategies for herd health management. Students will find the basic knowledge and framework for production-oriented animal health management, while practitioners will find the information they need to provide animal health management services to every segment of the livestock industry.
Call Number: SF757 .R28 2001ISBN: 0721676944Publication Date: 2001
Large Animal Internal Medicine by
Large Animal Internal Medicine, 4th Edition features a problem-based approach with discussions of over 150 clinical signs. This is the first internal medicine reference that enables you to efficiently diagnose horses, cattle, sheep, and goats based on clinical observation and laboratory and diagnostic testing. With this user-friendly format, you can find essential information about specific diseases and reach a diagnosis by simply identifying the signs. Discussions of over 150 clinical signs or manifestations of disease provide you with a problem-based approach to diagnosis based on what you observe and what laboratory tests reveal. More than 200 expert authors contribute information in their areas of expertise for the most current, authoritative information on each topic. Color plates accompanying Diseases of the Eye and Diseases of the Alimentary Tract chapters illustrate the clinical appearance of ophthalmologic conditions and endoscopic views of equine alimentary tract disorders. Causes of Presenting Signs boxes offer quick access to the common, less common, and uncommon diseases associated with manifestations or signs of disease. Causes of Abnormal Laboratory Values boxes highlight the possible interpretations of abnormalities in clinical chemistry, hematology, blood proteins, and clotting tests. An extensive list of useful references on a companion website, many linked to their original source on PubMed, enables you to continue research on specific topics of interest. Thorough and extensive index makes it easy to quickly locate key information. NEW! Extensively updated content from expert authors clarifies the latest research and clinical findings on pain, the nervous system, toxicology, BVD, malignant catarrhal fever, bluetongue, and strong ions. NEW! Vaccines and vaccination protocols keep you up-to-date with the information you need to prevent newly emerging diseases in large animals. NEW! Expanded coverage of the veterinarian's role in animal welfare; equine abdominal ultrasound; DNA, genetic, and PCR testing; and colostrum supplements and replacers supplies you with the most current large animal internal medicine information. NEW! Current information on foreign animal diseases dangerous to large animals in the US, including coverage of rinderpest, keeps you aware of diseases that can be transmitted from other countries.
Call Number: SF745 .L37 2015ISBN: 9780323088398Publication Date: 2015
Sheep and Goat Medicine by
Authoritative yet easy to read, Sheep and Goat Medicine, 2nd Edition covers all the latest advances in sheep and goat medicine, including medical treatment, surgery, theriogenology, and nutrition. Full-color photographs and clear instructions provide the answers you need, guiding you through common procedures and techniques such as restraint for examination, administration of drugs, blood collection, and grooming; these descriptions are often accompanied by explanatory diagrams and charts. With diseases, surgeries, and treatments organized by body system, information is always easy to find. New to this edition are chapters on parasite control, nutritional requirements, and performing a necropsy. Developed by Dr. D.G. Pugh, a world-renowned expert on the medical care of sheep and goats, this reference is unmatched for its comprehensive coverage of herd health, physical examination, anesthesia, and multisystem diseases. Clear writing style makes the book useful and easy to understand, even for sheep and/or goat owners who are not veterinarians. Both surgery and medicine are covered in each body systems chapter, so it's easier to choose between treatment options for specific disorders. Superbly illustrated surgical procedures clearly demonstrate the steps to follow in performing surgical procedures. An explanation of the differences in normal behavior between sheep and goats shows how they are not the same, and require different methods of treatment. A consistent, logical format in each body systems chapter makes information easy to find by beginning with physical examination and diagnostic procedures, followed by discussions of common diseases that involve the system. Consistent headings include pathogenesis, clinical signs, diagnosis, treatment, and prevention. A comprehensive nutrition chapter covers diet evaluation, method of balancing rations, total parenteral nutrition, and examples of nutritious diets. Practical formulas are included for making sodium sulfite for testing passive transfer, and Sheather's solution for fecal flotation. Useful appendixes summarize essential information on drugs and drug dosages, fluid therapy, and normal values and conversions. A diverse, authoritative panel of contributors provides current information on the care of valuable breeding stock as well as pets. Full-color photographs and graphics accurately depict conditions and procedures. New Fluid Therapy and Nutritional Support chapter covers emergency and critical care essential to the care of sheep and goats. New Gastrointestinal Parasitism chapter covers treatments for parasites, key to the successful management of all flocks. New Necropsy chapter helps you prevent disease outbreaks in a flock by determining the cause of death.
Call Number: SF968 .S54 2012ISBN: 9781437723533Publication Date: 2012
A few Key Journals to know about
 |
Veterinary Clinics of North America: Food Animal Practice |
 |
Journal of Animal Physiology & Animal Nutrition |
 |
Animal Reproduction Science |
 |
Small Ruminant Research |
 |
Journal of Swine Health & Production |
 |
Poultry Science01/01/1921 to Present in Oxford Journals - VIVA
1921 to 2011 in Virginia Tech Print Copies |
 |
Journal of Dairy Science1995 to Present in ScienceDirect Journals |
 |
Livestock Science2006 to Present in ScienceDirect Journals |
[Image from Pixabay]