Overview for genetics, bioinformatics, and computational biology
-
NCBI BookshelfNCBI Bookshelf is a freely accessible database that provides full-text books and reports in the life sciences and healthcare. Content can be searched or browsed and is interlinked with other NCBI resources such as PubMed, Gene, and OMIM. Titles include textbooks, technical reports, and reference works, with most available in PDF format.
Recommended online resources
NCBI - National Center for Biotechnology Information
NCBI provides a wealth of tools, resources, and learning materials to promote "...finding new approaches to deal with the volume and complexity of data and to provide researchers with better access to analysis and computing tools to advance understanding of our genetic legacy and its role in health and disease."
Key Resources in addition to PubMed include:
Gene - data, information, and literature for known and predicted genes
Protein - sequences of protein, mRNA
Structure - 3D structures database of macromolecules, with multiple tools
Nucleotide - a collection of nucleotide sequences from several sources within and outside of NCBI databases
-
PubMed from the National Library of MedicinePubMed, maintained by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, reviews, case studies, conference papers, clinical trial reports, and news in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and preclinical sciences. It also provides links to full text when available and integrates with other NCBI molecular biology resources. Coverage begins in 1946.
-
CAB Abstracts from CABICAB Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journals, books, reports, handbooks, conference proceedings, field notes, and theses in agriculture, life sciences, natural resources, veterinary sciences, applied economics, nutrition, tourism, and the environment. Includes the CAB Abstracts Archive. Some full text available as PDFs. 1910s-present.
