BIOL 4404 - Ornithology

eBird - Launched in 2002 by the Cornell Lab of Ornithology and National Audubon Society, eBird provides rich data sources for basic information on bird abundance and distribution at a variety of spatial and temporal scales.

• View & Explore Data on eBird

Bird Life International Data Zone - Species maps, case studies, country profiles, and more.

Avibase - an extensive database information system about all birds of the world, containing over 12 million records about 10,000 species and 22,000 subspecies of birds, including distribution information, taxonomy, synonyms in several languages and more.

re3data.org - e3data.org is a global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines. It presents repositories for the permanent storage and access of data sets to researchers, funding bodies, publishers and scholarly institutions. re3data.org promotes a culture of sharing, increased access and better visibility of research data. The registry went live in autumn 2012 and is funded by the German Research Foundation (DFG).

• Searching tips for re3data.org: this database is a 'meta' database -- it's a database of databases (repositories of datasets)!
  • Try Browsing by subject, or Search with broad topic words like: ornithology or owls.
  • A specific keyword search that you might use in a research literature database will not usually work well here.
  • Once you get some results, read the summary of the data repositories suggested, or click into the individual repository to search it and see if there is data on your topic.
  • **Remember, you will not tend to find journal articles, books, or other research literature here - try the Research Databases tab on this guide for those.