Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Alerting services

Alerting services, also called current awareneess services, can be sent from publishers, article-indexing databases, or 3rd parties that combines these sources.

Many databases provide email and RSS alerting services to highlight new content as it is added to the database. These kinds of alerts can be more useful than publisher-based alerts when your research topic is covered across multiple journals or is multi-disciplinary.

BioOne

bio oneBioOne offers email table of content alerts for their indexed journals and a few books.

You will need to login to BioOne to set up alerts. Create an account if necessary. Once you have logged in, view your account and switch to the Alerts tab to setup and manage alerts.

Simply select one or more journals from the list, choose your email format, and use the Submit button.

EBSCOhost

ebsco host

You can create email alerts for search in any (or multiple) EBSCOhost databases.

You will need a My EBSCOhost account and log in to create alerts. Use the Sign In to My EBSCOhost link at the top right of any EBSCOhost database screen. If you do not already have an account, use the I'm a new user link. You will see the My EBSCOhost logo whenever you are logged in.

Perform a search across one or more databases. At the top of your search history list, use the Save Searches / Alerts link. Name and describe your search, add additional databases to your search if desired, then choose the Alert option. You will then need to select the frequency to run the search, a date limit for results, and how long the search alert should last. You have the choice among a brief or detailed listing, or to receive alerts in a format that can be imported into bibliographic manager like EndNote. Choose the remaining email options and Save your selections.

Engineering Village

engineering villageEngineering Village allows you to create up to 125 weekly Email Alerts from the Search History. A Personal Account is required to set up email alerts.

From the top of any Engineering Village page, click Search History. Select the box next to the search you wish to set up as an alert. If you are not already logged into your Personal Account, you will be prompted to do so. If you are not registered for a Personal Account, you will be asked if you want to register now. (See instructions for registering for a Personal Account).

You can also set up Email Alerts from the Saved Searches page if you are logged into your Personal Account.

Email alerts can also be setup by clicking the Create email link near each search statement in Easy, Quick, Expert or Thesaurus Search.

Up to 25 records are sent within an email alert. If more records were retrieved from the weekly update, a hyperlink appears in the body of the email alert linking you to Engineering Village. The full update retrieval set will appear when you click on the link. You can also link from email alerts to individual records by clicking an Abstract or Detailed Record hyperlink.

Google Scholar

google scholarGoogle Scholar provides email alerts for new content added to their index (they do not list which publishers provide content or the frequency with which that content is re-indexed). You can't create alerts for individual publications in Google Scholar; you should use the directions for Publisher alerts for individual journal alerts.

  1. For a simple alert, just run a Google Scholar search, click the search button, and get your results.
  2. Click the Envelope icon (top left side of the page). Here, you can make changes, if needed, click update button and a sample of results using 2010 results with the modified search query appear below. When you're set after deciding the amount you want returned, click Create Alert.
  3. You're then taken to your page of Google Scholar Alert page. If you want to modify the alert at this point, you'll need to click the cancel button and begin again.
  4. Alerts appear to work with all three content options:
    1. Traditional
    2. Google Scholar content (with patents or without patents)
    3. Legal documents and journals
  5. For advanced Google searchers, most advanced syntax should also work in Google Scholar. The same goes for legal materials and patents. However, date limits do not work.
To be alerted to new cites of a specific paper
  1. Find the paper(s) you want an alert for in the Google Scholar database.
  2. Included next to each result on a results page is the text cited by xx. Click that text. Now, simply click the envelope at the top of the page, decide on how many results you want (10 or 20) and your alert should be created.

Use this search box for Google Scholar and automatically see Get VText links to access full-text content through the libraries' subscriptions:

Search Google Scholar

Project MUSE

project museYou can receive weekly email notifications of new journal issues or new titles available in Project MUSE. Visit their email alert page, enter your email address, then select titles for which to receive alerts. Project MUSE also provides RSS feeds for their journals.

ProQuest

proquestThere are two kinds of alerts. The search alert allows searches to be saved, run anew, and notification sent regarding updated results. The publications alert (found on the Publications search page with similar properties) notifies of the latest available issues of a favorite publication.

Simply run and refine a search, then look for the Set up alert link at the top of the results.

Below are some of the common features used in setting up alerts:

  1. View sources that will be used in searching for the alert.
  2. Include either new materials only from a search, or choose to also receive historical information along with new materials from the search
  3. Schedule to receive alerts daily, weekly, monthly, or quarterly. Stop the alert in as little as two weeks or as much as one year. Renew at any time.
  4. Provide email details, including email address, subject, and optional message.
  5. Select Text only or HTML format
  6. Click Set up alert button to save settings\

PsycNet

psych netTo set an email alert for new matches to a given search, start by performing and refining a search in any PsycNet database. Then click the “Set Email Alert” button. This will prompt you to sign in to your My PsycNET account. From here you will be able to name your search, add personal notes, determine the frequency of the email alert, and set when the alert will expire. Go back to My PsycNET at any time to edit or delete the alert.

Web of Science

web of scienceWeb of Science: Citation Databases from Thomson databases allow creating saved search alerts (emails new citations that match your search criteria) and citation alerts (emails new article citations that include references to a chosen article).

You will need to create and login to an account to create alerts. Use the Sign In link at the top of any Web of Science page. If you do not already have an account, use the Registerlink.

To create a saved search alert, perform a search across one or more Web of Science databases. Use the Search History link at the top of the screen to view your previous searches. Combine or delete previous searches until only the ones you wish to be alerted about are listed, then use the Save History / Create Alert button. Name and describe your search, check the Send Me E-mail Alerts box, verify your email address, choose what data you want included in the alert, the format of the email, an d the frequency the search should run.

To create a citation alert, locate an article of interest from your search results list. Click through the title to see the article's full record. Look for the Create Citation Alert button on the right of the screen. The alert will expire in one year.